We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If J Lo gets married again, she'll probably do it here.”
Review of Soori Bali

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Soori Bali
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Tabanan
Certificate of Excellence
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“If J Lo gets married again, she'll probably do it here.”
Reviewed June 14, 2012

This resort is the last word in PIMPIN’. I can’t say enough good things about this luxury resort. Villas are gorgeous, service is impeccable and glistening unicorns carry you to and forth upon the grounds.

The beach is black sand, but unless you are a sand racist, you will get over that. It’s a pricey place, and you staying there is probably a honeymoon treat or a desperate attempt to apologise to a wife for driving over her dog.

One thing to be aware of is that it is FFFAAARRRRR from anywhere, and could take you 2 hours to reach from the airport.

It's the best resort I have seen in my time living in Bali, and if a hotel could morph into human form, Alila Soori would be as rich and beautiful as Jennifer Lopez. The new 2012-fresh-lease-of-life Lopez, not 2011-getting-divorced-from-greasy-husband Lopez.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    492
    101
    37
    5
    7
See reviews for
134
391
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Alila Villas Soori for 4 nights, and it was a very much needed relaxed and very luxurious experience for both of us. The service was amazing - the best I've experienced especially in Asia. We were assigned a 'host' although because everyone was so helpful and in tune at what we required, we actually didn't need much help from our host! At breakfast, someone would ask when we would like our room tidied, or when we would like our airport pick to be. At times, there weren't enough staff in the restaurant to handle the customers, but they did their best and were extremely accommodating.

The hotel is beautifully and modernly designed - minimalist and very contemporary. They really try hard to create an 'ambience'. Although at times we thought areas in the hotels (eg the steps - be careful! - and the rooms were a bit too dark. It was mentioned they were at 90% capacity, but you really did not feel like there were any people around. We started off at the Beach Villa room, but then had an opportunity to upgrade to the Ocean Villa room for the rest of the stay. It was very much worth it for us as the Ocean Villa room was more light and airy, more private and had little extras like an outdoor shower, and a bigger pool. The rooms had AppleTV which I've never seen in a hotel before - and we loved it. Room service was very fast and efficient. We did a couple massage as part of our hotel package which was excellent - there was a flower bath available at the end which was a nice tough. The restaurants were great - the food so fresh. We really especially enjoyed the scallops and local fish served - truly amazing! The chef is great! Breakfast was great - you can order as much as you like from the menu that changed daily. The only thing you would need to ask for which was not on the menu was fresh fruit.

The location was so beautiful - it was in a secluded area of Bali - but just what we wanted! Out of the hustle and bustle. Set among beautiful rice paddy fields and also right on a 'black' beach (very unique 'black' sand which of course does not stain/dirty your feet!). The beach is too rough to swim in - but provides lovely relaxing sounds! We went on many lovely long walks along the endless stretch of beach. Most beautiful scenery with altars on the rocks, rice paddy fields on the coast, bat caves, temples, small villages etc. You can walk either way - the sand is talcum powder soft so is very nice to walk on.

The concierge was great at arranging our day trip. Note that the location is far away from the tourist areas eg 2 hours away from Nusa Dua, 1+ hour away from places like Ubud or Seminyak. The drive is scenic, and they charge a reasonable USD15 an hour for a driver/car - who actually acts like a bit of a tour guide too - with cold towels, water and snacks available. Tanah Lot is 20 mins away only - gorgeous temples made of the rocks by the sea. Best to go during sunset - although there are crowds. We did a day trip of Ubud and Seminyak. Ubud has fabulous art museums/galleries (must see Blanco museum!). Seminyak is quite touristy with streets full of great markets and boutique shops, and the occasional art gallery.

Overall we loved our experience at Alila Villa Soori - we thoroughly enjoyed it and were very much treated amazingly there. HIghly recommended!

Room Tip: Ocean View rooms are very much worth the extras!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank starburststarburst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

If you want real Bali, peaceful, serene and wonderful people then this is the place. Legian Seminyak is fun for a night but to unwind this is the place.
Every detail is thought about, the hosts gracious and attentive but discreet.
The beach is awesome, powder black sand.
The villa, nothing is forgotten, nothing.
Great breakfast concept delivered seamlessly. The driver we had took on the tour guide role and showed us some of the best local food shops (we are foodies).
The wine dinner was a hit, thank you chef for stopping by for a chat too.
Do not forget the shop either, great gear and I think Alila should put their shops in retail areas, the gear is awesome and top quality.
Marco Groten and the team - we can not wait to return you treated us like royalty and we are deeply appreciative

Room Tip: GO the beachfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dutchy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
86 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 695 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

As a luxury hotel lover, i stayed at Alila Soori for 2 nights during my Bali holiday (after having stayed at W hotel & Como Shambhala, and before moving on to Alila Uluwatu). What an uber-luxurious hotel this is, the best one we visited in Bali !!!

Pros :
- Location, location, location : the hotel is located between beautiful rice fields and a marvelous wild black sand beach. Where else in Bali will you find this ?
- Colours : the combination of the fresh green colour of the grass, the black colour of the sand, and the blue colour of the ocean was a visual delight.
- Sounds : the non-stop crashing of the very rough waves will sound like music to your ears (but can also keep you awake at night, so bring ear plugs)
- The hotel feels uber-luxurious with grand yet intimate public spaces
- The service is topnotch : everybody will serve you with a smile.
- The spa is the best we encountered in Bali : the spa itself displays a wonderful atmosphere, with beautiful treatment rooms. The therapists are also the best. And frankly, the treatments were not too expensive.
- The food is delicious & memorable (and better than the food at its sister hotel in Uluwatu)
- the rooms are beautifully appointed (although less luxurious than the rooms at Uluwatu), and each room comes with a private pool. Bed is very soft.

Cons:
- while the ocean-front setting is spectacular, is it true that the location is pretty isolated (45 minutes from Seminyak, and 90 minutes from Ubud). But I consider this to be an advantage rather than a disadvantage. It is the ideal hotel to chill for a day of 3, and do nothing (except for beach walks & walks in the rice fields).
- because of its isolated location, excursions always involves long transfer. But frankly, why bother with a day trip to Ubud (2 x 90 minutes transfer) while staying at this hotel : just visit Ubud first (and stay at the Como Shambhala) and then proceed to this hotel.
- stay in an ocean room and not in a beach room (beach rooms lack sunlight on their terrace since they are located below the ocean rooms).
- I missed a hottube at the property (near the main pool)
- I would prefer that the room rates would be inclusive of breakfast

Tips :
- walk to and over the rocky outcrop to the west of the hotel : you will find there a desolated black sand beach, backed by beautiful rice terraces.
- we found a seriously discounted rate on Jetsetter (so called 'flashsale'). Check this website for offers.

Room Tip: go for an ocean pool villa (not beach pool villa)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank LuxTravelExpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Stayed at Alila Soori for 5 nights and it was a wonderful stay from arrival to departure. The resident manager Ari welcomed us and showed us around. Very nice property from every angle. Nice reception and common pool area and one of the best views of the ocean just in front of you. Our Ocean pool villa was very nice and away from the common areas as requested by me. Our villa host "Yuda" was the perfect example of Balinese hospitality. Nothing was too much for him anytime of the day. We took the hotel cars for tours around the city and the drivers were very good as well. The only negative would be that its too far from the city but you already know this. Roads in Bali are not the best so expect longer than usual times going anywhere. One thing I would complain to the Alila management is the choice of food available in the resort. If you are staying for longer duration then you would run out of choices. They should defiantly look to include more menu options although the food quality was good. All in all a perfect stay and I would surely love to go back. Thank you..

Room Tip: The Ocean pool villas have the best views. Stayed in Villa 212 and it had a very nice view although...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank indi777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from the most wonderful holiday in Bali. We thought we had died and gone to heaven when we arrived at Alili Soori Villas.
The drive there is so interesting and part of the attraction is the location, surrounded by rice paddys removed from the rush that can be Bali.
The property itself is breathtaking, architecture is outstanding, I felt compelled to take snaps of the property from every angle.
I was fortunate enough to see all the villa types, no one would be disappointed with what villa they were assigned on arrival, they were all exceptional.
Breakfast was the best, to be able to sample so many different foods was brilliant, different to the usual buffet breakfast that is offered.
I would be so remiss if I did not mention the staff, absolutely nothing was too much trouble. From the moment we arrived we felt like we were surrounded by friends, friendly, enjoyed a laugh and went out of their way to make our holiday so memorable.
Not to be missed is the opportunity to do the cooking course. Going to the local market was an eye opener, then having a special breakfast cooked with ingredients purchased was fantastic. Learnt so much from our talented chef, then to be able to eat the food we had cooked whenever we felt like it that day, with leftovers being taken to our villa so we could have before our late flight departure was the icing on the cake.
Did we enjoy our stay - absolutely, beyond words.

Room Tip: Each villa had a pool and was private. We had the lead in villa - Beach, loved being able to walk st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Margaret A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 21, 2012

After a long & tiring journey,i finally touched down at Alila Soori and gosh, it really took my breath away! The view from the resort of the ocean & paddy fields were breath-taking from all angles and the sunset was magnificant! The villa was comfy and made me felt right at home. Breakfast at Cotta was yummy! Everything were in tasting portions and we had the opportunity to sample many different well executed dishes.(menu changes daily) Kudos to the Chef! Room service was delicious and wallet friendly as we watched the many movies pre-recorded in our TV. Also, the entire team at Soori was very attentive to details. Iced water was sent to us when we were suntanning in front if our villa which was very far away from the front desk & the security kept a lookout for us when we were on the beach as the waves were huge. The black sand beach was positively shimmering and the night sky was full of shiny stars. Bring me back to Soori NOW!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PattyLeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tabanan
19.4 mi away
Alila Villas Uluwatu
Alila Villas Uluwatu
#1 of 7 in Uluwatu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
9.5 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#22 of 144 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,164 reviews
9.9 mi away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#6 of 144 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#11 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
9.7 mi away
Alila Seminyak
Alila Seminyak
#23 of 144 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
10.0 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#8 of 144 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soori Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soori Bali

Property: Soori Bali
Address: Kpg. Dukuh | Kerambitan, Tabanan 82111, Indonesia (Formerly Alila Villas Soori)
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Tabanan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Tabanan
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tabanan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Soori Bali 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the edge of the ocean between the Batu Karu Mountain and terraced rice fields, Soori Bali is a hidden refuge, rejuvenating and peaceful; it is Bali as it should be. Designed, owned and operated by renowned architect Soo K. Chan and his wife Ling Fu, the resort prioritises environmental and cultural sustainability. Crafted out of local materials, Soori Bali maintains a true sense of place. Keeping things pure, its restaurants use fresh produce from nearby farms and spices from its own garden; the resort’s spa uses only the highest quality organic products. All 48 of Soori Bali’s villas feature private pools with sweeping vistas. Within easy reach of the legendary Tanah Lot and an 18-hole championship golf course, the resort is perfect for those seeking spiritual and recreational delights. There are few places that revere nature’s gifts like we do, and absolute discretion for our guests is the pattern of our craft. Soori Bali is an amazing place to be, naturally. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Soori Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alila Villas Soori Hotel Tabanan
Soori Bali Tabanan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing