We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alam Sari

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alam Sari
Ranked #2 of 9 Tegalalang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2010

We stayed at the Alam Sari hotel for six days. It is set in a beautiful location up the hillside with views of the volcanoes and rice terraces on a ridge opposite. The service was excellent. The food was also very good. We particularly enjoyed a free village tour with one of the staff members called Dewa.

They have a small play area in front of reception with toys and a chess set that the children enjoyed playing with, but they spent most of their play time in the pool, which we could see from our front porch (very handy). Hot chocolates went down a treat after an hour of swimming in the tropical rain.

The hotel was located about 10 - 15 minutes north east from Ubud. This did not pose any problem for us since there is a free shuttle there and a taxi costs a few dollars. We actually preferred being out of town. We would happily recommend.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jame6001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    73
    18
    11
    9
See reviews for
82
92
18
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waldorf, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2010

I have visited this hotel numerous times and find it to be a perfect time to combine culture, learning, and a little shopping. It's also a place I can go just to relax for the weekend. The hotel offers a free tour of their surrounding area that helps people learn about the true Balinese village life. Their guide is extremely sincere and deeply committed to educating others. He truly helps you experience their way of life in a most non-commercial manner. Most of the employees have lived in the Keliki village their entire lives and want to please their customers. The produce the restaurant uses are organic and grown on the premises. All of this takes place in a exquisite Balinese setting. You feel like you are removed from the outside world. Just walking around the hotel is a picturesque journey.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taressa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2010

Alam Sari provides luxury for price in a gorgeous garden setting. The surroundings are the best of Bali with wonderful village tours in nearby Keliki Village. The walk from Alam Sari to Ubud is through verdant and scenic rice fields. The cultural and artistic features of Bali can be experienced near-by. Alam Sari is the perfect place to enjoy both the hustle and bustle of Ubud and relaxing seclusion in a tropical garden. On my many visits to Alam Sari the staff has always been the most friendly and caring.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pattimura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2010

I have returned to this small hotel several times and I suppose there is no better recommendation than that. The rooms and dining area are very pleasing and comfortable. The food is fresh, local, and reasonably priced. The hotel staff is very accommodating and they seem to genuinely enjoy sharing local Balinese culture with the guests. The dining area, with free wifi, is surrounded by lush gardens. It is not at all unusual to find guests socializing and becoming friends. Families are welcomed and adults and kids alike enjoy the pool area. A strong commitment to environmentally friendly practices is evident throughout the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D_S_W2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2010

Alam Sari is a spectacle in the mountains of Bali. When the excitement of the beaches has run dry this is the place to go. Some friends and I experienced true peace, tranquility, and not to mention some fantastic foods and services. Alam Sari is most definitely a hidden treasure.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielsharps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2010

Me and my girlfriend come to Bali every time we come around to Indonesia (she has family there so at least once a year we fly there). On our last trip we wanted to get out of Kuta and really see Bali from a real personal experience. We dug around and heard about Alam Sari, and we decided to give it a try...I'm glad we did. A shuttle van awaited us at the airport and took us straight to the hotel, the 30ish minute trip went by really quickly, mainly because we were so busy looking out of the window at the beautiful landscape, it was amazing to see all the little villages, rice paddies etc. The driver was very friendly, I forget his name but he was full of great information about the island. Once we walked up to the hotel we couldn't stop smiling, we were so far away from everything it was like we were in the middle of a tropical paradise. The staff was great and made checking in and out a breeze, all locals from the nearest village too so that was nice being able to talk to them about that.Our two day stay was filled with walks to the local village, a shuttled day trip to near by Ubud, and a lot of relaxation by the refreshing pool enjoying the sun and reading. The rooms were not that big, but everything you could want was there, the bed was comfy and the view was breathtaking of the valley below. I recommend their incredible Mango Lassi to drink and to eat I would say try a local dish, when in Rome right? What I didnt like was the bugs but they stuck to the outside and when it did rain briefly we had nothing to do but go to our rooms...but that turned out to be just fine with us.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mooviegeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tegalalang
2.2 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
6.2 mi away
Sankara Resort
Sankara Resort
#28 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
4.3 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#24 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
1.0 mi away
The Kampung Resort Ubud
The Kampung Resort Ubud
#1 of 9 in Tegalalang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
3.2 mi away
Pondok Sebatu Villa
Pondok Sebatu Villa
#2 of 19 in Tegalalang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alam Sari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alam Sari

Property: Alam Sari
Address: Jl. Raya Dalem, Tegalalang 80561, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Tegalalang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Tegalalang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alam Sari 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Alam Sari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alam Sari Hotel Tegalalang
Alam Sari Keliki Gianyar
Alam Sari Bali/Tegalalang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing