We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very secluded and far from ubud”
Review of Alam Sari

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alam Sari
Ranked #2 of 9 Tegalalang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very secluded and far from ubud”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Beautiful and scenic only. Washroom had a big spider waiting for us. Hotel runs shuttles to ubud only 3 times a day. Nuthin around the hotel. Not even bile rentals and restaurants. Receptionist was only interested in selling the facilities which are very overpriced. Scooters for $8. Bad food

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nycroommate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    74
    18
    12
    9
See reviews for
86
93
18
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Situated 15 minutes our of the busy Ubud centre and higher up with great views out over the tropical landscape, Alam Sari is surrounded by lush tropical vegetation. The setting of the resort is outstanding. Each separate balinese style guest house has ambiance and privacy. We had a double bedroom guest house which was perfect for our family. The complimentary guided farm walk through the rice paddy fields and to a resident artist's home for morning tea was such a pleasure. The staff go out of their way to make you feel welcome. The free shuttle into Ubud is such a bonus. Ubud is so busy and so its wonderful to escape back to Alam Sari. The negatives; The gym needs an urgent update if they are going to continue to list it and the spa. Most of the equipment is broken including the aircon. The noise of the motorbikes from below during "rush hour" spoils the tranquility.

Room Tip: All rooms get views and privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

As others have said, the people at Alam Sari are what makes it so special: incredibly welcoming, caring (the service really is something else) and inspirational (Very nice free tour of Keliki village). With their 3-daily free shuttle only 20 minutes from Ubud, but that is either positive than negative as Ubud has except of the monkey forest, great museums and nice rice paddies around nothing much more to offer than shops and massage!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VR1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

The outside grounds of this hotel are gorgeous and make for a beautiful walk. The staff is friendly, gracious, and helpful. Although the hotel is VERY remote, with pretty much nothing around, the staff makes an effort to be very accommodating.

Positives:
-Free ride to and from Ubud at THREE specific times every day.
-Lush, picturesque grounds
-Quick service (room service, driving service)
-Breakfast is included, and it is a nice one (it does not go above and beyond as compared to other hotel's breakfasts, but it is adequate). To their credit, it seems as though they have made the effort to make the breakfasts more filling since many reviewers complained about a "thin" meal in earlier evaluations. Breakfast options are the same every day. Choose either:
orange or apple juice
"Western" style eggs (scrambled, fried, etc.) and croissant OR "Balinese" style egg (over-easy) over fried rice or noodles.
fruit bowl or fruit bowl with yogurt
coffee or tea (all you can drink)
-They have a restaurant with plenty of options, if you do not want to get a ride to a nearby town to eat, but the prices are very inflated, especially for the quality/quantity of food (i.e., about $6-9 for a plate, not including drinks).

Negatives:
-Despite it's remote distance from other areas, it can be pretty noisy: roosters, dogs, and motorists on the adjacent road, once you get used to them, become a steady background "white noise"
-Our room, the Alamanda, was the bedroom on the most southern part of the facility, I believe. There was some sort of generator behind the wall that turned on (LOUDLY) about every 10 minutes at all hours. This generator was more distracting and disruptive to our sleep than the chorus of roosters, dogs, and motors.
-On the outside, everything is well-maintained and clean, but the inside of our room and bathroom definitely showed its age: patches on walls, water stains on ceilings, cheap repair jobs on bathroom tile, uncovered, stark, fluorescent lights in the bathrooms. Although the bedroom and bathroom are very roomy, they could really use an update....really.
-They replace old towels with "clean" ones, but some of these towels have small stains. Eew.
-Think you want to take a dip in the jacuzzi? Think again. After a loooooonnngg walk through the villages, my husband and I walked all over the hotel trying to find the jacuzzi to sooth our muscles (it was not next to the pool as one would expect). When we asked an employee, he said we have to reserve it ahead of time and pay HOURLY. What????

Overall, it was nice, but not extremely impressive. Would I come back? Hmmm.....I would rather shop around first now that I know better; this hotel would likely not be a first choice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D_StAmant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

As others have said, the people at Alam Sari are what makes it so special: incredibly welcoming, caring (the service really is something else) and inspirational (you can't help but be touched by the tour of Kiliki village). The setting is a piece of tranquility (motorbikes are a fact of S.E.Asian life!) only 20 minutes from Ubud and all it offers, with lovely rice paddy views between you and it. Breakfast is fantastic: a real spread of fruit, eggs, juices, coffee etc and the food generally is varied and interesting. And the pool's just great to come back to after day trips away. Just go!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andyandannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed in the master room villa for 5 days for our honeymoon. The whole experience is great!! The staffs are super friendly and helpful. The food was delicious. They offer convenient shuttle to Ubud three times a day. I highly recommend the cooking class. For about $50, you got learn how to cook about 8 dishes with Dewa and his wife. My husband and I totally enjoyed our stay at Alam Sari!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We spent 7 nights at Alam Sari's villa based on our wonderful first time experience last July. I agree with Chrismarge and other excellent reviews on this site that it is really like family there - the staff are so welcoming and open up their homes and lives to you so that you can experience a Balinese village and their traditions, cultures, and way of life. I am trying to figure out how I can make an annual trip to Alam Sari! The concept of Alam Sari is brilliant -- created with eco-friendly standards and thoughtfulness of how to contribute and live in harmony with the local village, quite different from what I would imagine would be your experience at a mega beach resort. It is comfortable and a destination in itself (so it did not bother me that Ubud was a 20 minute car ride). We used Alam Sari as a base and spent a number of days traveling with Putu (our driver/guide/friend) around the island to visit temples, villages, shops, and different restaurants. We came with our good friends to relax and get away from work, we left with many friends -- including two guests who took day trips and shared meals with us! Not sure how you can complain about breakfast -- must be people who eat a lot -- we had fresh croissants, bread, eggs, noodles, rice, and delicious fresh fruit juices. And what other hotel waiter would give you presents when you leave?

Room Tip: If you can travel with friends and family, choose the villa!! We spent many hours relaxing in rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank musoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tegalalang
2.2 mi away
Junjungan Ubud Hotel and Spa
4.3 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#29 of 198 in Ubud
512 reviews
1.1 mi away
Villa Sarna Ubud
Villa Sarna Ubud
#137 of 198 in Ubud
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Kampung Resort Ubud
The Kampung Resort Ubud
#1 of 9 in Tegalalang
148 reviews
3.2 mi away
Pondok Sebatu Villa
Pondok Sebatu Villa
#2 of 22 in Tegalalang
168 reviews
1.1 mi away
Alam Ubud Culture Villas & Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alam Sari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alam Sari

Property: Alam Sari
Address: Jl. Raya Dalem, Tegalalang 80561, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Tegalalang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Tegalalang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alam Sari 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Alam Sari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alam Sari Hotel Tegalalang
Alam Sari Keliki Gianyar
Alam Sari Bali/Tegalalang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing