We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
The Icon of Palembang

Spent an hour and took some photos of the bridge, Traffic in the afternoon is slightly heavy... read more

Reviewed November 20, 2020
ditap1057
Iconic Landmark in Palembang

You better go there during night time for a better view of this landmark, I actually went to nearby... read more

Reviewed October 3, 2020
B1shonen
,
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Read all 830 reviews
  
Reviews (830)
Filter reviews
830 results
Traveler rating
260
356
188
18
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
260
356
188
18
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews palembang city musi river ulu indonesia background government security improvement pempek legend
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 830 reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2017 via mobile

After visiting the Ampera Bridge, I had to reminde me of the fact, that this iron thing constructed by Dutch is one of the most famos Highlights in Palembang, representing symbol of the second biggest City of Sumatra and the seventh biggest city in Indonesia and it isn't working anymore.

Though it is nice to expierence the culture of selfie taking and being invited to join it, probably because of our white skin color. Might be our first steps towards a cultural exchange.

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank Antje F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 8, 2017 via mobile

It is rarely... But if you're there when the bridge's open up to allow ships to pass, you're in for a treat, but if not, the light all over the bridge that can be seen after the sun's fully down is it's own treat. Very beautiful, definitely worth it.

Ah.... I've been told to watch out for my belongings by the pier (*all through the city as well either). So plz do so

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank nina_asti
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 6, 2017 via mobile

A must visit place in Palembang. Visit in the afternoon to get the best view. You can find foodstall and chained resto nearby.

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank Farah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 1, 2017

This is the symbol,landmark of Palembang.Special architecture and antique.It is the work forced during the Japanese invasion to Palembang .AmPeRa stands for (amanat penderitaan rakyat) the civillian symbol of sufferance during the Japanese occupation .

Date of experience: December 2016
Thank missZaline
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed February 23, 2017

You haven't been in Palembang when you're not seeing this bridge. The city is evolving now, preparing for Palembang Emas 2018 and Sea Games in the same year.You can use public transport or taxi for a ride. Jembatan Ampera is still their trademark, a little bit identic with Chao Praya riverside in Bangkok.

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank Anggi747
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews