We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pondok Pitaya: Hotel, Surfing and Yoga
Ranked #1 of 28 Tabanan B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 22, 2011

Fell in love with the place and think about it pretty much every day. Our villa was incredible and all the staff were very friendly, especially Agus who took us to a local 'nightclub', I hope that they are looked after!

Will definitely return, hopefully very soon.

Room Tip: Just turn up and negotiate
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Max_Hepworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 141 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2011

We stayed for 5 nights at 'The hotel at the end of the road'. The room was very spacious with simple furniture, comfortable beds and traditional Balinese styling. Thoughtful touches such as complementary mosquito coils and a safe were provided. The towels and bedsheets were freshly laundered. The bathroom was huge and clean. The cold shower was disappointingly just a pipe coming out of the wall and a few times when we tried to use it there was no water available.
The staff were friendly and accommodating during our stay. We realised shortly after checking out that we had left a mobile phone in our room and telephoned the Pondok Pitaya to see if they had found it but unforunately it was not recovered. We had to ask the staff in our hotel in Ubud to speak on the phone to explain the situation to the Pondok Pitaya staff because in this situation their English was stretched. We even went back to the hotel a week later to see if there was any sign of it but it was never found. The phone was old so it was no big deal to loose the handset but frustrating to loose all of the contact details saved on it.
Food in Toki's restaurant was great - especially the sate ayam. Breakfast was good. A very minor point - it would have been nice to be able to choose pancakes as part of the complimentary breakfast rather than just the egg option everyday. The location of the restaurant and views when eating are fabulous. The furniture in the restaurant is comfortable.
The pool was clean and well maintained during our stay, so perhaps the previous problems have been resolved or perhaps it is easier to maintain in dry season rather than wet season. There were children playing in the pool each day with no problems.
The synthetic rattan sunlongers were very comfortable and guests were sociable and friendly on the poolside.
Overall, the location of Pondok Pitaya is second to none in Balian. If you are a surfer you can watch the waves all day and choose the best moments to go in for another surf. The pool and restaurant feel a bit special because they are literally right on the beach and you can open your door every morning and see the sea immediately. The service and food are good. The room is simple but comfortable and offers fair value for money compared to other accommidation in town (no hot water is a draw back though). Balian is a quiet place with none of the traffic and hustle and bustle of other Bali surf spots. If you are happy to read a book, relax by the pool or stroll on the beach this is a great place for you. Everything closes at 9.30pm in Balian and early bedtimes mean you are ready for your morning surf.

Room Tip: We stayed in surfers room 5. Has a shady porch all day long and nice and cool at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blaw101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed at Pondok Pitaya with friends and it was the perfect start to our holiday in Bali. We had booked the Joglo room and it was a truly wonderful retreat. A large open living area, clean rooms, relaxing day beds, coloured glass lights, bamboo ceilings, ocean frontage and geckos galore. The emphasis is on creating a natural setting so you won't find all of your hotel mod cons here such as air conditioning, bar fridges, hairdryers or electric kettles. We felt totally relaxed and happy in this beautiful environment. The pool was a leap away and the well situated restaurant was a few metres. The staff were friendly and if you needed anything you just had to ask. There are a few restaurants running along the main road and we enjoyed the fun of strolling up and down the hill (quite steep!) to find a place to dine. Further up toward the turn off into the Balian beach area, there is also a new massage/ beauty shop. We had a massage there that was excellent (mine was a 'strong' one which wouldn't be for the faint-hearted!). We're glad that we chose Pondok Pitaya and hope to be back next year.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerry2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Great location on beach at end of the road in Balian. Surf is steps from unit. Great pool and common area. Excellent food, mahi mahi is incredible. Service is good, but reactive (just be patient or ask). Units are comfortable, no hot water but otherwise fine. This place was a great value.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EastsideSantaCruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

We spent 5 nights at Pondok Pitaya in July 2011. We stayed in the "Happy House". The layout is a bit odd, but was very comfortable.
The kids had a blast, at the pool and on the beach. It's was convenient to be within spitting distance of the surf.
My concerns around a previous post aon trip advisor about the swimming pool, were unfounded, and the kids spent most of the time in the pool.
The restaurant service was good, the food good and all in all, in rest spect sew should have stayed a little longer.
Will certainiy return when we come back to Bali.
Malcolm
South Africa

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Emdee1405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2011

This place has potential to be the perfect holiday for family. The accomodation is basic but comfortable and clean. Note, no hot water, air cond or tV facilities in rooms that did not bother us but could be a problem for others. We had a fantastic house with great views, lots of room and fabulous spacious green lawn in front of us.

The bid downfall was the swimming pool. With 3 children under 4 the swimming pool was essential. When we arrived it was murky green but unfortinately the kids wanted to risk swimming in it. They lasted 5 minutes before exiting the water crying with red welts and itching. After a solid rinsing with fresh water they calme down and did not got near the water again for the duration of our stay. By the end of our 7 days the pool water was black and the pool had a sign on it saying "no swimming". The pool guy had NO IDEA what he was doing. He was in desparte need of some training as his response to solve the problem was to throw in buckets of chlorine and blame being near the beach. We spoke to the staff about the issue (no sign of the American mgn in sight the whole time we were there!) who were beside themsleve with what to do and said their Mgn did not care. To resolve the issue I resorted to walking the kids 10 minutes up the road to another resort who were kind enough to let us swim in their pool as long we bought food each day. Iwas extremely grateful.

A few other little things, restaurant was supposed to open at 7 but could not get served until 8am, ran out of water one morning, bali salt crytals like shards of glass turning up in pureed baby food. Little things that could be easily fixed with good mgnt that cause real headaches when you have children. Oh yes, and when we arrived, there was absilutely no record of us coming. This resulted in a 3 hr wait for hour room etc.

Otherwise location wise, accomodation fantastic place. My husband would love to go back and so would I - they just need to get more of thee detail right AND the pool. Until these issues are resolved, and I hope they arem this place is best for surfers travelling without children.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dlg99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2011

I run a big longboard surf club in the uk and organise a surf trip every year, we have been visiting morocco for quite a few years but this time wanted warmer water.
We took 17 people in total and it was a big job to organise which was made easier by a sorting the flights through a travel agent friend locally.
the accomadation took some sorting especially with the group forever changing but we got there in the end.
the staff were fantastic and nothing was to much trouble, polite and very helpfull.
the pool needs a bit of attention, as i see it, it needs more maintenance and less chlorine blocks. but hey coming out of the sea and into a pool is a big bonus.
the food was superb and ok on the pocket,cold water showers were ok for most of us but the older guys wanted a hot shower now and again.
a few more fans in the bigger houses would be good and maybe a bit more lighting.
I was very impressed as a whole, it was my first trip to indo and loved it, we went water water rafting which was fantastic, a def must.
we visited kuta, not my cup of tea at all but worth the visit if never again.
As a whole i went to surf which i did plenty of at balian, i enjoyed the food , the storms and as a whole i slept like a log, the rooms were superb and the cleaners very thorough.
My daily routine went like this....
6am wake up and surf for a couple of hours.
breakfast and chill , afternoon surf , chill , shower , food and a few bintans.... sleep...
PERFECTION

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank normanwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tabanan
7.9 mi away
Soori Bali
Soori Bali
#2 of 13 in Tabanan
707 reviews
8.9 mi away
WakaGangga
WakaGangga
#1 of 13 in Tabanan
209 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pondok Pisces Bungalows
Pondok Pisces Bungalows
#17 of 58 in Tabanan
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Krisna Villa's Guest House
Krisna Villa's Guest House
#11 of 28 in Tabanan
10 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gajah Mina Beach Resort
Gajah Mina Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Selemadeg
189 reviews
0 mi away
Istana Balian
Istana Balian
#15 of 58 in Tabanan
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pondok Pitaya: Hotel, Surfing and Yoga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pondok Pitaya: Hotel, Surfing and Yoga

Address: Lalang Linggah, Balian River, Tabanan 82162, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Tabanan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Tabanan
Price Range: $62 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pondok Pitaya: Hotel, Surfing and Yoga 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balian Beach, Located in west Bali, 90 minutes drive north of Seminyak. Balian Beach: Pondok Pitaya Surfer Hotel is located on the edge of a natural volcanic black sand beach and beautiful cliff crafted by nature itself. The beach is perfect for long walks and has all year round waves for surfing. Many Yoga groups are starting to looking into Balian Beach as an alternative training spot other than Ubud. All rooms have been reconstructed from indigenous houses imported from Java, dating back to the 1930's. Rooms include twin share Surfer Suites and large houses that can sleep up to 8 people. One of the best place in Balian Beach for Surfing and Yoga.Experience a world of limitless adventure and sun-filled days in Balian ... where you can live out your dream of being a surfer or enjoy a family holiday with few rounds of ice cold Bintang beers. Sample the freshest Indonesian and Western cuisine. 45 min from the Tabanan Mountain area for a coffee plantation hike and fresh brewed Balinese Coffee. Or slip into a waking dream with clear sky, millions of stars blinking at night and accompanied by tropical sea breeze. Some say Pondok Pitaya is a hotel, but some say its home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Pondok Pitaya: Hotel, Surfing and Yoga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pondok Pitaya: Hotel, Surfing And Yoga Bali/Tabanan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing