We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bali Eco Stay Bungalows
Nearby Hotels
De Moksha Boutique Resort(Tabanan)(Great Value!)
$82
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Puri Taman Sari(Tabanan)(Great Value!)
$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Natya Hotel Tanah Lot(Tabanan)(Great Value!)
$38
$33
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
WakaGangga(Tabanan)(Great Value!)
$190
$124
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$18
$17
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Amarta Retreat(Tabanan)(Great Value!)
$70
$45
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Soori Bali(Tabanan)
$535
$456
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Istana Balian(Tabanan)(Great Value!)
$38
$31
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (538)
Filter reviews
538 results
Traveler rating
489
39
7
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
489
39
7
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspring waterbuddha bungalowharvest bungalowrice water bungalowrice paddiesbasket weavingpermaculture gardenself guided walksreading lightslittle buddhamountain streamcooking classsound of running watermassage balefrom scratchfood forestlocal community
Filter
Updating list...
327 - 332 of 538 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

I've been traveling for 3 months and have done 2 different yoga retreats. I have never felt more relaxed than I did at Bali Eco stay. The facilities, the food, the staff, the views are all done to perfection. Being in nature like this allows you to just truly find yourself. I only stayed 2 nights but would have loved to stay longer. I highly recommend this little jem to anyone who comes to Bali.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morgan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in the rice water bungalow which has stunning views over the rice fields. John and Cath have an amazing place tucked away in the jungle about 2 hours away from the airport. If you are looking for peace, nature and tranquility off the beaten track then this is the place to be. Plenty of hiking and exploring to do in the surrounding area or if you just wish to lounge in the comfy common area to read a book then you found the right place. There is even free wifi, but then again, you should really be switching off.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blubot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We had been to Bali before and stayed on the coast and in Ubud, and were this time keen to try an ecologically focused place a little further out. We were delighted with our decision to pay a premium for a rare experience and a carefully crafted approach to work in tune with nature and the local community. The location is simply spectacular, the food is nourishing and the attention to detail in design and service lures your mind to the place where it should really be - namely where you are in the forests of Tabanan.

Highlights included the tour of the Eco-stay garden by our generous host John and a forest tour by a local guide who shared with us intimate and detailed knowledge of his family's land and the local plant biology.

I was also impressed by the collaborative relationship between Eco-Stay and the nearby Sarinbuana Eco-lodge to support local communities by providing employment and establishing educational initiatives with local children.

The only downside (not the Eco-stay's fault) is that the Bali traffic seems to be getting worse every year, and with more and more bungalows going up in the paddies along the way to Tabanan, you should allow ample time to get to and from the airport. In sum, it's a place we'll always remember and we'll definitely be going back there with family and friends.

Mark and Alva

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark298184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

This was our second stay here and I can say that it was as perfect as last year. This time we brought two friends with us. one shared the harvest bungalow with us and the other stayed in spring water. Although we were there during a wet and rainy time, and therefore not able to undertake some of the many walks, we indulged ourselves in great food, meditation, yoga and the spa. Again, the staff and owners of Eco stay were, as ever, over indulgent to our requests. We would love to return yet again when it is a little drier and not so many "bities" around. Complimentary Eco bug spray and smoke sticks are provided, which do keep the little irritants at bay.

Room Tip: All rooms are very comfortable and traditionally furnished, offering variety for the different budgets and numbers in a group
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The four night stay was amazing; Bali is an annual pilgrimage for us. Ecostay is very different from the commercialised resorts. We were able to zone out without being totally cut off - wifi24/7 if you want it. The lodges were wonderful, food has no equal; living without air con or fans challenging but easy to adapt to. John and staff were great; no pressure & complete tranquility-frogs and chitchats aside:-) Being ex teachers, highlight for us was spending time with the yr 4-6 English class. The walks were marvellous (Ash and Buddha-resident canines- always ready to go too!) and massages the best. Left totally relaxed & will return next year. Hey John where's the fitness centre?

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 330Jan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews