We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is what a holiday should be about”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bali Eco Stay Bungalows
Certificate of Excellence
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This is what a holiday should be about”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

As soon as we arrived at Bali Eco Stay our 7 year old son (a city boy) was running wild around the streams and rice fields and just could not get enough of it. My wife was freaked out and was not saying much. Her attention was drawn to the lack of windows and the proximity to wildlife - mainly concerns about mosquitos at night (one bite in 3 nights between 3 of us!).
We ordered some lunch and went up to the restaurant. It has some of the most stunning views that I have ever seen and my wife suddenly started to relax when she was that everything was clean and well looked after.
The food was incredible for every meal - home grown organic food, cooked fresh and very skillfully by Mini and her team.
All of the staff were very friendly and helpful at all times - really cannot fault them.
Our son did kite making and enjoyed running across the rice fields flying it.
We did some walks, swims in the pool and some massages. Lots of playing cards, reading, drinking and eating.
After 3 nights here we all felt completely relaxed and the stresses of work and every day life seemed very distant. I was concerned that we would be bored after 3 nights but could have easily stayed for a few more nights and just explored more.
John and his family have cut out a very unique lifestyle for themselves here and one that I envy them for. It must continue to be hard work but from the perspective of a visitor it is incredibly idylic.

Room Tip: If there are more than 2 of you then get a family bungalow - we stayed in Spring Water for 2 nights...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    33
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
135
158
60
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 10, 2013

I spent 2 nights (next time will be longer!!) in the RiceWater bungalow, with my mum, sister and nephew (11) in July. I had arranged the pick up (it's a must, as the road is bumpy for the latter part, though v.scenic). Upon arrival we were met by Minnie (resident chef) and the pleasant welcome set the tone for a relaxed, respectful and carefree stay in the Rice paddies.
This place really needs to be seen to be believed. The tranquility is rejuvenating and it is the ideal place to take things back to basics and relax.
My mum and sister took part in the traditional offerings activity, my nephew made a flute and I did the wood carving activity, we all really enjoyed observing the skills in practice and spending time with some of the locals.
On our last day we all had a massage before leaving and used the eco stay taxi to head off (reluctantly).
Minnie's food was fantastic throughout our stay and the service from the staff was faultless. All very capable of communicating (English) and we enjoyed chatting with them.
This is the first time any of us had stayed in any such place, but it's definitely been an eye opener and a unique way to relax and unwind. If you are looking for a rejuvenating time away from the hustle and bustle, Bali Eco stay is the place to do it.

Room Tip: We had the Rice water bungalow, which catered for 4of us. One double and twin beds. Open views acros...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tugun, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I spent a week at Baliecostay in June this year by myself. I stayed in the Buddha Bungalow beside the stream which lulled me to sleep at night. Each bungalow is different and unique so whatever you are looking for, you will find here. The staff were very friendly and happy to help, food fresh, organic and very tasty! If you want to practise your yoga, the Yoga Bale set among the trees is amazing. There's plenty to do each day, and the afternoons can be spent lying on your daybed reading, snoozing, or just relaxing. Take my advice and spend more than a few days there, it will be a wonderful experience you will never forget and never stop telling your friends about.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CathyKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Thank you dear Blundstone-Family and staff for four wonderfull days on a magic and blessed spot in Bali. We were so impressed by this perfect harmonic place. We would never expect such a high standard in accomodation and eating on such an "end of the world-place". We were very thankfull that Cath and John gave us so much attention and time to explain the Ecostay, the complex System and the love to so many details.
Our two boys (6 and 8) were mearely soaking off the freedom, space and serenity of BES, it was heartwarming to see how they enjoied this natural place.
We wish you all the best and keep up with this every-Rupia- worth-Lodge. Give grandfather and all the members of your friendly staff a big hug. Thank you very much for your efforts to provide families like us with such a wonderfull experience.

Sincerly Martina & Family from Singapore

Room Tip: We stayed in Harvest the view over the ricepadis is unforgettable, you have 100% privacy and an once...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This was the most serene, tranquil spot I have been during my stay in Bali. I was surprised by the intimate feeling at this place even at full capacity. I loved to sleep with the sounds of the jungle and wake up with the sounds of birds singing!
One of the best parts of my stay was the food. I always had meals with a view of the rice paddies on down to the ocean. It was absolutely wonderful.
I get to know some very interesting people while visiting the village. The owners have been very careful in keeping everything in perfect shapeThanks to the friendly staff, especially Kedek for being such a wonderful guide.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melburn000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This was by far our favorite place to stay in Bali, not only for the stunning location but also for the magnificent, rustic and beautiful cabins that are nestled in this natural wonderland. The owner allowed us to stay for 1 night (normally a 2 night minimum) which was our last night and favorite night of our trip. The bungalow was perfect and beautifully rustic. We were in the Springwater Bungalow which was situated right next to the stream from the natural spring where water was tumbling over rocks making the most beautiful and therapeutic sound as it rushed past our open air oasis. The sound was like water therapy lulling us to sleep and greeting us in the morning. The food was absolutely delicious at each and every meal, and so healthy. We had the chance to meet both of the owners who were extremely friendly and welcoming. The bed was comfortable, and all the little touches in the cabin (a hot thermos of water for tea, candles, mosquito coils & incense) made the bungalow a perfect retreat. I would highly recommend Bali Eco Stay to anyone and everyone going to Bali for relaxing and also for adventure. There are lots of activities to partake in. The surrounding area is stunning, having got the chance to do 2 big walks while we were there, and there are many longer hikes you can do if you plan ahead. Also I must say that the waterfall on the property is breathtaking and to have the opportunity to spend the morning there on our last day in Bali was truly a special and memorable experience.
I cannot say enough about this property, you will just have to check it out yourself.
I will say that the road to get there is an adventure in itself, but worth every bump for the chance to experience this special place.
Thanks again for your hospitality, we will be back again!! Hopefully Soon!! :)
Candice & Dion

Room Tip: All the bungalows looked amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Candice_ODonnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We spent 3 weeks holidaying around Bali and stayed 4 nights at Bali Eco Stay. It was most definitely the highlight of out trip, an amazing experience. The environment was incredible and the accommodation was so thoughtfully constructed and outfitted they we were able to feel the natural beauty without sacrificing our creature comforts. The food was a delicious fusion of Balinese and vegetarian cuisine. Some of the best we had in Bali. The services offered by John, Cath, Agung, Minnie and their team reflect the ethos of the resort. Making coconut oil in a Balinese home was my favourite. Our family, including the 3 teenagers, highly recommend Bali Eco Stay for a Balinese experience. We would love to return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pippa5125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tabanan
10.1 mi away
Soori Bali
Soori Bali
#1 of 14 in Tabanan
655 reviews
14.1 mi away
Luxe Villas Bali
Luxe Villas Bali
#1 of 198 in Ubud
221 reviews
17.4 mi away
The Damai
The Damai
#1 of 23 in Lovina Beach
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Sarinbuana Eco Lodge
Sarinbuana Eco Lodge
#4 of 53 in Tabanan
294 reviews
17.4 mi away
The Sanctoo Villa
The Sanctoo Villa
#1 of 48 in Gianyar
171 reviews
15.0 mi away
Beingsattvaa
Beingsattvaa
#2 of 542 in Ubud
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bali Eco Stay Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bali Eco Stay Bungalows

Property: Bali Eco Stay Bungalows
Address: Kemetug, Kanciana, Tabanan 82113, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Tabanan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Tabanan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the slopes of Mount Batukaru, Central Bali, you’ll find one of Bali’s best-kept secrets, a hidden eco-paradise only known by few but loved by many. If you’re lucky enough to nab one of Bali Eco Stay’s seven cozy bungalows, you’re sure to experience natural luxury like no other. On this vast owner-run and operated estate, guests are treated like family, personally welcomed and re-welcomed by the thoughtful founders and caretakers alike. Bali Eco Stay offers exciting experiences for guests of all ages, with plenty cultural and outdoor activities to enjoy. From traditional kite making to trekking in lush Balinese rice terraces, it is the perfect place to unwind and reconnect with nature. The best part is, you won’t have to go far; the resort’s land is like no other. Just minutes from your doorstep is a private waterfall where you can bathe, undisturbed, in the pure spring waters of Mount Batukaru. Wander the property and you’ll find charming bales nestled by the riverbank, a natural swimming pool, serene spa, and Bali Eco Stay’s very own Food Forest, teasing your appetite for the delicious meal ahead. Chef Minni’s home cooking is a thing of art, combining locally-grown organic ingredients with a touch of Balinese flair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Bali Eco Stay Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bali Eco Stay Rice Water Bungalows Hotel Tabanan
Bali Eco Stay Bungalows Tabanan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing