We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Why we keep coming back”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Alam Sari

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alam Sari
Ranked #2 of 9 Tegalalang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Why we keep coming back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

The Alam Sari "family" ,once again,greeted us with genuine pleasure.
This somewhat remote (7 kms) eco-friendly place commands outstanding views across the river gorge towards Mt. Agung.
Rooms are simply furnished and well maintained and include garden bathrooms and terrace.
A daily special complements the menu at the open-sided restaurant and lunch served by
the stunningly situated pool is arelaxing experience.
But above all , it is the friendliness of the staff(mostly drawn from the neighbouring village
of Keliki) that keeps us coming back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChrisnMarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    73
    18
    12
    9
See reviews for
83
92
18
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

Service at this hotel is excellent, and it's a good value! I travelled alone but met wonderful people at the hotel and stayed 4 nights there. The village tour is a must-see (and it's free). Dewa is an excellent guide and driver. There are several reasonably priced tours offered by the hotel, too. Don't need a car because hotel shuttle will drop you off in Ubud and renting a driver is cheap.

The staff is very friendly, looks after you, and makes you feel like you're staying with family. The breakfast was very filling and tasty. I would recommend this hotel for solo, couples, and family. The views of the mountains and rice paddies from the rooms are beautiful. There is a loud road below the property, but if you get a room set further back, it's not a problem. My room was actually closer to the road, and I had no problems sleeping.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HBAdvGrl09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

This was the first hotel we stayed in Bali. It could not have been better. Wonderful staff, good food, great views, very clean, comfortable and attractive rooms..

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarita555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

Our first trip to Bali and Alam Sari certainly helped make it a memorable one. We enjoyed the escaping the hustle of Ubud to the clean, crisp air of Keliki. The beauty of the hotel and the opportunity to watch the sunrise and light the distant volcano is certainly a favourite image!
The staff at Alam Sari were exceptional! Two of our most pleasurable days in Bali involved spending time with Alam Sari staff. We were lucky enough to experience the traditional Bali cooking class with Dewa and his wife Jero. What a feast! The seven course meal was prepared and eaten in Dewa and Jero's home compound. We were active participants in preparing the meal, learning the ingredients and sharing stories.
Our last day in Alam Sari was spent with Putu, up mountains, through temples and finally down to our flight home.
Thank you again for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wanderingsands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

We stayed at Alam Sari for five nights and we can't fault it. Everything was exceptional, the room, the breakfast, the surroundings. The staff go the extra mile and are totally lovely people. The location is perfect, it is like a retreat. You can walk into Abud and the local people and the scenery along the way will melt your heart. The hotel can arrange transport which we used frequently and they use local drivers who were all without fail, kind and informative. We travelled all around Bali and Indonesia and this place is a firm favourite.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifer E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Shasta, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

My husband and I spent 14 days at Alam Sari and had a fabulous stay! The rooms are very spacious, comfortable and private. The view of the green palm trees in the distance, the swimming pool, and lush garden from our private patio was truly beautiful and serene. There is an organic garden on the premises and much of the vegetables served at meal times are freshly picked from it. We ate most of our meals there and enjoyed each one. If you want to get a real taste of Bali, just a few minutes walk from the hotel you will find yourself in the beautiful rice paddies. We spent hours walking around them trying to capture as much of the culture through the lens of our cameras. Village life is at your finger tip if that is the experience you are looking for during your stay at Alam Sari. The staff are well trained and very friendly. We really enjoyed spending time talking with them to learn about their culture. We really appreciate the effort Alam Sari puts into being 'green' and environmentally friendly. I would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Macphilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

I did a 4D3N stay in Alam Sari. Having traveled from the airport for close to 2 hours to the resort, I was pretty tired- but the warm reception from the staff (Meg) it was just invigorating! The resort is a distance from Ubud, I just never knew how much! It'll cost you about 70,000 - 80,000 IDR for transport from Ubud to the resort. Transport from the hotel to Ubud is given by a shuttle that leaves at certain timings. With a car, it's a 15-20 minute drive to Ubud from the resort. The room is slightly worn, but still altogether lovely. It's quiet and clean. My only complaint was that upon checking in, my bed was littered with faeces and little bugs etc. A small issue, but if this is a common occurrence, it would be good to check the room once-over before allowing your guest to check-in.

Breakfast was absolutely yummy, I love their croissants, do try that if you could! Food is inexpensive and delicious if you plan to have dinner at the resort. If you get up early in the morning, you'd be able to catch the sunrise from Mount Agung. The pool is small, but still a great place to hangout and have a cool dip. The staff are amazing! The hotel wouldn't be the same without them at all. They felt like family more than staff, and it's such a rarity nowadays.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soupbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tegalalang
6.2 mi away
Sankara Resort
Sankara Resort
#28 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
4.3 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#25 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Kampung Resort Ubud
The Kampung Resort Ubud
#1 of 9 in Tegalalang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
3.2 mi away
Pondok Sebatu Villa
Pondok Sebatu Villa
#2 of 19 in Tegalalang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
7.8 mi away
Puri Sebatu Resort
Puri Sebatu Resort
#1 of 2 in Tegalalang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alam Sari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alam Sari

Property: Alam Sari
Address: Jl. Raya Dalem, Tegalalang 80561, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Tegalalang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Tegalalang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alam Sari 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alam Sari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alam Sari Hotel Tegalalang
Alam Sari Keliki Gianyar
Alam Sari Bali/Tegalalang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing