We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet, relaxing and unique resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shankari's Bali Retreat
Ranked #20 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Tabanan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quiet, relaxing and unique resort”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

Shankaris is a Relaxing retreat with great vegetarian menu (some fish/chicken dishes) and a very peaceful rain forrest type atmosphere. Rooms are clean but basic, no mod cons though 2 rooms have a/c and all are very private. There are 3 seperate pools. The staff are very helpful when spoken to, they do not hassle or pressure you at all. Yoga facilities are open air. On the down side, the retreat is right on the main road (2hours north-west of the airport) between denpasar and the ferry to java so it is extremely busy and the trucks are loud, however the noise really only affects the resturant which is also open air. If you cant sleep to the sound of gekos, frogs, bird, chickens, bats, monkeys etc this is not the place for you. The beach is a 10min walk either along the river (not particulary interesting) or out though the village and along a sealed road which passes local shops and local villagers going about there day to day lives. This route also passes other accom options with resturants and bars (i forget to mention shankaris has no alcohol!!) to balian beach which is black sand and has a great left and right hand surf break. The retreat offers some great day trips, spa treatments and yoga classes, All at a reasonable price. A place i will remember and would recommend to those wanting a bali experience that involves relaxing, thinking about life, getting in touch with nature and not shopping and drinking to excess as so many tourists seem to do in bali.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fatnkitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    9
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
11
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2011

Basic, relatively clean although corners need to be checked by supervisors.
Water intermittently becoming too hot or cold, inconsistent flow.
But ok for the special price, on normal rate I would rather choose somewhere else.
If you are in for yoga perhaps this can be overlook.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrihitaKarana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

Amazing place. The staff was very useful and friendly. Wayan the receptionist, Wayan the server, Widia and Made the driver were fantastic. The food was so delicious and healthy. Our room the Ganesha Turtle was so pretty and comfortable. Very close to the beach and the village. What an amazing place!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoNya18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

We found this amazing place by surprise and we were taken away from the first moment. The whole place has a very relaxing feeling and the staff is so friendly, that you feel like home from the first second. Especially Wajan is a diamond. The bungalow's have a very nice interior and are very clean. The balcony invites to chill outside and regain energy after surfing or discovering Bali. There are three pools to swim in, the highlight is the round infinity pool. The location is very quiet and close to a nice surf beach and a small town. We really enjoyed our stay at Balian Beach because of the awesome Shankari's Bali Retreat. Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelSeppo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2010

Bit of trek up from Pecatu, but well worth it. The people are heaps nicer up his way, as they have had less bad experiences with James Bogans! En route, our taxi driver stopped at Warung Sembung, for some Babi Guling/nasi Campur, just outside of Tabanan. Locals only, local prices and fantastic experience. Perhaps not for the faint hearted, but if you're after some local flavour, this is it.
So, Shankari: staff were amazingly friendly and helpful, especially Andrew, who answered our multiples of questions with a big smile on his face; all Balinese, and spoke very good English. We did great yoga there; the majority of the class were with the locals, so it was a little different to the conventional style, but Nikki, the teacher was really good. The place has 3 pools, 2 with waterfalls. Our villa had a massive en suite with a separate bath and shower, open air but private bathroom, a nice little balcony, and a nice double with mozzie net and a fan. Hot water but no A/C. Breakfast was good, with tea, coffee or juice, fruit salad with shredded, roasted coconut, and a delicious plum sauce and then toast, but ask for the rice pancakes with dessicated coconut, plum/palm sugar sauce and lime. Yum! The restaurant is open from 7am till 10pm. It does decent food, but nothing special. Beach is a 10 minute walk away along the river, and Balian beach, while perhaps not the stuff of picture postcards due to it being next to a river (silt) and black sand (volcanic), has a great A-frame for lefts and rights. Uncrowded, due to its lack of development, you will have a good time here. We were there after heavy rain, and the water was brown, but in summer, it is a really nice blue that you come to expect in Bali. There is a great little bar/accommodation/pool right on the beachfront, which did some tasty food and a couple of warungs doing simpler but just as tasty food n Bintangs!
We hired scooters here, for the usual 50.000rph, and went to the waterfall listed in Lonely Planet. Worth it, awesome views en route. Get a guide in town to show you where it is as it's a bit of a mission to get to! We gave him 50.000rph.
My fiance had a facial and a body massage here. She thought the facial was terrible, as it was too strong and they massaged her face off! The body massage good and strong, did the pressure points well, and did a great arm and hand massage.
Overall, while the yoga was great, and the staff were superb, I wouldn't recommend this place to others. I think there is just as good accommodation closer to the beach.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hammockman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2010

Shankari is located on Balian Beach, a insider place on the westcoast of Bali, best known by surfer, but also a good place for people who are lookong for places off the beaten track. Shankari has family bungalows, ours had two floors, three big beds, a small but nice terrace including a fantstic view, situated in a lovely, almost wild and romantic garden. The way to the beach is almost a little jungle path along the balian river whose water gently floats into the sea, so that you almost can swim from the sea back into the river.
The people at shankari are extremely friendly and helpful, the food is more than alright, the müsli for breakfast wonderful and you get free wifi in the resaturant.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mibas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2009

I stayed at Shankari's Bali Retreat for 3 nights around Christmas time. I had a wonderful time and felt like I got to experience a unique part of Bali. Shankari's provided transportation from the airport and daily breakfast in the room rate. Being a solo traveler, the staff and layout of the retreat were really helpful in making my stay wonderful. The retreat is small and you get personalized service when you stay there. Nicky, Wayan, and all the others were great!
Upon entering the grounds, I felt at peace and ready to relax. My room was amazing-it incorporated a relaxing environment with nature. I stayed in the Ganesha Butterfly room and it was really perfect. I was able to take yoga classes, get a massage, walk to the beach, swim, and eat great food at the restaurant. Since I was there on Christmas I was lucky enough the be invited to a traditional dance performance to celebrate.
Shankari's is off the beaten track and away from all the tourist spots in Bali. It was just what I was looking for. I hope I can come back soon.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelGirlKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tabanan
8.1 mi away
Soori Bali
Soori Bali
#1 of 13 in Tabanan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gubug Balian Beach Bungalows
0.4 mi away
Gajah Mina Beach Resort
Gajah Mina Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Selemadeg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
WakaGangga
WakaGangga
#2 of 13 in Tabanan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.3 mi away
Balian Villa
Balian Villa
#19 of 53 in Tabanan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pondok Pisces Bungalows
Pondok Pisces Bungalows
#16 of 53 in Tabanan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shankari's Bali Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shankari's Bali Retreat

Property: Shankari's Bali Retreat
Address: Jl. Raya Gilimanuk | Desa Lalang Linggah, Tabanan 82162, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Tabanan
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Tabanan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Shankari's Bali Retreat 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1994, Shankari's vision, of providing a safe and comfortable venue for people to teach their students and families to feel at home, has been a magically manifested reality. We have 14 rooms, a restaurant, 2 Yoga spaces and 3 swimming pools. Our rooms are themed with Sacred Symbolism represented through the mosaic tile and pebble floors. We are located by the Holy Balian River and a 5 minute walk to the beach. Our place is suitable for groups, couples, individuals and families. We will take good care of you and provide you with a genuinely relaxing holiday rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Shankari's Bali Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shankari's Bali Retreat Tabanan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing