We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The real Bali, a peaceful tresure high up in the mountains.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bali Eco Stay Bungalows
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The real Bali, a peaceful tresure high up in the mountains.”
Reviewed November 14, 2011

To John and Family, thankyou so much for your hospitality. What you have created at rice water bungalows is truly special. I travel extensively and there is not to many other places in the world that compare to the peace and tranquility of your property. I truly respect your vision and commitment to community development, it's a hard job but the rewards will enderver.

Now people yes the road to get there is long and bumpy but stick with it because what awaits you is; great bungalows, clean fresh mountain water that you can drink from the tap, spectacular views, yummy food, great service and plenty of relaxation. I spent my 5 days wonder through villages and rice terraces. If your wanting to just relax and unwind you will not regret staying at this hidden gem.

I can't wait to find the time to come back one day soon. Sonia

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Indygo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    33
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
138
159
60
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2011

Sorry John for this late review. A bit of a procrastination on my part. We travelled in June 2011 from Canada to Indonesia for a family reunion and this was a stop for just the 2 of us, and still speak about our time there. As previous travelers I relied on the web site. What you see on the site is what you see in real life. Again the road to Bali Eco Stay is a trip on it's own, but the reward when you arrived is worth the bumps and shakes. John, Hewey and Mimie and the tour guides and staff were luar biasa (extraordinary). All was what we needed, a beautiful relaxing calm environment from the busy Indonesia traffic and from work. Thanks and hope to go back again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ottawa1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

I stayed with a friend at the Bali Eco Stay in early October for 3 days. The booking was based solely on their website, and from the get go, they were responsive and friendly in our initial transaction. They arranged transport to and from the lodge for us, which made it extremely easy. Once we arrived, we immediately fell in love with the beauty and tranquility of the surroundings. We stayed in the *huge* Harvest Bungalow so we each had our own wing and large common area between the bedrooms. Everything was perfect, right down to the small stream flowing just outside the front down. We could even watch the local rice farmers working in their fields immediately outside of the bungalow. The furnishings were gorgeous, the bathrooms blew me away (live orchids on the walls), and the cleanliness was impeccable.

John, Kath and their son Hewey were a delight. They all made us feel welcome and showed us around the place, explained all the wonderful projects they are doing both on the property and in the local communities. I was thoroughly impressed. John even took us up the road to a neighboring eco-lodge to meet the folks at Sarinbuana who inspired them and helped them design the lodge and fulfill their dream.

There are plenty of activities, including cooking classes with Minnie (you make your own lunch!), rice paddy walks (make sure to take the guided ones!), massage and a number of other things that we just didn't have time to do ourselves, many which involved the local communities.

If you head out on your own for a walk, make sure to talk to John before you go and get explicit directions! We got lost one day and ended up miles away, but between friendly locals and the staff at the lodge, we made our way back safe and sound. I was impressed by the kindness of the local villagers.

This was truly a relaxing place to stay, far from the tourist scene of Ubud or the beaches in the south. Its remote, but worth every bump in the road to get there. Also great for families. There were other children staying there and they had plenty of games and activities for children, plus a lovely natural spring pool and waterfall!

For the quality of the visit, well worth every penny. Imagine yourselves falling asleep with the sound of water and frogs, and go there now!

Room Tip: We saw each bungalow, and each was unique and beautiful, but the Harvest Bungalow was absolutely eno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2011

We just spent 2 nights at Bali Eco Stay and it was the highlight of our 2 weeks in Bali. The staff are kind, the location is magical and we will be returning again next year.

The food is healthy and fresh and the rooms are lovely, with everything you might need. Due to the very clever landscape design we didn't even find mosquitos were a problem. However there was a symphony of frogs in the evenings! Took a little while to get accustomed to, and we slept very well. Our 4.5 year old son also enjoyed the adventure and swimming in the river. It is a great place for kids

Room Tip: Try the river view bungalow. Perfect location, shared bathroom with two rooms, so great for mum and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellalaval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 10, 2011

What a delight to discover this piece of unspoilt paradise. Set up high in the mountains behind Tabanan, Bali Eco Stay is refreshing and revitalising. A choice of bungalows to suit singles, couples or families, my daughter and I shared their most modest bungalow (still quite luxurious), situated beside a a fresh mountain stream. Every little detail had been thought of to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable. The air is fresh, and the food is delicious mostly grown organically onsite. We enjoyed wonderful massage, lovely walks and wished we had the extra days so we could do a bike ride down to Balian Beach. The staff were helpful and friendly and the owner, Johnny and Cath Blundstone made us feel welcome and pampered. I cant wait to get back.

Room Tip: They are all delightful
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jillian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2011

I hestitate to write this review for selfish reasons. Why? Because I want to keep it a secret! Situated on the southern slopes of Mt Batakaru, in remotest Bali, this place is a pocket of paradise, far removed from the ravages of the 21st century. Having spent a week there I did not want to leave.
John and Cath Blundstone have sensitively created a spectacular retreat. Bamboo and timber bungalows unobtrusively nestle in the folds of rice fields. Each spacious lodge is individually designed to fit in with the contours of the valley,stylish and furnished with glorious Balinese furniture and huge canopied beds.
The sound of trickling water,croaking frogs, twittering birds and the occasional chattering gecko are all that invade the deafening silence. There is no TV or radio, though internet access is available (if you must)! The views down the remote valley are breathtaking, the shades of green ever changing as the clouds scud across the sky. This place gives you time to reflect, recharge your batteries, refresh your mind; time to read a book, sketch or paint; time to wander or rest and enjoy a sublime massage.
If you want to be alone you can be,its very private. But if you fancy a trip out, John is more than happy to advise and arrange this. Ambling up to the restaurant three times a day is done with eager anticipation. Using locally sourced food from the kitchen garden and surrounding jungle Mini and her team prepare enticing dishes to suit all tastes.
By creating this retreat, John has provided job opportunities for the neighbouring villagers who are delighted to welcome their visitors. Everyone has a genuine smile and, if you wish, they will happily show and share with you their customs and way of life.
This is responsible tourism at its best. It is satisfying to know that part of the holiday cost is ploughed back into local ventures. John is stocking the new school library and funding additional staff to teach Balinese dancing and gamelan. The children embrace education with eager excitement, its very humbling.
There is nothing negative I can say about Rice water Bungalows except it is half the world away from the UK. It is a truly delightful place and a life changing experience.

Room Tip: All are fabulous it depends on the size of your party
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daphne6621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

I have never been moved to write a review before...and to be honest, Bali was not on my list to revisit after last time staying in a luxury resort where waste poured into the local streams and the locals were not considered in these off-shore run businesses. This was a "real holiday" in the truest sense of the word and worth spreading the word about. If you want eat out somewhere different or blitz the shops daily, then this place is not for you. (though we did trip off to Ubud for a couple of days mid stay and got a dose of retail).
We were lucky to stay in 3 different bungalows during 2 weeks at Bali Eco Stay - and each time I decided that "this is the most beautiful yet!". Besides living in authentic but comfortable bungalows with contemporary touches and exquisite open bathrooms replete with orchids and ferns, the highlight for me (besides not having to cook a single meal for 2 weeks!) were the opportunities to visit locals - I learnt to make extra virgin coconut oil (which one can do if one has a surplus of coconuts), make offerings with exquisite cut and folded palm leaves with Made and cook Balinese food with Mini. My husband learnt traditional carving with young talented Kedek and our son Finn (8) joined Huey in day long adventures and loved being a part of Hueys home school in the mornings...then running wild through the (resting) rice paddies and cleaning up in the river...

I also read 4 books and walked the surrounding countryside daily (including getting delightfully lost)...for me it doesn't get much better than that.

Room Tip: The Harvest bungalow is great for a family...but though smaller Little Paddy is divine and Buddha bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greengirl1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tabanan
10.1 mi away
Soori Bali
Soori Bali
#1 of 14 in Tabanan
666 reviews
14.0 mi away
Luxe Villas Bali
Luxe Villas Bali
#1 of 198 in Ubud
232 reviews
17.4 mi away
The Damai
The Damai
#1 of 23 in Lovina Beach
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
The Royal Purnama Art Suites & Villas
15.0 mi away
Beingsattvaa
Beingsattvaa
#2 of 554 in Ubud
209 reviews
10.7 mi away
WakaGangga
WakaGangga
#2 of 14 in Tabanan
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bali Eco Stay Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bali Eco Stay Bungalows

Property: Bali Eco Stay Bungalows
Address: Kemetug, Kanciana, Tabanan 82113, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Tabanan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Tabanan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the slopes of Mount Batukaru, Central Bali, you’ll find one of Bali’s best-kept secrets, a hidden eco-paradise only known by few but loved by many. If you’re lucky enough to nab one of Bali Eco Stay’s seven cozy bungalows, you’re sure to experience natural luxury like no other. On this vast owner-run and operated estate, guests are treated like family, personally welcomed and re-welcomed by the thoughtful founders and caretakers alike. Bali Eco Stay offers exciting experiences for guests of all ages, with plenty cultural and outdoor activities to enjoy. From traditional kite making to trekking in lush Balinese rice terraces, it is the perfect place to unwind and reconnect with nature. The best part is, you won’t have to go far; the resort’s land is like no other. Just minutes from your doorstep is a private waterfall where you can bathe, undisturbed, in the pure spring waters of Mount Batukaru. Wander the property and you’ll find charming bales nestled by the riverbank, a natural swimming pool, serene spa, and Bali Eco Stay’s very own Food Forest, teasing your appetite for the delicious meal ahead. Chef Minni’s home cooking is a thing of art, combining locally-grown organic ingredients with a touch of Balinese flair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bali Eco Stay Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bali Eco Stay Rice Water Bungalows Hotel Tabanan
Bali Eco Stay Bungalows Tabanan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing