We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Total Relaxation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alam Ubud Culture Villas & Residences
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Total Relaxation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from 9 wonderful nights at Alam Ubud and wanted to share our experiences. First of all this is a place to relax and recuperate, so if you're looking for the hustle and bustle you would be better off to find a hotel in the heart of Ubud.
There are only 14 Villas here, and consequently it feels very private and peaceful.
We stayed at the very bottom villa, Bima 4 which was a few extra steps up and down, but worth it, in that we had the bottom pool to ourselves most days as other guests used the closer top pool. The sound of the river lulled us to sleep every night, and we awoke refreshed and invigorated.
It was about 50 steps from our Bima to the half way point, where you could get a buggy up to the top.
I'm sixty and initially huffed and puffed on the stairs for the first day or so, but turned it around and looked at it as well needed exercise to work off calories from all the wonderful food we ate.
Speaking of food, the Hotel food was adequate but you're better off to catch the 3pm shuttle and eat in some of the wonderful restaurants in Ubud. One night we had 2 entrees, 2 mains, 2 cocktails and 2 Orange juices for $28 Aud!! Then we caught a taxi back to the villa for $8 for a grand total of $36, try doing that in Melbourne!
Best of all were the staff. Friendly, always smiling and attentive to all your needs. We had a faulty DVD Player, it was replaced within minutes. The staff always respected your privacy and cleaned your room usually while you had breakfast.
You can book many activities through the Hotel but we found it cheaper to shop around on-line.
For example we did whitewater rafting for $33 each as opposed to $79 if you book through the Hotel.
We would like to give a special thank you to Puspa for her wonderful hospitality, and helping to
make it a wonderful experience.
We will return at our earliest opportunity.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mediawiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    98
    32
    10
    12
See reviews for
46
263
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Alam Ubud was the first of our 2-leg Bali honeymoon and the best experience of the country. The service and experience, from first pick up at the airport through to check-out, was courteous, personal and professional. The hotel is quite expensive for food and drink, but the meals are generous and you can always stock up your fridge!

The whole site is exquisitely designed into the valley hill and the views and aspect are incredible. The Kunti honeymoon villa is very private and perfect for honeymooners, the rooms and facilities are all just as shown on the website photos and the experience was a genuine pleasure.

The only small quibble is that after a few days you notice the distance from Ubud and the shuttles are only twice a day, constraining your planning. We hired a motorbike to compensate.

Other improvements would be a fitness centre...

Room Tip: the higher rooms are closer to the pool, entrance and restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Perched high above a rumbling gorge amidst a lush tropical forest the beauty of this place and the experience to be had here is unsurpassable. The hotel, which is made up of several villas, was cleverly designed to create a feeling of contentment and privacy as it rolls down the side of a mountain in complimentary characterisation of its surroundings. The infinity pool was quite a sight to behold and I shall never forget the view which I shall find myself recalling when I return to work. The staff were without fault as was their attention to detail. The food was superb. I only ate the Indonesian breakfast which they can spice up if you ask. I can't comment on the western fayre but I am sure this was just as good. Dinner was just as superb and not at all expensive compared to eating out in the UK. Although food can be purchased a lot more cheaply in the centre of Ubud where you will find a greater variety, naturally. Notwithstanding the fact there were plenty of other restaurants in the centre which were similarly priced if not more expensive. I can not find fault with this hotel. It is what it is. You just have to work around the shuttle times into the centre of Ubud. Perhaps Management would consider increasing the service but that in itself is not a reason to fault this place. I was there on my honeymoon and one afternoon we found a cake in our fridge made for us, which said Happy Honeymoon. Indeed it was. We stayed at villa Bima 1 and could not believe that this was our room. Beautiful. From Mr & Mrs Baker xx

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MsReddy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

This is not a hotel - this is a spot of heaven on earth. A handful of private villas cleverly built into the side of a beautiful rainforest gorge offering almost total privacy from each of the other villas. We stayed in their most "basic" Bima-style villa, it was vast, a huge bedroom and a large balcony overlooking the gorge onto which the local family of monkeys would descend in the mornings and peer through the windows to see if we'd woken up.

The staff were superb as was the food (reasonable priced for the international traveller but towards the higher end by Indonesian standards though still comparable to prices in other local restaurants).

In front of the main restaurant area is an open air infinity pool where you can relax whilst looking over the stunning hillside.

Obviously to get this fabulous location is it out of town - Ubud is around 10-15 minutes away by car, a complementary shuttle service is provided twice a day in each direction (10am and 3pm to Ubud and 4pm and 9pm back) the only improvement I could have suggested is extra shuttles, perhaps one going into Ubud at 8pm (since generally the car is going in to pick up anyone returning at 9pm anyway).

Overall, I couldn't recommend Alam Ubud enough - you'll just have to go there and experience this wonderful place for yourself (and believe me you really should)!!

Room Tip: Stayed in Bima 1 which was wonderful - though I suspect that any other villa would be too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonBakerUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

The hotel is far off from the hectic town.The sounds of the water rumbling below and birds singing in the trees gave an instant feeling of tranquility. We enjoyed the cycling in the morning around the paddy rice terrains, but be careful when you travelling alone. The food was reasonably good, but slightly expensive. If you like continental breakfast, you will enjoy the decent preparation here. The reception at the hotel is well managed especially Puspa. She is helpful and charming. All in all the place is worth if you are looking for some great escape!!1

Room Tip: I had Kunti 2. Great view and more privacy. If can try to avoid Arjuna.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lbbb83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Only 10 minute from the centre of Ubud and nestled between the rice fields and the jungle is Alam Ubud Villa. The rooms have a lovely view of the jungle and in the background is the sound of the river this is the ultimate place for peace and quiet. The staff go out of their way to make your visit hassle free and respect your privacy. The food is excellent and there were plenty off choices. Overall we had a great time and we have just booked again for next October.
The only word of warning is that due to the location there are a lot of steps so if you have trouble with step this place may not be suitable.

Room Tip: Room 1,2 5 and 6 to reduce the stair climb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveR1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

No review can give this place justice. Alam Ubud has exceeded all of our expectations. It has most likely ruined all other hotels for me because I can’t imagine that any other place would surprise, amaze and spoil us as much as Alam Ubud. It manages to be exquisitely luxurious without being pretentious. The location is fantastic – choose to stay in the resort for the whole time and enjoy the glorious infinity or jungle pools and amazing rain forest views or discover one of the many friendly villages on a bicycle ride. Otherwise you can take a free shuttle bus to Ubud or book a trip to discover other parts of Bali. Whatever you choose you will be treated by the staff of Alam Ubud like kings and queens with no request too difficult. We stayed for 7 days and we are extremely glad that we did because any less than this would honestly not be enough. We also found the food to be very fresh and absolutely delicious – the best we had in Bali. Oh, and definitely put an Alam Ubud spa treatment by the river on your ‘to do’ list.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Collone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tegalalang
1.4 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
4.1 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
4.2 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Sankara Resort
Sankara Resort
#28 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
4.4 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#45 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,754 reviews
4.2 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#13 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alam Ubud Culture Villas & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alam Ubud Culture Villas & Residences

Property: Alam Ubud Culture Villas & Residences
Address: Desa Kendran, Tegalalang 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Tegalalang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Tegalalang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alam Ubud Culture Villas & Residences 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alam Ubud is not only a resort but a new place for the Indonesian culture in the surrounding of Ubud area. Located at the amazing river valley and tropical forest, only minutes away from the centre of Ubud Bali, Alam Ubud spaciously set within a 4 hectare river villa and garden landscape. The scenery along the road from center of Ubud the Alam Ubud area is an observation and culture environment. So, you can imagine the location is very unique and special in Ubud. In every terrace and garden area you also can find old culture from Java island and some of culture that date back to the 15th century until the 19th century we found in area of Villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alam Ubud Culture Villas & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alam Ubud Culture Villas And Residences
Alam Ubud Culture Villas & Residences Hotel Tegalalang
Alam Ubud Culture Villas & Residences Bali/Tegalalang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing