We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, friendly place.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shankari's Bali Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Shankari's Bali Retreat
Ranked #20 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Tabanan
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice, friendly place.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2010

Bit of trek up from Pecatu, but well worth it. The people are heaps nicer up his way, as they have had less bad experiences with James Bogans! En route, our taxi driver stopped at Warung Sembung, for some Babi Guling/nasi Campur, just outside of Tabanan. Locals only, local prices and fantastic experience. Perhaps not for the faint hearted, but if you're after some local flavour, this is it.
So, Shankari: staff were amazingly friendly and helpful, especially Andrew, who answered our multiples of questions with a big smile on his face; all Balinese, and spoke very good English. We did great yoga there; the majority of the class were with the locals, so it was a little different to the conventional style, but Nikki, the teacher was really good. The place has 3 pools, 2 with waterfalls. Our villa had a massive en suite with a separate bath and shower, open air but private bathroom, a nice little balcony, and a nice double with mozzie net and a fan. Hot water but no A/C. Breakfast was good, with tea, coffee or juice, fruit salad with shredded, roasted coconut, and a delicious plum sauce and then toast, but ask for the rice pancakes with dessicated coconut, plum/palm sugar sauce and lime. Yum! The restaurant is open from 7am till 10pm. It does decent food, but nothing special. Beach is a 10 minute walk away along the river, and Balian beach, while perhaps not the stuff of picture postcards due to it being next to a river (silt) and black sand (volcanic), has a great A-frame for lefts and rights. Uncrowded, due to its lack of development, you will have a good time here. We were there after heavy rain, and the water was brown, but in summer, it is a really nice blue that you come to expect in Bali. There is a great little bar/accommodation/pool right on the beachfront, which did some tasty food and a couple of warungs doing simpler but just as tasty food n Bintangs!
We hired scooters here, for the usual 50.000rph, and went to the waterfall listed in Lonely Planet. Worth it, awesome views en route. Get a guide in town to show you where it is as it's a bit of a mission to get to! We gave him 50.000rph.
My fiance had a facial and a body massage here. She thought the facial was terrible, as it was too strong and they massaged her face off! The body massage good and strong, did the pressure points well, and did a great arm and hand massage.
Overall, while the yoga was great, and the staff were superb, I wouldn't recommend this place to others. I think there is just as good accommodation closer to the beach.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hammockman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    9
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
11
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2010

Shankari is located on Balian Beach, a insider place on the westcoast of Bali, best known by surfer, but also a good place for people who are lookong for places off the beaten track. Shankari has family bungalows, ours had two floors, three big beds, a small but nice terrace including a fantstic view, situated in a lovely, almost wild and romantic garden. The way to the beach is almost a little jungle path along the balian river whose water gently floats into the sea, so that you almost can swim from the sea back into the river.
The people at shankari are extremely friendly and helpful, the food is more than alright, the müsli for breakfast wonderful and you get free wifi in the resaturant.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mibas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2009

I stayed at Shankari's Bali Retreat for 3 nights around Christmas time. I had a wonderful time and felt like I got to experience a unique part of Bali. Shankari's provided transportation from the airport and daily breakfast in the room rate. Being a solo traveler, the staff and layout of the retreat were really helpful in making my stay wonderful. The retreat is small and you get personalized service when you stay there. Nicky, Wayan, and all the others were great!
Upon entering the grounds, I felt at peace and ready to relax. My room was amazing-it incorporated a relaxing environment with nature. I stayed in the Ganesha Butterfly room and it was really perfect. I was able to take yoga classes, get a massage, walk to the beach, swim, and eat great food at the restaurant. Since I was there on Christmas I was lucky enough the be invited to a traditional dance performance to celebrate.
Shankari's is off the beaten track and away from all the tourist spots in Bali. It was just what I was looking for. I hope I can come back soon.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelGirlKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechelen in Belgium
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2009

We had a wonderfull time in Shankari's! If you like natural and Zen, this is the place to be... The houses are very nice and build in traditional Balinese style. Inside they are very beautiful to with a big bathroom and a little place outside (but private) with 2 chairs and pillows. You can burn a candlle and use incense for a good ZEN-evening ...
When you go to your bed you fall asleep with the noise of the see, birds, frogs, ...
Breakfast was very healthy and it tasted good.
I really wanna go to ,that magical place!!!! That's for sure!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tikske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
62 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2009

Shankari's consists of a number of bungalows situated in very lush grounds. It's very pretty, relaxing and quiet. While it is near to the "surf spot" at Balian beach it's main market is probably not surfers (although some stay there). Rather, it focusses on yoga retreats etc. We got a good rate including transfers. Cian, Andrew, Wayan and their staff were all very friendly and helpful within anything we asked for.

We stayed in the "Lotus Dove" bungalow for 5 nights in April. The top floor where we slept was cool with the windows open, but without AC I guess it could be hot at times. (It had a number of fans instead).

There isn't much in this area; which consists of some beaches and a tiny village, and it's a good distance from the airport on a busy road - so you should have a reason for going there, whether surfing, yoga retreats, etc.

Pros:
+ very good breakfast, included in room rate
+ nice food in restaurant, mainly vegetarian (I'm not a veggie and it wasn't a problem!)
+ very friendly, helpful staff: Andrew, Wayan, ..
+ nice bungalows, tasteful
+ mosquito coils and nets supplied
+ we liked the circular pool which is in a sunny area. There are 3 pools, although one is mainly ornamental.
+ very relaxed place to hang out
+ Balian beach is great for surfing but not swimming. There is also a couple of other beaches (Medja) within walking distance, which are worth visiting.
+ there is a nice nature walk alongside a nearby hotel complex, can't remember its name.
+ There is 1 internet PC and wireless - you can get vouchers from the cafe (and free vouchers if you spend over a certain limit in the cafe)
+ transfer from airport and to our next location
+ Balinese dance classes were arranged for my wife on request

Cons:
- No aircon in our bungalow
- No fridge in room
- Traffic noise from the road affects the restaurant area
- 10 min walk to Balian beach where there are a few bars and restaurants, but it's dimly lit after dark.

Other:
* A nice place to eat in the area is Tom's Garden Cafe at the Pondok Picses bungalows. The food is very good although the kitchen is very slow.
* There is an associated factory making silver jewelery which you could visit and they have a shop on the hotel grounds.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tabanan
8.0 mi away
Soori Bali
Soori Bali
#1 of 13 in Tabanan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gubug Balian Beach Bungalows
0.3 mi away
Gajah Mina Beach Resort
Gajah Mina Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Selemadeg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
WakaGangga
WakaGangga
#2 of 13 in Tabanan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
12.1 mi away
Pan Pacific Nirwana Bali Resort
11.2 mi away
Puri Dajuma Cottages
Puri Dajuma Cottages
#1 of 1 in Pekutatan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shankari's Bali Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shankari's Bali Retreat

Property: Shankari's Bali Retreat
Address: Jl. Raya Gilimanuk | Desa Lalang Linggah, Tabanan 82162, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Tabanan
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Tabanan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Shankari's Bali Retreat 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1994, Shankari's vision, of providing a safe and comfortable venue for people to teach their students and families to feel at home, has been a magically manifested reality. We have 14 rooms, a restaurant, 2 Yoga spaces and 3 swimming pools. Our rooms are themed with Sacred Symbolism represented through the mosaic tile and pebble floors. We are located by the Holy Balian River and a 5 minute walk to the beach. Our place is suitable for groups, couples, individuals and families. We will take good care of you and provide you with a genuinely relaxing holiday rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Shankari's Bali Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shankari's Bali Retreat Tabanan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing