We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arrived in Heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sarinbuana Eco Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Noosa Heads
1 review
“Arrived in Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2009

WE began our holiday at Sarinbuana and finished it there! Thirty days in Bali, fifteen at The Eco Lodge, that says it all!
A unique experience in many ways.Stunning location,beautiful bungalows ( we tried them all ),wonderfully warm friendly service and a maize of activities to keep you occupied if your so inclined.
Norm and Linda are passionate enviromentalists and it shows in all aspects of The lodge.
It was a great honour to be apart of their family and that includes Sarinbuana Village.
We can t wait to go back!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunstone76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    34
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
86
138
27
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2009

This was our second visit to the Eco Lodge - we had stayed there last year for our honeymoon, and we returned again this year for our one-year anniversary. This time we stayed for 5 nights, which was fantastic. We stayed in the same bungalow (Orchid) which was still gorgeous. Norm and Linda are such lovely people and welcomed us back like family. The staff, as always, were a delight, and cooked up some delicious food once again. We indulged in a massage almost every day (which we miss!) Some additional activities were on offer this year - we throoughly enjoyed the bicycle ride to the beach (with the fresh coconut juice from the warung at the end!) and a walk up the mountain where we saw the temple all decked out for a ceremony the next day. We also met some really lovely couples who were also staying there. I'm sure we'll return again next year!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cloud_graffiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2009

If you are visiting Bali, it is well worth getting off the well worn tourist route and spending time at the Sarinbuana Eco Lodge. The landscape is lush, the view spectacular and the night sky was just gorgeous. The food is delicious Balinese home cooking, the rooms are gorgeous and very comfortable. There is loads to do here. I really enjoyed the Balinese medicine class. Myself and two Balinese ladies spent a couple of hours hanging out and making some great drinks and potions from herbs. Make sure to book a massage and say hello to the resident monkeys. All the staff are wonderful and friendly. I felt very much at home and was very sad to leave. I traveled alone and would highly recommend it for solo travelers.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaliWhiteRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2009

Wow! I just read the terrible review! Stunned by disbelief I just had to remark. Though, I think Norm summarised this reviewers inner difficulties quite succinctly.

For our honeymoon we were blessed with a much too short stay in the company of the most beautiful people I've ever had the privilege to share such precious ground with.
Such an embracing experience was the lodge that I almost feel jealous viewing visitors more recent photos and comments of what immediately felt like our home.

It's not just the majestic power of the vast rock that harbours your stay. Nor is it the embracing warmth of absolutely every individual you have the honour of meeting. Now, I like to talk but our stay with the Sarinbuana family overwhelms all expectations of what true balanced peace really is and leaves me so struck and homesick to return that I'm short of words to describe what an incredible all round revelation our too brief a stay actually was.

Linda and Norm have established a visionary dream that has not only protected an incredibly beautiful area of land but extended their family to encompass and support an extremely important chunk of Balinese culture.

This isn't just an opportunity to immerse in utter tranquillity. It's a chance to exist, if only to briefly, in a life cycle that truly works.

I'm trying to find a flaw to end with but all I can think is how much I want to return, eat real food, and find something to give back to a space that gave us so much.


And go carve or do calligraphy with Ketut. There's a man that will humble you and now someone I am proud to call my brother!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChuffinBudz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven
Level Contributor
42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2009

The surroundings are gorgeous, the food was amazing, the home made ice cream the best we've ever had, the staff helpful and friendly and the cottages cute.

So why did we leave after one night? Because neither the website nor any of the other Tripadvisor reviews had prepared us urban folk for what was in store for us. We honestly cannot say this is a bad hotel, but it should be more clear to guests that unlike other hotels where the occasional bug wanders into your room, bugs are home here and you are just a guest.

While we liked what's mentioned in the first paragraph here, we really could not deal with the ants, which were everywhere in massive numbers, the huge spiders - albeit non-poisonous, the frogs, moths, slugs and all other unidentified insects (many the size of my hand) that were all over the bathroom and bedroom.

Linda pointed out that this was a good occasion to learn to get over our fears, but therapy is not how I wanted to spend my honeymoon. I guess we did not really understand well enough what to expect from an eco lodge.

If you do, and you don't mind the critters, you'll love this place. It just wasn't for us. I hope that despite that, I have managed to give this a fair review.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kims0304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecolodgebali, owner at Sarinbuana Eco Lodge, responded to this review, November 2, 2009
We were sorry to see these guests leave early, I can only remember it happening once before over 3 years, another honeymoon couple coincidentally. Here's our response to the bugs issue:

An Eco-Lodge works with nature rather than against it and learning what really is, and what really isn't, threatening, is an important part of living more sustainably. Sometimes we're challenged by little black ants, sometimes noisy geckos or spiders, but they don't hurt us and without them, we'd be overrun with real pests.

Routinely killing snakes, spaying spiders, poisoning your home to kill termites, spraying your vegetables with biocides.... this is not a sustainable or healthy lifestyle. If we are going to reduce the toxins we dump into our living environment, we humans need to get over those fears which are irrational.

The Eco Lodge is not in the business of personal development but we are in the business of environmental education and hopefully, inspiration. Here's a recent, true story:

Ted came from Los Angeles to tutor our sons for 3 months. He's a big sporty guy, but he had a terrible phobia about bugs. For the first 2 weeks, if he saw a big spider in the room, he didn't sleep. And if the spiders didn't get him, there was a very noisy gecko that woke him up every hour or two. The poor guy was a wreck.

After 3 months, Ted was not only 'cured' of his phobia, he'd become fascinated by the amazing variety of interesting bugs and small critters we have around the Eco Lodge. He even left us with a wonderful collection of macro photo's of insects. He recently emailed me that a cockroach had flown into his room (back in LA). Previously, he would have sprayed the whole room and still had trouble sleeping. Now, he watched the cockroach go into his wardrobe and thought... 'ok, no problem'... and went to sleep.

We're not here to tell our guests what to do but we are here to educate everybody about living more sustainably. We're using non-toxic methods to reduce the current ant problem, but yes, it is an Eco-Lodge and we are in a lush, tropical setting. There are less annoying bugs here than you'd expect (our family has never used mosquito nets for example, although they're provided for guests) however, because we don't use poisons at the Lodge, we hope there will always be spiders and fire-flies, praying mantis, dragonflies and butterflies, frogs... noisy geckos and yes, little black ants :)

PS. At rare times during the year, we occasionally see the largest moth in the world, the Atlas Moth.

All the Best,

Norm van't Hoff
Sarinbuana Eco Lodge, Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2009

The title sums it up really!

What an amazing place.

If you are thinking of going to the lodge, why are you still thinking?! GO! NOW! You will not regret it.

The environmental work that Norm and Linda do is brilliant. The lodge itself is a wonderful place to stay, and you can see how it makes a difference to the local community in every aspect of its running. Linda does a fantastic job running the place, whilst employing and training and encouraging local people as staff...who are all so welcoming and friendly!

The food is incredible. We are both strict vegans and whilst we had been reassured that vegan catering would be available, we had no idea how good it would be. We had no need to worry at all - we had so much choice, and each different lunch and dinner was delicious.

The bungalows were beautiful, each one unique. We stayed in Rumah Manis and loved how secluded we felt when we were in our room, looking out over the rainforest canopy down to the coast, waking up to the myriad exotic bird calls, watching the sun rise, being lulled to sleep by the noise of the rainforest. It doesn't matter what the weather is like here, it is beautiful come rain or shine.

I'm not sure why someone on here moaned about mosquitoes. I am a mossie-magnet usually, and I didn't get bitten once at the lodge. I didn't even wear repellent. As for having to buy it, that's not true. Natural soaps and mossie repellent are provided in the rooms. If you want your own stuff, take your own stuff, but it's hardly something to moan about, surely?!

Anyway, our week here was simply brilliant. I wish we had never had to leave!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruthemily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2009

My wife and I spent the first part of our Honeymoon in Bali at the Eco Lodge and it was amazing.

The best things were:
The bungalow: it was perfect, with a big comfortable bed and mosquito net, a daybed on the verandah and plenty of candles and incense to save on electricity (and stop the bugs coming in) at night. We were in the Rumah Manis bungalow and the view down the valley is incredible, all you can see is 100% jungle, its so peaceful and private. Having a hot shower whilst looking out at the jungle is brilliant.
The staff: Norm and Linda were great, really friendly, helpfull and nice to talk to and we had some interesting conversations about the Villa, permaculture/eco living and Bali in general. The local staff were also very friendly, especially Made our driver and guide.
The food: cooked fresh everyday by the local staff with most ingredients from the Eco Lodge garden. The choice was awesome. During our ten day stay we worked our way through pretty much everything on the menu and we did not have a bad meal (and the icecream is to die for!)
The activities: We took a guided walk through the local forest and up to a mountain temple, which was great fun. We also took a cookery course and learned how to make Ikan Pepis (baked fish) and Satay. The best trip we did was a cycle ride down the mountain with a local guide, through jungle, villages and rice paddies - the scenery was magnificent. The excursions are not too expensive either.
The whole lodge: The bungalows are all quite secluded from one another, in amongst jungle and food-tree plantations (you see coconut, papaya, banana, coffee and vanilla growing everywhere) and feel really private and safe. The restaurant/kitchen area is in the centre of them all and is open air and really comfortable (especially the table up on the mezzanine where you sit on cushions not chairs). The only thing is, because it is situated halfway up a mountain in the middle of the jungle, you cant really get anywhere without hiring a driver.

Overall an amazing place to stay. You really get to see a more traditional and rural Bali and its brilliant.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank yosefthegod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tabanan
14.8 mi away
The Damai
The Damai
#1 of 24 in Lovina Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
14.7 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#13 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,815 reviews
15.0 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Bali Eco Stay Bungalows
Bali Eco Stay Bungalows
#1 of 53 in Tabanan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
2.1 mi away
Prana Dewi Mountain Resort
9.0 mi away
Puri Lumbung Cottages
Puri Lumbung Cottages
#2 of 22 in Munduk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarinbuana Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarinbuana Eco Lodge

Property: Sarinbuana Eco Lodge
Address: Jl. Arjuna Br. Biyahan | Desa Wanagiri, Tabanan 82162, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Tabanan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Tabanan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sarinbuana Eco lodge is the pioneer of Eco Tourism in Bali. This internationally Award winning Eco Lodge, offers you a retreat into nature. With 5 uniquely hand crafted bungalows set in tropical organic gardens, amazing mountain & forested valley views. Surrounded by fruit, trees coffee, cocoa, vanilla & rice paddy's. Delicious Organic local Balinese, Raw food & Western dishes sourced from our gardens, workshops with our local villagers, Mountain, Rainforest, Temple, Rice paddy and "food forest" walks, fresh mountain water pools. Enjoy a massage or take a cooking class. Perfect for Nature loving: Couples, Families, Solo travelers, Honeymooners, group retreats & for all those who would like to be a part of this vibrant traditional culture, while treading lightly on the earth. Winner of the Wildforest award 2013, 2007 & 2010 Wild Asia Eco Lodge of the year Award, and 2 time nominee for the Virgin Sustainable Tourism Award - Best accommodation for a community category. Sarinbuana Eco Lodge has lead the way in developing Sustainable Eco Tourism in Bali, pioneering social and environmental programs that have set new standards for viable, responsible & hotel management in Bali. Our recent consultancy projects are: Bali Eco beach house, Loola Bintan Island, Fresh Bali, Sumber Sari Eco Villas & Bali Eco Stay. New Retreat Bamboo bale for workshops, groups and yoga space. Daily Yoga classes at 7am & 5pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sarinbuana Eco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarinbuana Eco Hotel Tabanan
Sarinbuana Eco Lodge Bali/Tabanan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing