We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Alam Sari

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alam Sari
Ranked #2 of 9 Tegalalang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot”
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Although this is a bit out of Ubud, it's a great base from which to explore the city and surrounds. The room was fantastic and the whole place was so quiet and tranquil - and a lovely pool! I just wish we'd had longer to stay!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    73
    18
    12
    9
See reviews for
83
92
18
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

A nice respite from the hustle of Ubud. The staff were excellent. The price was very reasonable and the room very spacious, clean and comfortable. Parts of the room and hotel are a bit tired but that doesn't detract from the charm. A nice pool, a nice outlook over the local bush valley and a wonderful long walk across the rice paddys and river valley to Ubud (if you can find the way).

A real highlight is the garden and Village tour which is free and the art of Kelieki is worth a look.

Friendly. Restful.

Room Tip: We enjoyed a room overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

The best things are the friendliness of the staff and the beautiful surrounds. The room itself was a disappointment after reading such rave reviews. Bath way too dirty to even contemplate taking a bath, other reviewers have mentioned having to ask staff to clean it. Shower disgusting really, needs a good scrub. Holes in tiles and in the wall. Nice ceiling but when you look up you see spiderwebs, stains. After the rain I could understand a frog, cockroaches in the room...but the nightly visit of rats.. the bad smell in the bathroom....if the room was acceptable this would be a treasure of a hotel in my eyes.obviously only a few rooms must be in bad condition because there are far more good reviews that bad ones. That is why it feels such a let down to have read about such good reviews and to be put in a room where other guests have obviously complained before, but no maintainance or better cleaning have been initiated. A coat of paint, a very good clean, fill up the holes in the walls, repair the insect screen, look where rats are entering from...please...nightly rat visits which cause sleepless nights, after I saw what was causing the loud rustling, it was hard to sleep well knowing rats are all over my things.I would some noise to scare them away, fall asleep to wake up again to the same noise and rats...

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Frangipani55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munster, Germany
Level Contributor
87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

The Alam Sari is owned by a NZ couple, who employs only local staff from the nearby village. Emphasis is put on environmental-friendly and sustainable management, and all buildings and structures blend right in with the lush vegetation the Alam Sari is set in. It also shows that the personal is local, this feels much more like a family-run business than most other hotels.
The restaurant area is completely surrounded by the garden, in the evening you can see Mount Agung in a distance, the rooms/guest houses are nestled in something that is closer to a jungle than to a garden - if you like nature, this is your place! There is an outdoor pool, which again is entirely surrounded by plants and right next to an adorable little shrine. The pool is illuminated at night, if you feel like cooling down at the end of a hot day.
The rooms are spacious, and you can pick between single guest houses or two units which can be connected through a door - these are called family units, and they will give up to 4 people more than enough space to feel completely comfortable. There is also a very large unit which provides even more space and can accommodate more people. The beds are very comfortable, the bathrooms large, and it is a joy to sit on your own terrace to enjoy the scenery. WiFi is free and works well. Massages and spa treatments are available on requests (I can vouch for the massages, which were very good).
The only aspect which possibly might be disturbing to some is a small, close-by road that has some traffic noise during day-time, but the road is not busy and we were not bothered. In the morning there are roosters to be heard from the near-by village, but quite honestly, I have yet to spend a night in Bali and not hear roosters in the morning (roosters are man’s best friends in Bali, and every compound seems to have at least one for cock-fighting purposes).
The staff is extremely friendly and helpful, and will accommodate your personal preferences wherever possible (we have been here 3 times, I have yet have to hear a 'no, that is not possible'). The Alam Sari offers a free village tour (3-5 hours), which is given by one of the staff members and which is both highly enjoyable and educative. You can also take a cooking class (at a private home, not at the resort!), or rent bikes for free. There are also tours on-demand, and make sure to ask for Dewa as your driver/guide. His English is excellent, and he is extremely knowledgeable. The tours can be catered to your needs and preferences, and we always enjoyed them very much. We have taken in the past a bike tour down from Mount Batur straight to the ALam Sari (3 hours downhill and going through beautiful rice paddies and with scenic views), or walked to Ubud, or, on this occasion, took a trip to the East coast to visit a bat cave, the spectacular Gunung Kawi site, and to see a bit of the country side – it was a fantastic day out.
The resort is a 15-minute drive away from busy Ubud, and the Alam Sari offers a free shuttle to the city and back thrice a day, which was plenty sufficient for us. Ubud itself has some nice spots, but overall we found the city to be very noisy and crammed with tourists. So we liked it all the more to be in such a secluded and quiet place as the Alam Sari, with the option to go to Ubud as often as we wanted. The resort is also conveniently located to the Elephant park, which on past visits we went to on bikes.
In summary, we were extremely happy with the Alam Sari. It is unpretentious place, which provides excellent value for money (particularly for family with kids) and a wonderful atmosphere. The personal is fantastic, and the location is great unless you insist on being right in the middle of Ubud. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: The family units (two connected rooms) are great for families, and there is one unit (Terakai) on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stefan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Beautiful and scenic only. Washroom had a big spider waiting for us. Hotel runs shuttles to ubud only 3 times a day. Nuthin around the hotel. Not even bile rentals and restaurants. Receptionist was only interested in selling the facilities which are very overpriced. Scooters for $8. Bad food

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nycroommate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Situated 15 minutes our of the busy Ubud centre and higher up with great views out over the tropical landscape, Alam Sari is surrounded by lush tropical vegetation. The setting of the resort is outstanding. Each separate balinese style guest house has ambiance and privacy. We had a double bedroom guest house which was perfect for our family. The complimentary guided farm walk through the rice paddy fields and to a resident artist's home for morning tea was such a pleasure. The staff go out of their way to make you feel welcome. The free shuttle into Ubud is such a bonus. Ubud is so busy and so its wonderful to escape back to Alam Sari. The negatives; The gym needs an urgent update if they are going to continue to list it and the spa. Most of the equipment is broken including the aircon. The noise of the motorbikes from below during "rush hour" spoils the tranquility.

Room Tip: All rooms get views and privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

As others have said, the people at Alam Sari are what makes it so special: incredibly welcoming, caring (the service really is something else) and inspirational (Very nice free tour of Keliki village). With their 3-daily free shuttle only 20 minutes from Ubud, but that is either positive than negative as Ubud has except of the monkey forest, great museums and nice rice paddies around nothing much more to offer than shops and massage!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VR1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tegalalang
6.2 mi away
Sankara Resort
Sankara Resort
#28 of 195 in Ubud
674 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 195 in Ubud
999 reviews
4.6 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#27 of 195 in Ubud
477 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Kampung Resort Ubud
The Kampung Resort Ubud
#1 of 9 in Tegalalang
135 reviews
3.2 mi away
Pondok Sebatu Villa
Pondok Sebatu Villa
#2 of 19 in Tegalalang
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alam Sari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alam Sari

Property: Alam Sari
Address: Jl. Raya Dalem, Tegalalang 80561, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Tegalalang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Tegalalang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alam Sari 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alam Sari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alam Sari Hotel Tegalalang
Alam Sari Keliki Gianyar
Alam Sari Bali/Tegalalang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing