We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect getaway”
Review of Cosmonaut Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cosmonaut Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Karaganda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 25, 2014

I took my children to Cosmonaut for three nights. We were absolutely pleased. The staff is friendly and caters for its clients' needs. They take a special personal interest. Facilities are excellent, with sauna, swimming pools, massage and fitness center. It is a perfect place to lose oneself when you need a break. Bedrooms are cosy. The restaurant and bars meet a wide variety of needs.

Room Tip: Use the health and fitness facilities for a complete enjoyment
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Phillipa S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulya K, Manager at Cosmonaut Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear Phillipa,

We would like to thank you for our Hotel review! We appreciate your opinion. And our Guests suggestions are invaluable clues for us.

It will be great pleasure to see you and your family in our Hotel!

Best regards,
Kim Yuliya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 70 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2013

A hotel fit for a cosmonaut. Checking in with a group takes about 30-45 mins depending on the number of people in the group. They were not flexible in extending the noon check out time and it takes about 10-15 mins to figure put your bill. Also, we had a shuttle scheduled for the airport which they gave to another group. Not cool, luckily they got us another one in enough time. The location is off the beaten path and does not allow for any quick strolls for food. Better use the a/c because the rooms are warm and watch your valuables because there is no deadbolt or chain on the doors. It's not all bad, the food and service in the lounge was great and we had a violinist play during breakfast. Not bad, but perhaps I'll try another place next time.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulya K, Hotel Cosmonaut at Cosmonaut Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Greetings from Karaganda, Cosmonaut Hotel!

Thank you for the evaluation of our Hotel! We appreciate each of the reviews that our Guests write for us.

We often have group bookings. And we always try to do the group's checking-in faster.

We would like to thank you for restaurant and Lobby Bar evaluation.

We hope you will visit our Hotel once more.

The only thing that can make our service better is your notion and opinion of our other Guests.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We had our wedding at the Cosmonaught Hotel and were truly amazed by the advice, guidance and service of the Hotel Staff in making our day a very special one indeed. It certainly exceeded our expectations and everything went according to the plan. We stayed in the VIP room, which although was quite expensive, made the stay one to remember, expecially the service during a truly wonderful breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cazenove_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulya K, Cosmonaut Hotel at Cosmonaut Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear friends!

It's very pleasant for us to receive the review from your couple! We appreciate time you've spend for this.

We realized that you entrust us the event, which can be one of the most important events in your life. And we valued it as great faith to our Hotel, to our stuff.

We believe you will always remember this day as bright, clear and memorable day, which you spend in our city and especially in our Hotel!

Best wishes for you.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Pleasant hotel for business trips. Free wi-fi, decent breakfast. The restaurant was also good and the summer garden was enjoyable at this time of the year. I was travelling for business but I noticed a small playground area attached to the summer garden, which made it convenient for the parents to eat while the kids played. There was only a slight problem with the lack of hot water in the bathroom.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarSahMarSah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

A small, but very functional and affordable business style hotel, close to the botanic gardens Rooms are comfortable and relatively well equipped, but lacking ironing facilities. The hotel offers free wi-fi, which is fairly fast. It has a restaurant and bar (which serves bar meals in the evening - a pizza is around £7, beer around the same, so not cheap) Hotel reception staff are welcoming and helpful - bar staff less so - I'm guessing they don't see many western guests. Ideal for a one night stay, depending on where your business is centred.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheBoneTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

As I wrote before, I've been visiting this hotel 6-8 times a year since 2007. So I am taking the liberty to make some comparisons of "what changed".
I am sorry to see that the recent renovation of the rooms resulted in nice decoration but worse sanitary. For instance, one can feel the sewage water smell in the bathroom just half an hour after the room was cleaned. Ventilation has become worse, too. Even in a non-smoker's room one can feel the smoke from other rooms.
Breakfasts are still a plenty of choice of food, but customers have no ore access to a boiler to pour hot water to make their tea or coffee. Who wants tea or coffee for breakfast drink has to ask a waitress to bring it. It takes from 10 to 15 minutes for the waitress to bring one cup. If you want one more cup of tea, you will wait for 10 minutes more. In the morning, the majority of guests don't have much time to sit there and wait for their tea and coffee. But, of course, it allows the hotel to save on tea and coffee. I only wonder why, then, they don't lower the prices, to share their savings with their customers whose comfort is declared so important for the hotel. ;-)
Generally speaking, the new hotel management does not care customers the same way like previous managers did. For instance, they can order a receptionist to bother a guest with reminder calls 2-4 hours before the guest's late departure (with paid extra stay, BTW!)
So, honestly, I don't feel there like at home away from home any more.
Will visit them soon again, just to see whether they took in account what I suggested to improve when was there last time. If not, i will look for the other hotel options in Karaganda...

Room Tip: Renovated rooms have terrible smell in the bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KatherineIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

From one of the decent hotels of Karaganda and for many it is probably the best. It is good hotel with nice service and facilities. Have everything you need. Some pricey but not much to do in Karaganda.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bilge S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karaganda
2.1 mi away
Senator Hotel
Senator Hotel
#4 of 12 in Karaganda
7 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Complex <Dostar-Alem>
Hotel Complex
#3 of 12 in Karaganda
19 reviews
3.8 mi away
Voyage Hotel
Voyage Hotel
#1 of 1 in Karagandy
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ar Nuvo
Ar Nuvo
#5 of 12 in Karaganda
41 reviews
0.9 mi away
Merey Hotel
Merey Hotel
#2 of 12 in Karaganda
23 reviews
0.9 mi away
Edem
Edem
#10 of 12 in Karaganda
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cosmonaut Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosmonaut Hotel

Address: Krivoguza St., 162_, Karaganda 100019, Kazakhstan
Location: Kazakhstan > Karagandy Province > Karaganda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Karaganda
Price Range: $67 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cosmonaut Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel "Cosmonaut", Karaganda has hospitably been opening its doors since 1972. Initially the hotel was intended for cosmonauts returning from the space flights from Baikonur cosmodrome and subsequently the hotel started to host other guests among which are heads of the States, famous political leaders, scientists, artist and many foreign representatives and businessmen. "Cosmonaut" Hotel rooms provide magnificent natural scenery any time of the year. Hotel "Cosmonaut" offers its guests 46 spacious and comfortable rooms. All guest rooms are equipped with individual water supply and heating, satellite TV, direct dial telephone with international telephone line, Wi-Fi internet access, air conditioning, minibars, safes and etc. According to our visitors become clear that the Hotel Cosmonaut best hotel not only in the city of Karaganda, but also in Kazakhstan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Cosmonaut Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing