We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel during our 2 weeks roundtrip on Bali”
Review of Alam Sari

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alam Sari
Ranked #4 of 11 Tegalalang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Beautiful lodge with a breathtaking view from our romantic bed. What do you want more, waking up in the morning and having such a beatiful view on the jungle. Perfect restaurant with nice view on the pool and the surroundings, best breakfast we had and also dinner with local food...Just perfect!
Most friendly staff and employees in the restaurant, but also the driver (gardener of the Organic Garden) who brought us to Ubud. He told us enthusiastic about the people, traditions and religion.
For sure that we will visit this hotel again during our next trip to Bali.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (290)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 290 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2014

This hotel is everything that is written here. It's out of the mayhem, picturesque, remote, food is good and the service is great...

but
the tranquility is lessened by the traffic noise
the interior rooms need a good scrub
the pool is too cold to swim in for more than a few minutes (Jan 2014)
insects mean relaxing by the pool and outside in general are hazardous
the mosquito nets are very dirty and have holes in them
the promised water is minimal

so my advice is stay for 2 nights and if you like it stay longer, if not move on

Room Tip: The family rooms have no view, but are good value with interconnecting rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dirk B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We arrived in Bali and were greeted by a VIP arrival service (Helps to speed the customs process) and then were greeted by the now "legendary" Dewa ;) I could write a book reviewing just the wisdom and sayings this man possesses but that's another review. The facility is exactly as described and shown. Our room overlooking the beautiful pool had a magnificent view of the volcano Mt. Agung. The village tour is a MUST and I strongly recommend the cooking class with Dewa, his wife Jeru and included family as well. I had an idea of what Alam Sari was about before I arrived yet in reality it exceeded every expectation I had. Ubud is 20 minutes away by shuttle or hired driver and it was so nice to return to the sanctity and serenity of Alam Sari every day after the hustle of Ubud or Sanur. FYI, You will not make the walk to Ubud regardless of what anyone else says. Too hot, too much traffic etc. Just take the shuttle or hire one of the drivers that the hotel uses. (Wayan Seraya was wonderful) The rooms are immaculately cleaned every morning by at least 4 staff, and the included free full breakfast is wonderful. Not that Bali is expensive at all, but there is real savings just in that alone. Note: You are in a jungle; there are critters; but they are all part of the ambiance and none are harmful at all. We shared our villa with at least 3 geckos, many small lizards and a frog. There is beautiful mosquito netting around the beds which I found I really didn't need but I closed them every night because it was more romantic and the ambiance was really nice. There is WiFi however it is limited to only one device per room (unless you ask them nicely...)To us it seems that Alam Sari is our newly discovered home away from home. We stayed for 10 nights but we are definitely coming back in the future. The staff at Alam Sari go out of there way to ensure your stay is a memorable one. Given the chance, most of the staff will become your friends before your go home. We really enjoyed meeting Dewa, Agung, Choc, Kerti, Wayan, Sujana, Kadek and Dayu. I consider all of these people my friends now and I can't wait to meet everyone else when we return.

FYI Travel tips: We purchased 10 liters of bottled water from Bintang market in Ubud on the way to the resort from the airport. It is a very good idea to have plenty of clean drinking water available as the water that comes from the faucet in Bali isn't safe to drink or even brush your teeth with so buy ahead of time as the bar fridge only has 2 small bottles inside. There is free purified drinking water available in the restaurant for guests however, it is up to you to have a suitable container, hence why buying your own was preferable for us.

Bring some Imodium and electrolyte tablets just in case your come down with the infamous "Bali Belly".

Ensure you have $150,000 Indonesian Rupiah (or $15 US) in cash for each traveler when departing from Denpasar airport as they do not accept credit cards and you must pay the exit "airport" tax in order to leave. This is after security and if you don't have cash you will have to leave the secure area of the airport and try and find an ATM.

I hope anyone who reads this visits Alam Sari to experience it for themselves.

Room Tip: We stayed in "Jambu" and I would recommend it to anyone. Great view, right near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

We had a wonderful time staying at the Alma Sari. We stayed for 4 nights with oud 2 boys, 6 and 8 years old. The family room is great value and is actually two connecting rooms. Very spacious and clean.
The environment is very tropical. The hotel is run by people from thenlocal village. They are very ester to show you the veggie garden they keep and use for the restaurant. Also they take you to the bijlage and invite hou intro their homes. It certainly gives the additionele flavor to a visit.

Food in the restaurant is very good and the staff exceptionally service minder. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Thank you to travel friends who highly recommended this cooking class organised by Alam Sari. Dewa and Jeru welcomed me into their home in the local village and together we cooked a 5 course vegetarian meal. Dewa is an organic gardener who learnt the skills from his grandfather and the meal was infused with fresh herbs and produce whilst the spiritual history and culture of the Balinese people was explained. It was an amazing concept where travellers are able to meet beautiful local people and learn delicious traditional recipes. A magical, memorable experience. Thank you Dewa and Jeru. Highly highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2013Kay_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Great place to stay and organise everything you want to do around the Ubud region. All the previous reviews tell what it's like but in particular I wanted to highlight the free village tour and also the best cooking class we've come across, both organised through the hotel. Dewa and his wife Jero provided a wonderful experience of Balinese culture and traditional ceremonial cuisine in their own family home. They are teaching their tourism skills to other members of the village so that all of the local community can benefit. Homestays are another way of supporting the local community which can be organised through the hotel or independently.
Our stay at Alam Sari will be one of our favourite memories of our trip to Bali. A very special place.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool or the rice paddies are best. The Villa is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Our booking at Alamsari was a fairly last minute decision, most of the other accomodations were full & that had me wondering howcome this one was still available!
Looking back i said to my husband,the room was a blessing from the Balinese Gods!

On arrival, we were greeted by Ketut ( the Receptionist/ manager) with the most generous smile, from then on it was the most uplifting vacation.

The property is built into a hill amongst paddy fields. The cottages are nestled within lush fauna, giving you the feeling of being one with nature.
The rooms are very private & exquisitely furnished with intricately carved Balinese furniture.
We ate most of our meals at their restaurant....they were delicious, healthy & all the vegetables harvested from their garden! The staff were so pleasant & attentive Kerti & Wayan always remembered my quirky requests at breakfast.
I love wearing flowers in my hair, & one of them actually got me a gift of an imitation frangipani hair adornment, which i so treasure!
The daily laundry facility was so convenient & very inexpensive.
The complimentary tour of the property was very enjoyable & informative thanks to the wonderful Putu,who is so well informed & a very kind gentleman, a perfect example of the Balinese people.
We were mistakenly under the impression that we were in Ubud, but were really glad we ended up 15 minutes outside of the commercial chaos!
Alamsari was the perfect 'Home' to return to after the hustle & bustle.of Ubud!
The Spa treatments were so relaxing & affordable that we could enjoy them everyday of our stay!

My husband & i are fairly well travelled & we both agreed that this was by far the best resort we have experienced, you could not ask for more!
Alamsari is a hidden piece of Paradise that we stumbled upon & we are already planning our next trip there!

Room Tip: If you want to really treat yourselves, go for the master suite ...Villa Saraswati, it is the ultim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neena N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tegalalang
3.7 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#51 of 199 in Ubud
557 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 199 in Ubud
1,345 reviews
1 mi away
The Kampung Resort Ubud
The Kampung Resort Ubud
#2 of 11 in Tegalalang
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Pondok Sebatu Villa
Pondok Sebatu Villa
#2 of 24 in Tegalalang
194 reviews
7.8 mi away
Puri Sebatu Resort
Puri Sebatu Resort
#1 of 2 in Tegalalang
270 reviews
2.4 mi away
Alam Sembuwuk Resort
Alam Sembuwuk Resort
#106 of 199 in Ubud
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alam Sari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alam Sari

Address: Jl. Raya Dalem, Tegalalang 80561, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Tegalalang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Tegalalang
Price Range: $52 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alam Sari 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alam Sari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alam Sari Hotel Tegalalang
Alam Sari Keliki Gianyar
Alam Sari Bali/Tegalalang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing