We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Bali”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pondok Sebatu Villa
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Bali”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2014 via mobile

We had the private pool villa for one night. So far its the best hotel we saw in Bali : the location and the sight (rice terasse) make it very calm, relaxing and beautiful. Then the personnel is very helpful. The restaurant is very good, small menu but quality products. Rooms that have been renovated are big, very confortable (huge bed) and with a very nice bathroom

Definitely a wonderful place that deserves to be known !

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    29
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
36
86
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oudenaarde, Belgium
Level Contributor
96 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014

It is a new nice place, the views are great on the ricefields, it is a quite place to relax. When we visit the hotel, the hotel wasn't fully ready so that was a bit of a pitty. But once finished it will be a great place. Because everything is new the staff is till learing how everything works. Our room has some mall functions (no hot water, strange smell) The hotel is not close to Ubud center, about 30 - 45 minutes drive, but they have a free shuttle service to the city center. This will be a great place to stay if you are looking for a quite place away from the busy center of Ubud. We hadn't much time to visit Sebatu village but it seems like a nice village to stroll along.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Buck78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

We've just spent 4 nights at Pondok Sebatu and really enjoyed it.

The place is very new and located in the stunning countryside about half an hour outside Ubud among the rice paddies. It's very quiet- the perfect place to escape from it all. If you want to go to/from Ubud you can catch the free shuttle; times are fixed but staff is very flexible. Fantastic service!

Each hut is built into the hill; ours had a nice balcony overlooking beautifully sculpted rice terraces. The rooms are clean with wooden interior and a nice outdoor bathroom. The water from the shower apparently comes from a holy spring nearby, which is a nice touch.

The pool overlooks the huts and is fed with spring water, really crisp and fresh.

Breakfast is generous; you can choose between several options and you'll definitely not be left hungry. Tea and water is for free. We also had dinner most nights, which was nice.

The staff and management were super friendly, always helpful, offering advice and up for a friendly chat.

If you're looking for a quiet get away outside Ubud this is a good place! I would definitely go again.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank LifeOfKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

This villa was stunning. A very serene location with beautiful scenery. Very private and removed from the busy tourist areas. The staff were so warm & welcoming and always made us feel at home and looked after. The rooms are new & beautiful, the pool is lovely and the food was delicious! I would not hesitate to stay here again or recommend it to others.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank t s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellinzona, Switzerland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

- Nice location in the ricefields
- Big room
- Clean room
- New structures
- Wonderful swimming pool looking over the ricefields
- Good food
- Helping stuff
- Relaxing and quiet atmosphere
- Cheap, especially for what it offers!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ninabuffi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

Family owned place close to ubud. Excellent views and very good location to explore the real bali with its temples and interesting culture.
Service is excellent and makes you feel at home. Facilities are brand new and in perfect condition

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cdecv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

I stayed here with my family from Canada (all adults) and we all had the most wonderful time. The setting is absolutely surreal and for the first time i think we didn't feel like tourists travelling among other tourists as we explored the surrounding areas! Felt like the real Bali. The villas were decorated beautifully and the hosts were really sweet and willing to help. Would recommend this place to any one !

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r10smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tegalalang
7.6 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
7.7 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
9.1 mi away
Sankara Resort
Sankara Resort
#28 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
7.9 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#45 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,755 reviews
7.4 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#24 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pondok Sebatu Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pondok Sebatu Villa

Property: Pondok Sebatu Villa
Address: Jln. Raya Sebatu | Banjar Sebatu, Sebatu Village, Tegalalang 80561, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Tegalalang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Tegalalang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pondok Sebatu Villa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pondok Sebatu Villa Ubud Bali is one of the Joglo Style Villa In Ubud, Located in a historical village Named Sebatu Village, Tegalalang, Ubud, Gianyar, Bali with famous temple called Gunung Kawi Sebatu Temple. Pondok Sebatu Villa is consisting of 1 unit of 3 bedroom pool villa and 2 units of 2 bed room pool villa. 2 Units of One Bedroom Pool Villa and 5 units of One Bedroom Deluxe. Our management team have just completed setting up period and has just opened starting from May 2014. Let's start to feel our fresh weather, nature and culture. Just short description about Ubud and Tegalalang: Ubud is a remarkable town in the middle of the island of Bali. For more than a century, it has been the island's preeminent centre for fine arts, dance and music. Nonetheless, Ubud is still popular with backpackers, mystics and all the finest fringe elements of global society. Ubud is not "ruined". Its character is too strong to be destroyed. It still draws people who add something; people who are actively involved in art, nature, anthropology, music, dance, architecture, environmentalism, "alternative modalities," and more. Ubud is arguably the best place to use as a base if you're visiting Bali; if you're looking for culture, comfort, nature and inspiration. Ubud is surrounded bymost of the things that bring people to Bali -- scenic rice fields, small villages, art and craft communities, ancient temples, palaces and rivers. Tegalalang Rice Terrace is one of the famous tourist objects in Bali situated in Tegalalang Village north of Ubud Bali featured by the amazing rice terrace set the cliff. Tegalalang Village is located on 600 m above sea levels covered by good temperature where most of the villagers as a farmer. It offers the stunning view of rice terrace where we can see from the main road from Kintamani to Ubud. This rice terrace is one of the alternative tourist destinations to visit during Kintamani Tour or Ubud Village tour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pondok Sebatu Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pondok Sebatu Villa Bali/Tegalalang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing