We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Puri Taman Sari
Nearby Hotels
Natya Hotel Tanah Lot(Tabanan)(Great Value!)
$39
$36
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Luku Boutique Villa & Gallery(Tabanan)(Great Value!)
$73
$62
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Taman di Blayu(Tabanan)(Great Value!)
$70
$59
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Sanyas Retreat(Tabanan)(Great Value!)
$76
$38
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Aura Shanti Retreat & Villa(Tabanan)(Great Value!)
$17
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Bali Mountain Retreat(Tabanan)(Great Value!)
$32
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Istana Balian(Tabanan)(Great Value!)
$43
$37
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Prana Dewi Mountain Resort(Tabanan)(Great Value!)
$40
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Soori Bali(Tabanan)
$604
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
WakaGangga(Tabanan)(Great Value!)
$168
$147
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (186)
Filter reviews
186 results
Traveler rating
76
85
17
6
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
76
85
17
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming poolreception areabalinese experienceoverlooking the rice paddiesgorgeous settingshower and toiletlight sleepermonkey forestair conditioningoutdoor bathroombreakfast was includednatural environmentauthentic balibalinese stylevillage lifestayed nightstanah lot
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 186 reviews
Reviewed February 8, 2012

quiet, Authentic, balinese hotel. i'm right now at padma resort legian-paying Five times the cost of puri taman sari, and wish i was back!!!!

my daughter and i stayed in a rice patty view room. from sunrise, you see the gorgeous green fields and watch locals plant on the terraces. you are in a rural village. ssooo much better than staying at a huge, fancy resort or in a large tourist filled city. the hotel was a royal residence and the grounds are lovely and authentic. ceremonies are held on site. there was a wedding one evening. we were able to enjoy the festivities, dances, and traditional music.

food-excellent and inexpensive. staff-friendly and helpful. rooms- my daughter loved the comfy bed covered by canopy net and called it her princess bed. outdoor show-clean, warm. great to shower under the stars. daybed overlooking the fields. small but very nice infinity pool.

i can't believe so few tripdvisor users have reviewed this place. it is a hiddn gem

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chioual
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2011

Puri Taman Sari is a beautiful resort of a few dozen rooms outside the village of Menguwi, in the foothills near Tabanan. This area is quieter than the mad tourist hotspots of Kuta and Seminyak, and much the better for it. We stayed in a "deluxe" villa, a short walk away from the main complex with a view of the rice paddies. It had the luxury feel of a much more expensive resort. The room is large and comfortable with powerful air-conditioning, the ensuite bathroom is open to the air and very nice. You have your own private verandah with day-bed and couch, and a private path to the swimming pool. The restaurant in the main courtyard has a selection of Indonesian and western food, all very reasonably priced ($US3 - 7 per meal) and very good quality. The friendly and helpful staff can arrange a variety of tours and day trips.

We almost wished we were staying longer than two nights - it is certainly a very comfortable way to spend one's time, at least if you are happy to have a low-key and relaxing holiday. Some travellers might find Menguwi a little too relaxed - there is no shopping nearby and to do any sightseeing you really need to hire a bike or scooter. But this was not a problem for us - we were happy to put our feet up for a bit!

One small criticism is that the free wi-fi didn't have a strong enough signal to reach our villa, but there were plenty of comfortable places to log in from in the main complex, so it wasn't a problem.

All in all, we loved it. Highly recommended if you don't mind paying a little extra for a lot more value.

Room Tip: The rice paddy villas are excellent value - private and luxurious!
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank southaussie84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

We have just spent 4 nights at this lovely place, a former royal palace, situated away from any town and uncontaminated by the commercialism of the resort hotspots. Walk to villages through rice fields where you will find people very welcoming. We attended a temple rededication ceremony in Bajare, a tiny village in walking distance and were look after by locals. A very special experience. There's always something happening at this hotel. Dances performed by local villagers are frequent. We got an excellent deal using Tripadvisor 'find the best price' online facility.

Room Tip: We had room 17 which was great.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Weekendaway07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Unique hotel, which was a former royal palace. Typical architecture of Balinese homes, with different bungalows and even a temple (the days we were there, we met a few women making offerings for the ceremony to come)
beautiful relaxing place, with harmonious decoration. The hotel is ideally located in a very quiet area in the countryside, 15 min drive to Tabana. It is surrounded by rice paddies, which makes the stay "sooo Bali"!
We had a deluxe room, small and simple, but quite nice, with a lot of fresh flowers to welcome us. The bathroom is very original, as it is outside, in your small private garden. Charming and definitely different to have shower right under the sun!
Private Villas seem great, and have direct access to the nice swimming pool, with view on the rice fields and coconut trees.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank trt1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2011

It was finally above my expectations, knowing that the price is very low around 45-50 usd, can not get the same level as in south.
However, the room was very basic, (no tv) but balinese style, well decorated but kept simple, loved the usual outside bathroom with the shower.
It was for a night, therefore a short break in this hotel during our diving week end, the spa is very good and reasonable price, restaurant too.
Finally, this hotel is not showing or trying to be higher than it is, and simply offering what it has, and you enjoy the peace in this hotel which is right on the beach.
Menjangan is very good location, far from the south and the mass touristics beaches and attractions, very high recommended place to go for a break or enjoy the scene, moutains, and surroundings, the dives are splendid, for sure we will be back !

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gaidjin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews