We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect!”
Review of Soori Bali

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Soori Bali
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Tabanan
Certificate of Excellence
vancouver
2 reviews
“Just perfect!”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We are a family of 4adults who vacation around the world and stay at many wonderful places, as time goes on the bar get set higher and alila soori was just perfect, from UNga the host to the restuarant staff and to the entire team . Well done.
A bit away from the madding crowd, but this is what the doctor ordered. We also spent 3 nights at the alila manggis and that was also first rate. Very different area but family friendly and enjoyable.
The staff make a real effort.

Room Tip: Ocean front villa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vancouverasgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    520
    105
    37
    6
    7
See reviews for
142
412
15
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chino Hills
1 review
Reviewed January 2, 2014

The services from all staffs are exceptional. The attention to details is personal and warm. The well kept facility and services set Allila Soori apart from other luxurious resort such as the Four Seasons.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Isabelle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Alila Villas Soori is the embodiment of finely designed luxury. With spacious, remarkably well designed and quite beautiful villas, surrounded by lovely landscaping that is very well maintained, it is all that its photos suggest it is, and then some. It is located on the west coast, away from the white sand beaches of the south, which are painfully over-developed. That said, the west remains under-developed for tourism, which is now Bali's largest source of income.

At Alila Villas Soori, there are three sets of Villas, one facing an interior garden, a second facing the rice paddies, and the third facing the ocean. Unfortunately, the rice paddies don't appear to be farmed, so that view was not ideal. The ocean view is certainly the most dramatic, though the black sand beach was strewn with garbage that flowed in rivers to the sea during a heavy rain, and that was far, far from an appealing view. Unfortunately, Bali is a third world country with distinctly first world problems, and a dismal lack of infrastructure, particularly with regard to trash management, means that Balinese simply toss their trash into the many rivers, all of which do, in fact, flow to the sea, carrying the trash (and predictable other effluvium not prime for swimming) with them. However, given riptides, ocean swimming isn't advised (though surfers ignore that advice).

Each villa has a private pool of quite nice size, and there is a large pool for all guests. There is also a grassy area between the villas and the ocean on the beach side, where chaises are set up for guests who want to get closer to the beach without actually being on it.

The Villas really are lovely, exquisitely designed by Yale-educated architect Soo Chan (SCDA Architects). A large living room, spacious bedroom with a king size bed, tremendous bathroom/dressing area, with both an indoor walk-in shower and a beautifully landscaped private outdoor shower, plus a lovely soaking tub roomy enough for two. Oddly, closet space was the only real inadequacy.

There is direct access to the wraparound pool from your living room as well as your bedroom, and with a private cabana, one can lounge comfortably in the shade near the pool, too. In fact, the only thing we wished for was a place to sun near our private pool.

A butler is assigned to each villa, and as your host, takes care of any needs. Ours was a lovely young man who almost seemed disappointed that we didn't need more help. Housekeeping is attentive but never interruptive. Staff over all were kind and, while no one rushes in Bali, service was more than adequately attentive and kind. The people were a true pleasure.

There are cameras situated discretely around the villas for security, but we came away feeling that they are also used to track guests' whereabouts, because someone always seemed to appear to offer help whenever we left our Villa.

The very narrow roads in this part of Bali (and south, to Denpasar) are horrifically clogged with traffic: commercial trucks, hotel vans and innumerable motor bikes, which are the primary means of transportation for Balinese (and intrepid travelers like this writer). Thus, trips as short as 20 miles could take 90 (tense, hot) minutes. Therefore, the pleasure of this resort was clearly the saving grace of our vacation.

We could easily imagine ourselves staying at Alila Villas Soori again...though we cannot say the same for Bali in general, which didn't really measure up to the high standard set by the resort.

Room Tip: On the ocean side, 115 and 215 are the longest walk but very private. The villas facing the ride pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary-NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We are now staying at soori and we have to say we are extremely happy
The design of the hotel is pure and elegant
The staff is fantastic, everywhere but you can t see them
It s a very very relaxing place far away from all the fuss of Bali Bali
The resort as very smart proportion space wise
And the food is excellent , the breakfast is so good so many choice changing everyday
Again the staff is top class,extremely gentle
My wife and daughter of 3 are so happy here, and the chef make me smile 3 times a day
I strongly recommended soori to anyone who s looking for peace, quiet, family time, and good food
The resort is in perfect shape, the pool is perfectly located with an amazing sunset

Room Tip: Choose the room starting with n 2, 201,202,203 ect on the upper level, all the rooms are great with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmherbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 27, 2013

The water quality of the pool is not as clean as before. And the quality of its service is also going down and down. I really like this hotel but I am not sure if I will go to this hotel again. I thought endless tourists let this hotel become numb, It is good but not as before and not worthy this price again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beichen Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irra M, General Manager at Soori Bali, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear Beychen Y,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your most recent stay with us. We truly value your opinion and I would to like apologise for not meeting your expectations this time round.

I will endeavour to get in touch with you directly via e-mail to obtain more details on the areas where we can improve and regain your trust in Alila Villas Soori.

Kind regards

Irra Malik
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

The trip to the villa from airport will be a 1.5 to 2.5 hour journey depending on traffic and weather. The location is secluded which is ideal if you are looking to run away from the hustle and just relax.

We signed up for the culinary journey package which I think is ok. The trip to the morning market is nothing different given that I have lived in Jakarta for 10 years. Maybe for the average tourist, it might be interesting. For us, it's a pretty dry trip. A little on the boring side. However, my wife and I did enjoyed the cooking lessons that followed. The end results is really tasty. I strongly recommend the villa management to work more on this aspect as this is a nice way to past time.

Next, in terms of comfort, the villa are clean and well maintained. The pillows are nice and provide good night sleep. Service aspiration from the villa is on the right track. This means that the management really wants you to enjoy the visit. However, of the 5 times I tried to reach my host(which is like the front service desk), I had better luck calling the operator and relying on our needs.

For the food, we had tried at Ombak and in villa dining. I like in villa dining and hope there will be more options in future. It is funny that I keep asking the staff if the menu at the reading room or cotta can be available in villa. There are some yes and no which I just find it amusing. Also, I notice there is distinct difference between the Indonesia and Western food fare. Indonesia dishes are way better. Western food is average.

I have order the Western Christmas Eve dinner. Out of the 5 course, only 2 I considered to be ok. The rest is average at best. What was amazing was that the host waiver the dinner charges as they felt the waiting time was not acceptable. Honestly, as it was Christmas Eve, my wife and I was not wanting to let anything spoil our festive mood especially with our little girl. So even though the dinner food was awful and the waiting time interval was long, we actually did not complained. To have the host waiving the dinner as they can see how unacceptable the service was, I find that very very commendable.

All and all, I find this to be an enjoyable stay. The villa management just need to improve on the western food and the "sampler" breakfast at Cotta.

Room Tip: Ocean Villa works for me
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edmund T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Beautiful sunsets. Beautifully designed villas. Comfortable beds and sofas. Restaurant staff who remembers your drink preferences. Attentive host and villa staff ready to cater to your every need. One can get used to such a life. Only downside is the long car ride to anywhere else on the island.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Audrey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tabanan
10.0 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#7 of 146 in Seminyak
1,543 reviews
9.5 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#19 of 146 in Seminyak
3,338 reviews
9.9 mi away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#3 of 146 in Seminyak
1,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
Alila Villas Uluwatu
Alila Villas Uluwatu
#1 of 8 in Uluwatu
997 reviews
9.7 mi away
Alila Seminyak
Alila Seminyak
#20 of 146 in Seminyak
911 reviews
20.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Bali
The Ritz-Carlton, Bali
#7 of 54 in Nusa Dua
1,797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soori Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soori Bali

Property: Soori Bali
Address: Kpg. Dukuh | Kerambitan, Tabanan 82111, Indonesia (Formerly Alila Villas Soori)
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Tabanan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Tabanan
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tabanan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Soori Bali 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the edge of the ocean between the Batu Karu Mountain and terraced rice fields, Soori Bali is a hidden refuge, rejuvenating and peaceful; it is Bali as it should be. Designed, owned and operated by renowned architect Soo K. Chan and his wife Ling Fu, the resort prioritises environmental and cultural sustainability. Crafted out of local materials, Soori Bali maintains a true sense of place. Keeping things pure, its restaurants use fresh produce from nearby farms and spices from its own garden; the resort’s spa uses only the highest quality organic products. All 48 of Soori Bali’s villas feature private pools with sweeping vistas. Within easy reach of the legendary Tanah Lot and an 18-hole championship golf course, the resort is perfect for those seeking spiritual and recreational delights. There are few places that revere nature’s gifts like we do, and absolute discretion for our guests is the pattern of our craft. Soori Bali is an amazing place to be, naturally. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Soori Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alila Villas Soori Hotel Tabanan
Soori Bali Tabanan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing