We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome to Paradise!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bali Eco Stay Bungalows
Certificate of Excellence
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Welcome to Paradise!”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We couldn't believe we found such a marvelous place, where sustainability, "green living," and permaculture concepts are all being applied. Here is a way to the future, and we hope many more hotels will adopt this concept. The food was extraordinary; swimming in the creek was unbelievable, and from the massage in the outdoor hut, to Kedek's guiding us through the rice paddies, we had an unbelievable time. We cannot recommend this enough, and should we ever get back to Bali,, we will head for the hills to this place, right away!

Room Tip: Any of the bungalows is a magical place. We stayed in spring water, which is right next to the cree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susk201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    34
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
141
161
62
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tom Price
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed in Harvest which is the biggest bungalow and was perfect for our family of 4. The grounds were beautiful, and after recent rains, the waterfall was raging which was an amazing sight. The food was delicious with lovely fresh salads. The owner and staff were very friendly also. We enjoyed watching the squirrel who lived outside our bungalow build a nest up in the coconut palm. We also had fun catching fireflies with the kids at night. The hot stone massage was great. One small criticism we had was that the sheets felt damp when we got into bed at night. I really don't think there is any solution to this as the bungalow is open and with the wet season it probably near 100% humidity. Another criticism was the cost of a day trip at 800,000rupiah for 6 hours. Elsewhere we had been paying 500,000 rupiah for whole day trips up to 10 hours. Unfortunately I read the outdated guide in the restaurant and thought it was only 600,000 rupiah so was a bit disappointed that it was as much as it was. Also, I would suggest that the owners make it clear that the costing for activities is an hourly rate. When we booked our son in for wood carving we were shocked to find the final charge to be 450,000 rupiah for a 2 hour lesson, although the staff member happily obliged when we complained and reduced the price to 300,000. However we did love the place and would recommend it for anyone who loves nature. We loved the restaurant including its gorgeous views over the rice paddies and with its wide range of books. You have done well to create such a beautiful piece of paradise in an out of the way part of Bali. We will be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunstone55, Owner at Bali Eco Stay Bungalows, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review, we really appreciate your input and are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Yes, unfortunately at this time of year the sheets can be a little damp but as you probably noticed once you jump in after about 5 minutes they dry due to your body heat warming them up !
Your son spent over 3 hours working on his wood carving project with Kadek. Thanks to your feedback, we will now charge kids under 16 years,150,000 IDR for a 2 hour session.
800, 000 IDR is too much to pay for a 6 hour trip, however you requested and prepaid a full day tour (12 hours) prior to your departure (which is why you were charged 800,000 IDR). When you paid your account, we were unaware you were going to later decide to reduce this day tour to 6 hours.
We do charge a little more for our transfers because the last 30 minutes traveling in to, and first 30 out of Bali Eco Stay are over a very challenging road which is notorious for killing cars.
Thanks so much for your tips regarding tropical fruit trees. ( ROLLINIA DELICIOSA )
All the best and we hope to see you all again one day.
Warm regards,
John.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
404 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We were there in October for 3 nights and stayed in Little Padi. After looking at all of the bungalows as they were all unoccupied on one day, we decided Little Padi was perfect. Beautiful view of just the paddies, nice breeze and more off the pathway, so more private to a degree. The open air bathroom and shower was on the bottom floor beneath the bedroom area but the stairs, rock work, small rivers, ferns and landscaping made the quick walk downstairs quite lovely. From Little Padi, it was a quick walk down to the waterfall and natural rock pool where guests and locals cool off. At night, the sound of the insects and running streams below is wonderful but loud - once we turned off the lights, then leaving your windows open was pleasant.

For a family, Harvest with the two bedrooms was beautiful and had an equally impressive view of the paddies.

The staff was just wonderful to us and was helpful in advising us of things to do - we took off one day on our own walk and was accompanied by Sonic, a local pup who guided us the entire way thru a forest. He would look back at us periodically as if to say "hurry up folks" or "come this way, follow me".

The food was simple and nicely prepared as well as tasting great. It was customary to pick your next meal when finishing up the current meal. They did have beer, liquor and wine but the wine was definitely expensive.

We tried on one day to get a driver, but due to a wedding in the local village, the local drivers including some of the staff was unavailable. So be sure if you have something special that you want to do, make the arrangements in advance or you'll be unable to go anywhere. We loved staying there and really not going far as we had spent the last 2 weeks traveling all over Bali and Jakarta already. Yes the roads to get to Bali Eco Stay are really bumpy but the view is amazing and you really don't think that much about bumping along.

This is a very casual stay, no need for anything but shorts, t-shirts, bathing suit and sandals.

Room Tip: Little Padi was our favorite after peeking in all of them
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zinniaqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunstone55, Owner at Bali Eco Stay Bungalows, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to write us such a wonderful review and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
With regard to your comment on the expense of the alcohol unfortunately this is out of our control as Indonesia is a Muslim country so the government try's to discourage the consumption of alcohol by adding a 300% duty on it !
The local government in Bali has applied for an exemption as this duty really hurts the tourist industry here which by the way generates 10% of Indonesia GDP. We are not holding our breath that the exemption will be granted.
Local beer is $2.50 for a small bottle and a glass of wine $5.
Thanks so much for staying with us and hopefully we may have the chance to look after you again one day.
Kind regards,
John.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwickshire
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We booked a ten day stay with our yoga teacher to experience a yoga holiday ( not a retreat !) where we would be at one with nature . We couldn't have got any closer ! Geckos , I sects , the odd snake sneaked in an out if our rooms , to greater or lesser effect : after a while you stopped being alarmed and just gave in to it . This is not a resort for any kind of pre dinner cocktail dressing . Though a bottle if beer in the room became de rigeur after a few days ! Some groups apparently ask for the booze to be locked up ... We are more 'normal' and no one wore any hair shirts ! The resort
It's just ... Awesome . Lush forest , elegant rice Paddys .. Just looking out of your "window" each morning was a real exercise in amazement at just how beautiful the world is . Watching local farmers tending the fields and making their offerings each day is like something you'd see in national geographic .
It's nestled into the mountain with waterfalls all around . The noise at night us deafening - if you are a light sleeper take some good ear plugs . We couldn't quite believe the elevation of sound and when it rains .., oh my goodness .. The critters all shout above each other to be heard !
The food
The staff at the resort proved a fixed menu of food each day .. Largely veggie or chicken and its all delicious .. For example , one day we'd been for a paddy field walk ( the guides were the balinese drivers cum woodcarvers at the resort ) and as we walked we nibbled on forest ferns, snakeskin fruit ( tastes like pineapple ) lemon grass ... And when we got back for lunch we had tempeh and wild fern spring rolls ... Delicious ! The food is simple but fresh and beautifully presented .
Alcohol
They have wine and beer ... But be warned its very expensive .
The trips
They will take you wherever you want to go , but roads are very bad and everywhere takes forever . We went to the monkey forest at Sangeh ( hate monkeys but temple in which they live was interesting and deeply spiritual/ creepy .
We went to ibis which was a huge disappointment ... What a dump !! Ott with shops and what they think we want as westerners . The local market at Tabernan was more authentic ...with dried fish .. Fruits ... Cheap clothes and gifts .
We also went to the textile wholesales in Tabernan where you pay a little more but quality is far better .
Also went to a funeral . Yes that does found odd but we were welcomed to join the celebration of a life well lived into old age . The resort provided ceremonial sarongs and our yoga teacher and guides explained everything . Fabulous .
We went to the off shore temple at Tannah lot . V interesting and by this time , we were quite desperate for some sea air . Spectacular sunset towards Java ... Get there around 5 to ensure a great view - all the tour buses unload and it becomes quite crowded ..
Timing
We are in the rainy season and my only complaint is that the beds towels and clothes all felt v v damp . Everything smelled musty after only a day ... And getting into a damp bed is a but depressing . I'd really live to have been here when it was dry .
The people are lovely . The staff are charming and interesting . I'd definitely recommend a visit ... But bear in mind the remoteness . It really is !

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guernseygirl10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff.UK
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We travelled by car from Sanur,a 2 hour + journey.The last hour was along unmade roads and was consequently very bumpy and uncomfortable (not recommended for people with back trouble).
It is a lovely place,lots of stunning scenery and good walks...Staff wonderful and friendly...Food very good but evening meal must be ordered at lunchtime...After about 8.30 pm the place is dead..We stayed 5 nights but in our opinion 3 is ample.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joanslade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

I spent two wonderful nights in a charming bungalow overlooking the most beautiful rice terraces in an unspoilt corner of Bali. A brave and super Eco friendly couple have set up an environmentally aware and community beneficial lodge on the edge of the jungle and food forests. Most of the food is grown in their organic garden kitchen and is delicious. They have an organic rice paddy. The staff are all recruited from local villages so the money directly benefits the immediate communities. Waste water is recycled, electrics are maintained to a comfortable level whilst still keeping a low footprint. No AC but you have an open with a romantic mosquito net. Falling asleep with frogs singing and awaking to bird song is the reward. There is a waterfall and a natural swimming hole instead of a pool. Lots of classes and guided treks are possible. Carve a box, make a flute, learn the secrets of making coconut oil, have a massage or bike down to the beach through paddies and villages, all possible here. An amazing, tranquil place that respects both the environment and the people who live there. Wonderful!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Desi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elcho Island NT
2 reviews
Reviewed November 2, 2013

When I got to Bali Eco Stay I realized I needed a holiday from the holiday. It is so peaceful and relaxing here, a great place for walking and appreciating how the Balinese tend their land. Swimming in the rock pools under the waterfall. Buddha Bungalow keeps you serenaded with the sound of the river for excellent sleeping, the food is great and so is the library. With the bungalows spread out over whole site there is a feeling of real calm and privacy. John, Cath and all the staff make you very welcome and have many suggestions on things to do. Definitely a place to return to, next time I’ll stay longer and have some walks on the upside of the mountain.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tabanan
10.1 mi away
Soori Bali
Soori Bali
#1 of 14 in Tabanan
674 reviews
14.0 mi away
Luxe Villas Bali
Luxe Villas Bali
#1 of 196 in Ubud
247 reviews
17.4 mi away
The Damai
The Damai
#1 of 23 in Lovina Beach
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.8 mi away
Kayumanis Jimbaran Private Estate & Spa
18.2 mi away
The Kunja Villas & Spa
The Kunja Villas & Spa
#1 of 146 in Seminyak
726 reviews
21.0 mi away
The Royal Purnama Art Suites & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bali Eco Stay Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bali Eco Stay Bungalows

Property: Bali Eco Stay Bungalows
Address: Kemetug, Kanciana, Tabanan 82113, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Tabanan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Tabanan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the slopes of Mount Batukaru, Central Bali, you’ll find one of Bali’s best-kept secrets, a hidden eco-paradise only known by few but loved by many. If you’re lucky enough to nab one of Bali Eco Stay’s seven cozy bungalows, you’re sure to experience natural luxury like no other. On this vast owner-run and operated estate, guests are treated like family, personally welcomed and re-welcomed by the thoughtful founders and caretakers alike. Bali Eco Stay offers exciting experiences for guests of all ages, with plenty cultural and outdoor activities to enjoy. From traditional kite making to trekking in lush Balinese rice terraces, it is the perfect place to unwind and reconnect with nature. The best part is, you won’t have to go far; the resort’s land is like no other. Just minutes from your doorstep is a private waterfall where you can bathe, undisturbed, in the pure spring waters of Mount Batukaru. Wander the property and you’ll find charming bales nestled by the riverbank, a natural swimming pool, serene spa, and Bali Eco Stay’s very own Food Forest, teasing your appetite for the delicious meal ahead. Chef Minni’s home cooking is a thing of art, combining locally-grown organic ingredients with a touch of Balinese flair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bali Eco Stay Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bali Eco Stay Rice Water Bungalows Hotel Tabanan
Bali Eco Stay Bungalows Tabanan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing