We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced with very poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pondok Pitaya: Hotel, Surfing and Yoga
Ranked #1 of 28 Tabanan B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Because of their location, they take advantage on people and have extremely overpriced food. I wouldn't mind paying if the service was at least decent!! but 4 days in a row we had meals here and there was always something unavailable; we waited at least 1 hour for the dishes to arrive and twice they forgot to actually order one of the main dishes. You ask me why I went 4 times to that place? Because they have a good location and most of our friends hangout there but in every table always someone complaining.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DariusSadeli, Manager at Pondok Pitaya: Hotel, Surfing and Yoga, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Hi Rita,

Thank you for feed back. We are very sorry for not giving you the full Balian experience. Please understand that there has been an increase on local goods prices, the hotel will put your feed back internally to manage the customer's expectation for pricing.

There are several other options on the beach.

Thank you again for spending time with us.

-Pondok Pitaya-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 141 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2013

I agree that the Pondok Pitaya is situated in a great position right on the Balian beach.A lot of work and thought has been put into the style of the cottages and the gardens just get better each year.4 of us stayed in the big house which is rustic but suitable , we weren't expecting or paying for 4-5 star digs. all of us had a great time here.
the staff were friendly , the restaurant is ok but there are other places to eat if you choose to.
back again next march and looking forward to it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank gaud00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DariusSadeli, Manager at Pondok Pitaya: Hotel, Surfing and Yoga, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Dear Gaud00,

Thank you for your kind feed back. We are constantly trying to improve to match everyone's expectation for both hotel and restaurant. Thank you for staying with us, being really patient and understanding. We really look forward to have you for your next trip.

-Pondok Pitaya-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Our family and friends have been staying at Pondok Pitaya for the last 3 years and it always feels like home. The location of the hotel is picture perfect and it equals any of the amazing places elsewhere in the world. The restaurant is awesome and all of the staff are very helpful, polite and friendly. The rooms are true Bali style overlooking the ocean. You can have a beautiful peaceful massage overlooking the surf and each day at Pondok makes you so happy to be alive!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DariusSadeli, Manager at Pondok Pitaya: Hotel, Surfing and Yoga, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Hi Donna,

Thank you Donna for the kind testimonial, we really hope to see you next year for your fourth year. You are too kind with your words. The staff send their regards to you and your family.

- Pondok Pitaya -

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Unbelievable, just when you think the food and service at pondok couldn't get any worse they surprise you. Each time we go back the food is more expensive and this time the nasi goreng was in edible and cold, awful! The breakfast that comes with the room is the worst in all of Bali,
We took our daughter and she cut herself all over on the pool as most of the tiles are missing and the edges are sharp! Do not stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Newzealand77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DariusSadeli, Manager at Pondok Pitaya: Hotel, Surfing and Yoga, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Kia Ora Newzealand77,

Please accept our apology for the inconvenience, we have put your input to the hotel for constructive feed back. We are constantly tidying up the hotel and restaurant for a better stay quality. We take all input as priority, thank you once more for staying with us.

- Pondok Pitaya -

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I actually hate to recommend Pondok Pitaya because it should remain a glorious secret. The truth is that it's a great place, especially if you surf. Only problem is the music they play in the restaurant - uninspired, whiny rock. I'd prefer to just listen to the ocean.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kingrick49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DariusSadeli, Manager at Pondok Pitaya: Hotel, Surfing and Yoga, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Dear King Rick,

Thank you for your feed back!! we will try to keep the music low and give more variety.

until next time, send our regards to the family.

- Pondok Pitaya -

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

My friend and I chose Pondok Pitaya as our last stop after a 500 km motorbike ride around the island of Bali. We definitely chose the right place to stop and relax for a couple of nights.

Amazing location! Pondok Pitaya is nestled in a quiet spot with amazing waves for surfers by the beach and a clean and calm river delta by the side. Very friendly staff, great choice of food both western and local - I'd highly recommend the yellow curry!

I'm really looking forward to another trip to Balian next summer!!


Ps. Ask for the secret homemade cider!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dwikie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DariusSadeli, Manager at Pondok Pitaya: Hotel, Surfing and Yoga, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Dear Dwikster!!

Thanks for your kind words!! too kind!! next yellow curry is on the house!! and cider!!

Place is not the same without you!! haha

- Pondok Pitaya -

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

perfect stay, would repeat, perfect beach, strong currents, black sand, cool surfer suits, relaxed place, friendly staff, great location, food too western oriented, saturdays party in neighboorhood ...

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shakabra99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DariusSadeli, Manager at Pondok Pitaya: Hotel, Surfing and Yoga, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Hi Shakabra,

Thank you for your testimonial!! next time you are here, we promise you there will be more Indonesian cuisine...and more party???!?!?

- Pondok Pitaya -

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tabanan
7.9 mi away
Soori Bali
Soori Bali
#2 of 13 in Tabanan
707 reviews
8.9 mi away
WakaGangga
WakaGangga
#1 of 13 in Tabanan
209 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pondok Pisces Bungalows
Pondok Pisces Bungalows
#17 of 58 in Tabanan
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Krisna Villa's Guest House
Krisna Villa's Guest House
#11 of 28 in Tabanan
10 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gajah Mina Beach Resort
Gajah Mina Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Selemadeg
189 reviews
0 mi away
Istana Balian
Istana Balian
#15 of 58 in Tabanan
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pondok Pitaya: Hotel, Surfing and Yoga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pondok Pitaya: Hotel, Surfing and Yoga

Address: Lalang Linggah, Balian River, Tabanan 82162, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Tabanan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Tabanan
Price Range: $62 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pondok Pitaya: Hotel, Surfing and Yoga 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balian Beach, Located in west Bali, 90 minutes drive north of Seminyak. Balian Beach: Pondok Pitaya Surfer Hotel is located on the edge of a natural volcanic black sand beach and beautiful cliff crafted by nature itself. The beach is perfect for long walks and has all year round waves for surfing. Many Yoga groups are starting to looking into Balian Beach as an alternative training spot other than Ubud. All rooms have been reconstructed from indigenous houses imported from Java, dating back to the 1930's. Rooms include twin share Surfer Suites and large houses that can sleep up to 8 people. One of the best place in Balian Beach for Surfing and Yoga.Experience a world of limitless adventure and sun-filled days in Balian ... where you can live out your dream of being a surfer or enjoy a family holiday with few rounds of ice cold Bintang beers. Sample the freshest Indonesian and Western cuisine. 45 min from the Tabanan Mountain area for a coffee plantation hike and fresh brewed Balinese Coffee. Or slip into a waking dream with clear sky, millions of stars blinking at night and accompanied by tropical sea breeze. Some say Pondok Pitaya is a hotel, but some say its home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Pondok Pitaya: Hotel, Surfing and Yoga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pondok Pitaya: Hotel, Surfing And Yoga Bali/Tabanan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing