We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hotel in a Separate World of Paradise”
Review of Alam Sari

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alam Sari
Ranked #2 of 9 Tegalalang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Hotel in a Separate World of Paradise”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

My wife visited Bali 13 years ago with a unforgettable beautiful memory and has been asking me to go with her again and again. To satisfy her dream, I decided to take a 7-day holiday to Bali at the end of June 2013. The hotel shuttle bus picked us up at the airport. I must say I was disappointed as we were driven through the Denpasar City and Ubud's main streets. My wife was disappointed to say that Bali has become so ugly through over-development. Fortunately, it is still beautiful outside the city. To our biggest surprise was when we arrived at the hotel and were taken to the reception. We felt like entering into a separate world of paradise. The hotel was beautifully built on a hill top with beautifully designed landscape blended in the well protected natural tranquil environment. As we were taken to our room, we were pleased to see it was spacious with a king-size bed, wooden furniture, a large bathroom, and a large private verandah facing a kidney-shaped swimming pool surrounded by beautifully landscaped garden. The evening lighting in the garden was so soft and romantic. The entire setting was like living in a serene paradise. Straight away we felt it is not just a place for relaxing holiday, it would be an ideal place for honeymoon too. We enjoyed our Balinese meals in the hotel restaurant and massage in the spa.. The rooms, the restaurant, the spa, everywhere is in beautiful Balinese decor. The second morning we were there we joined an Eco and village tour. We were very pleasantly surprised to see that the hotel grow organic herbs and vegetables in the natural environment and we felt very safe to eat in the hotel restaurant. In the nearby villages, we experienced directly the Balinese arts and culture. The hotel proved three free shuttle bus to Ubud and return each day. But we felt relaxing and comfortable to relax by the pool side. This is a hotel I will stay again when I next visit Bali again

Room Tip: Rooms directly facing the swimming pool are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grierlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    74
    18
    12
    9
See reviews for
86
93
18
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
113 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed at the Alam Sari in May 2013 for a week. It was six of us including two three year old kids. The villa Saraswati is huge and therefore provides plenty of room for everyone. The master bedroom is also very large and the setting is just perfect. Especially the views of Mt Agung in the early morning hours are a treat. Our special thanks go to Wayan, our butler. He was doing some food shopping for us, organised our washing, made us the most perfect ginger tea etc. Most importantly Wayan is just such a nice person.
Apart from the first day, we had dinner in the villa every night and I have to say that the food at Alam Sari rates also very high.
The only positive criticism we have is the slight smell the bathrooms have due to the composting toilets. But, this is obviously also due to the heat in Bali.
We will definitely stay here again in that wonderful villa, where you don't feel as if you are in a hotel, but you get the benefits of it.

Room Tip: Definitely would always choose the villa if there is more then 2 people travelling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Otti O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Busselton, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Just back in WA after 10 amazing days based at Alam Sari. What a beautiful place to stay!! Rooms are lovely, surroundings gorgeous. Staff were all so lovely. Food at the resort restaurant was delicious. Lovely having spa onsite. Really enjoyed being out in nature, yet just a short drive into Ubud - where there's everything you could need. Based in the centre of Bali, Alam Sari is the perfect base for trips north, south & east; not even too far to get west as well. Also so close to the picturesque Tegallalong rice terraces.
10 days went so quickly. Would have loved to stay longer. Can't fault the amenities, food, staff.... Everyone went out of their way to make our stay pleasant, relaxed, comfortable....
Definitely going back one day!

Room Tip: Our room looked over the pool - think it was a standard room. Photos will show how beautiful it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jadee2169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Ontario
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

REASONS FOR POOR RATING: Was disappointed as soon as I arrived, had booked a "traditional stay room" Figuring that it was just a basic room from the description posted on Expedia. Boy was I surprised....it was a room not even on the resort and had no running water, AC, just a bed in a room. The bathroom was not even in the room..it was a low grade hostel style room at best. This is one of the reasons for the low rating. I ended up paying extra to upgrade to a Suite since that was all that was available..."Thank God".
I also saw a rat running in the rafters in the room, The noise from the heavily traveled road made it seem like you were in the city and you had to walk up a lot of stairs to get to the resort which would make it difficult for young or elderly ppl.

ON THE PLUS SIDE: Staff are very friendly and helpful, food at the onsite restaurant is great, but there is nothing else around anyway, the pool is amazing, they only use veggies grown in their own garden, the view is amazing.

IN SHORT: If you are looking for a hotel that is a 2.5 star trying to be a 5 star give it a try, Just beware that there is a lot of road noise, the rooms have many cracks and places for little critters to get into your room(under doorways etc). It really is in the middle of no where and if you like to look at rice patties this place is for you. If not try looking for another place.

Best of Luck in Bali !!!!

Room Tip: Suites have better view, standard have view of the pool, Villa is HUGE good for up to 8-10 ppl
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelgear555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulindracollett, Owner at Alam Sari, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your experience and we are glad that despite the initial disappointment due to the room confusion, that there were elements of the hotel you enjoyed. This is something that we have been aware of and are in the process of rectifying it by moving the “Village Stay Room” to its own listing and developing a separate website to further outline the experience. On Expedia the room is listed as a Village Stay room, but we understand how this can be confusing as it currently appears under the hotel listing. For clarification for future guests, this experience is a chance to be a part of the local Balinese way of life and immerse yourself in the culture of Bali with the majority of profits going to the villagers themselves. Hotel Alam Sari acts as a marketing agent and quality control supervisor for these rooms.

In regards to the room quality of the hotel proper, we are also currently in the process of renovating the hotel but will look into the issues you mention and appreciate you bringing them to our attention. In regards to the road noise, unfortunately the area has developed since the hotels founding and more traffic has resulted in more noise. We are experimenting with methods to reduce this, including natural bamboo sound barriers along the roadside. Additionally, we have two entrances to the hotel, one with a gentler climb for elderly guests.

For future guests, please be aware that we are not attempting to sell ourselves as a 5 star hotel, we are a 3 star boutique hotel that promotes getting out into the nature and culture of Bali outside the main tourist centers. We do however offer complimentary shuttles to the Ubud center (10 minutes away) three times daily.

Best Regards
David Collett
Director and Co-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

A great place to rest and relax in the hills of Ubud. The accomodation is very well presented, clean and roomy. The location provides a setting of peace and tranqulity. Meals were good a little limited in choices for breakfast but more than enough to get your day started.
Nice pool area surrounded by beautiful gardens.
Staff very friendly and helpful.
Not a place for anyone not able to climb alot of steps, it is situated on a hill with no disabled access.
Very good value for money

Room Tip: Only a small amount of rooms, most overlook the pool area and are all good options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warsaw
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

This is an amazing hotel in the Ubud area, rooms were very good and the view is simply amazing. As far as I'm concerned the only downside is the fact that the hotel is next to a pretty busy street and it gets kinda loud in the morning/throughout the day. Staff is super helpful and the fact that the hotel is places around 10m above the street level on a cliff which you have to "climb" definitely makes this place a bit more special.

Few words of advice:
Skip the SPA here, it's very overpriced vs what you can gt in other places
There's wifi available but it's very slow, it's much faster next to the reception area
You have to have a car to stay here, without it it doesn't make much sense

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misimisia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 19, 2013

A very beautiful hotel with peaceful environment and good services, from the breakfast provided to the shutter to Ubud town. Fantastic! Alam sari had a good connecting to nature. We enjoyed the beautiful surrounding and the services. The room was spacious and clean. Thank you to Alam Sari and I would recommend other friends to stay in Alam Sari.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cccheong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tegalalang
2.2 mi away
Junjungan Ubud Hotel and Spa
4.3 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#29 of 198 in Ubud
513 reviews
1.1 mi away
Villa Sarna Ubud
Villa Sarna Ubud
#136 of 198 in Ubud
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Kampung Resort Ubud
The Kampung Resort Ubud
#1 of 9 in Tegalalang
148 reviews
1.1 mi away
Alam Ubud Culture Villas & Residences
7.8 mi away
Puri Sebatu Resort
Puri Sebatu Resort
#1 of 2 in Tegalalang
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alam Sari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alam Sari

Property: Alam Sari
Address: Jl. Raya Dalem, Tegalalang 80561, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Tegalalang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Tegalalang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alam Sari 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Alam Sari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alam Sari Hotel Tegalalang
Alam Sari Keliki Gianyar
Alam Sari Bali/Tegalalang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing