We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“seriously good”
Review of Soori Bali

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Soori Bali
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Tabanan
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
1 review
“seriously good”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

I'm a grumpy bloke, don't EVER have time to get on to these sites, but my experience at Alila Soori was so absurdly good, i just had to share it. Wont go in to the details but I have stayed for business and with family in some of the very best hotels on the planet, Alila Soori is right up there. Yes, of course the rooms and facilities are world class but the service from Stephen the German manager was pitch perfect - attentive but not too personal, pre-emptive without hovering, obliging but not fawning - spot on.
Next time to Bali, I simply wouldn't risk my stay with anyone but Stephen and his team.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scott t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    512
    104
    37
    6
    7
See reviews for
141
406
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014

This was my first experience with luxury travel and I loved every aspect of this villa and resort. Warm, bespoke personal service, beautiful remote location and a gorgeous villa with a cerulean infinity pool.

The black sand beach was magical to walk along in the morning and even though all 48 villas were full that week, we almost seemed to never meet any other couples during our stay, so it felt like we had the whole place to ourselves.

Also loved the little details like the bed turn down service, the tailor made amenity kits for men and women, good branding of the Alila line of products, and having the general manager greet us when we arrived and touching base again just before we left. The breakfast menu changed everyday too! They even looked for us to confirm our departure arrangement instead of us having to call or go to reception to confirm things. Even the complimentary airport transfer was unique, where the car was fitted with mineral water, cool towels and snacks and there was a resort member of staff to escort us right to the immigration!

I'm tempted to give this place 5 stars rating, but like my partner says, there is always room for improvement. First up, we were upgraded to a larger 3-bedroom residence, and while the pool and villa was gorgeous, a thing or two niggled my companion (while I remained wowed like anything).

If you want to read a more in-depth coverage of this place and some of the spots in Bali (with good photos), refer to the two blog posts below.

http://fatboo.com/2014/05/alila-soori-seminyak-mama-san-bali.html
http://fatboo.com/2014/05/bali-alila-soori-uluwatu-karma-kandara.html

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fatboo o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zhuhai, China
1 review
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Staffs were so nice, villa room was perfect with a nice indoor pool, food was great and matched very well. Only the location is a little bit far from our business zone, however the hotel transfer was very helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Li Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

My kind of holiday! We went to Alila Uluwatu and Alila Soori, and we can't help it to think that Soori is better than Uluwatu. Right by the ocean, great view from the bedroom, long empty black sand beach to walk...magical.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Emy94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Just spent sometime at this hotel. Getting there is a bit of a drive but one can really experience Bali and it's sites and village feel along the journey. Make sure you look out of the window rather than reading a book or magazine.

The resort is sprawling and really Velda with its environment. Even the could of the buildings make them blend with the black sand and the deep green foliage.

The resort is built using local materials and reflect the amazing craft and diversity of creative use of what can be found in the area. The designer the hotel, simplicity, minimalist if, stylish, artwork that reflect the true spirit of bali, attention to detail right to design of the staff uniforms.
the villas are very comfortable and with their own pool. And easy to live in. Intact one does not need to leave the villa for anything. Having said that Sometime privacy can be an issue.

Last evening we took a walk on the beach. The sand was softer than soft. Just like walking on powder. It had a great therapeutic feel. There is a bat cave at one end of the beach and that becomes a spectical every evening as 100s of little bats fly out at sunset.

The food is good, considering it is a remote location. Presentation very nice, taste good, restaurant and bar experience overall an A. Breakfast has small bites that you can order much and as many times. Not a huge selection but whatever comes to the table is very good.

Over all a very real axing and renewing experience. Will definitely recommend and come back again for a dose of renewal.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Infopal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

In a nutshell the Alila Soori is an all round exceptional experience. The quality of the accommodation, the service, the food and the setting make for a brilliant stay. I don't normally 'gush' but I spent a fantastic, restorative week at the Alila.

The service is excellent. The GM is clearly a perfectionist and has instilled a similar attitude in her team. All the staff are friendly, professional but discrete. You never feel uncomfortable as the recipient of what was some of the best service I have ever experienced. This extends to the restaurants which offer up excellent food. The Indonesia menu is really good as is the international menu. Excellent fresh fish.

The villas are beautiful. The architect clearly gave the design a lot of thought. First and foremost each villa has been designed with privacy in mind. There is nowhere where you are overlooked. Each villa has its own private pool overlooking the ocean. There is a cabana to the side of the pool which means you can sit in the shade enjoying the view and the sound of the surf. Inside the villas are spacious and extremely comfortable. There's an enormous bedroom, sitting area and office as well as separate bath and shower rooms. You can lie in the bath and watch the waves rolling in. The villa I stayed in had excellent wifi speed and a pretty good film library (on-demand).

Overall the resort has been brilliantly designed. The reception and the lobby are at the top of the hill and you descend down to the villa located just above the beach. The open air bar and restaurants, as well as the library (pretty good selection of books) and pool are on the same level as the villas. The result is that you don't really feel like you are in a resort. The pool overlooks the beach and is big enough to actually exercise in if swimming is your thing.

The property is located about 45mins from Seminyak. So to be clear this can be a little time consuming to get to other restaurants/bars. However, if you tend to go out after 8pm the traffic is much reduced and the journey time less than 30 mins. All in all a minor inconvenience given the benefits of staying at the Alila.

The property is adjacent to a wide black volcanic sand beach. The beach is not an ideal swimming beach as there are strong rip currents. However, it is fantastic for a long walk down the coast. The Alila also has mountain bikes that you can use to explore. Proximity to the beach means you can always hear the relaxing sound of the surf from your individual villa which adds to experience.

There's a good gym and spa. The gym is small but has enough cardio machines for a good workout. The spa is lovely and has a good range of treatments.

Room Tip: Go for an 'upstairs' villa overlooking the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JalanJalanUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

We had a fantastic stay here. The ocean view villa was incredible, we never felt the need to leave, unless it was to get a massage. Would definitely go back. Cons: a bit remote so really can only eat at the hotel. And we asked for the full butler service which was a bit too full on...keeping us company at dinner etc

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sheilja P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tabanan
9.9 mi away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#4 of 145 in Seminyak
1,771 reviews
9.5 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#19 of 145 in Seminyak
3,284 reviews
19.4 mi away
Alila Villas Uluwatu
Alila Villas Uluwatu
#1 of 8 in Uluwatu
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#7 of 145 in Seminyak
1,513 reviews
9.7 mi away
Alila Seminyak
Alila Seminyak
#22 of 145 in Seminyak
902 reviews
16.3 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#8 of 198 in Ubud
1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soori Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soori Bali

Property: Soori Bali
Address: Kpg. Dukuh | Kerambitan, Tabanan 82111, Indonesia (Formerly Alila Villas Soori)
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Tabanan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Tabanan
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tabanan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Soori Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the edge of the ocean between the Batu Karu Mountain and terraced rice fields, Soori Bali is a hidden refuge, rejuvenating and peaceful; it is Bali as it should be. Designed, owned and operated by renowned architect Soo K. Chan and his wife Ling Fu, the resort prioritises environmental and cultural sustainability. Crafted out of local materials, Soori Bali maintains a true sense of place. Keeping things pure, its restaurants use fresh produce from nearby farms and spices from its own garden; the resort’s spa uses only the highest quality organic products. All 48 of Soori Bali’s villas feature private pools with sweeping vistas. Within easy reach of the legendary Tanah Lot and an 18-hole championship golf course, the resort is perfect for those seeking spiritual and recreational delights. There are few places that revere nature’s gifts like we do, and absolute discretion for our guests is the pattern of our craft. Soori Bali is an amazing place to be, naturally. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Soori Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alila Villas Soori Hotel Tabanan
Soori Bali Tabanan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing