We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of paradise!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bali Mountain Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
sydney
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A little piece of paradise!”
Reviewed February 21, 2010

I would highly recommend Bali Mountain Retreat, especially for nature lovers, those who are interested in seeing more of bali than the touristy areas and those who are keen to do some hiking.
I found the accommodation to be lovely. Richard (owner) very kindly upgraded us from the rice huts to the budget teak house rooms (share bathroom) at a very reasonable rate due to the recent heavy rain falls (he thought we would be more comfortable in the teak house room). We found this room to be great - lovely king size bed, doors opening onto what felt like our own little part of the jungle.
The most striking thing about Bali Mountain Retreat is the beautiful gardens. We saw many flowering orchids and beautiful heliconias. There are also many parts in Bali Mountain Retreat to relax with a good book - most also having great views down towards denpasar and the beaches.
We opted to do the 6hr trek which involved a few hours climbing up the mountain in the jungle and a few hours exploring the rice fields. The latter was definately a highlight of our trip. we met lovely locals and enjoyed seeing the rich farming area and cooling our feet in a beautiful flowing stream .
The food at BMR is fantastic. I couldn’t believe that in the middle of our mountain trek we were served hot nasi goreng at the temple, complete with still-runny fried egg. Amazing! Also, don’t miss the eggplant wedges and fern tip spring rolls at the BMR restaurant

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank lou757575757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    50
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
42
134
54
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
australia
1 review
Reviewed January 14, 2010

For our first time in Bali and our second night after a short stop in Senur, arriving at Bali Mountain Retreat after a long bumpy ride (with a taxi who didn't know the way!) was an absolute pleasure. Richard, our host, was the ultimate host - patient, friendly, knowledgeable and really just a lovely person. We stayed for 3 nights in a teak house room. The room was beautifully designed with the right mix of luxury and simplicity. The detail in the service of the room was fantastic - for example, a jug of drinking water, urn of hot water, both refilled daily. The room was clean, spacious and very comfortable. The food was delicious - fresh produce and made with love. Each meal was made to order and was the perfect mix of Balinese and Western fusion. The staff at BMR are all genuinely delightful. The other guests were also great - like minded people and a true reflection on what BMR is about - care for nature, the environment, and people's wellbeing. The area is remote and tourism free. We did the 25km cycle tour from BMR down the mountain to the sea. This was truly a highlight for us - we rode through villages and rice paddies and saw smiling faces and farmers working in their beautiful fields. It was spectacular.
We also had a massage at BMR which was also great and walked up the steep road to the temple.
We look forward to Richard building a pool by our next visit - hint, hint.
This place is special.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pennylane18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2009

Our trip to BMR commenced with the prearranged pickup from Legian. The driver was absolutely fantastic and provided as much detail as a tour guide as we asked on our way to the BMR getaway. The 2 1/2 hour drive up the mountains was through the local villages and over very slow and potholed paths (roads).

Lunch was provided in the restaurant when we asked on arrival. Like all the food that we ate while at BMR the food was fresh, local and extremely tasty. We mainly ate vegetarian and after three nights we had eaten all the choices in the menu.

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and also provided our romantic dinner in the BirdsNest exceptionally on our last night.

The facilities, rooms and location were all clean and were all very airy and spacious and would be well suited for a romantic getaway or group retreat. We generally relaxed (and ate) while we stayed at BMR. The gardens are maintained with lots of colour and variety and plenty of vegetables and fruits growing. The local tour guides provided us with some great walks and insights to their villages local areas including the local temple at Mount Batukaru.

We would definitely like to visit and stay again. :)

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank normara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2009

We spent two nights here on a 5 night visit to Bali. The owners and staff were very warm and welcoming. The rooms are big and done up with style and taste. The oversized king bed was a nice surprise and it was also very comfortable which can be hit or miss in Bali in this price range. The food was imaginative, tasty and varied the wireless internet was fast and reliable and we took advantage of the many areas to relax and unwind. We did not take advantage of any of the hikes or day outings so I cannot comment on them.

During our stay, we wandered over to Sarin Buana to have a look which is a short walk away. We asked to have a look around and the woman (wife of the owner) said they were full. She was very rude and basically treated us like trespassers when we wanted to have a look around. I understand the need for privacy for paying guests and with the hotel full, I did not expect to be shown a room, but in the 15 years I've been coming to Bali, never have I been refused an offer to have a look around any hotel, resort or guesthouse as a future potential customer. And the location is so far off the beaten path, there is certainly no risk of hords of curious tourists wandering through the place. From what we did see however (the common area and monkey's in a small cage), there was no comparison; the Bali Mountain Retreat has it beat by a long shot.

Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank luna_naga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2009

After some time in Kuta, Sanur and Ubud, we made the trek up to Mt Batakaru. Looking to find a different view of Bali - we were not disappointed by the Bali Mountain Retreat (literally and metaphorically). It took us about an hour and a half to get there from Sanur, but it was worth the trip. The retreat's driver came and picked us up, and happily chatted with us and played a selection of CDs on the way (Guns N Roses, anyone?)

When we got to the retreat, we were greeted by owners Richard and Rebecca, who were friendly, helpful and hospitable. They showed us to our room, which was clean and beautifully laid out. The bathroom had a small gap between the wall and the roof, which gave it a nice open air feeling.

We were also lucky enough to be at the retreat for one of their famed music nights, which happen once a month. There they put on a gorgeous buffet of traditional indonesian foods, and all the guests came together for a night of music under the stars. Perfect.

If you're looking for somewhere quiet, beautiful and where you're well cared for, then this is the place for you!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inkblotspot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2009

Nestled amongst cocoa & coffee plantations Bali Mountain Retreat is a an experience you will never forget. It's not your typical place to stay. It's a place where you get a feel of the real Bali. Richard and Rebecca make it feel like you are staying with family. We loved the architecture of the buildings that Richard spent 4 years restoring. The food was top class and some dishes were so popular, they ran out. They have a really nice hall with teak wood floors above the rooms to do yoga with lots of fresh air and a great view. Our visit coincided with Richard's monthly concert which was an added treat. The various activities (recommend taking the rice paddy trek) guided by their local Balinese staff are unique and worth doing. The only downside (not really though, as it keeps the hordes of tourists out) is that the access to the retreat requires travel over some difficult roads. It is important to plan/coordinate with Richard or Rebecca before travel. . Do not miss out on the Balinese massage in the music room.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leslys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tabanan
12.9 mi away
Soori Bali
Soori Bali
#1 of 14 in Tabanan
667 reviews
15.1 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 198 in Ubud
1,116 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bali Eco Stay Bungalows
Bali Eco Stay Bungalows
#1 of 54 in Tabanan
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alassari Plantation
Alassari Plantation
#1 of 5 in Selemadeg
47 reviews
2.1 mi away
Prana Dewi Mountain Resort
5.1 mi away
Bali Lush
Bali Lush
#3 of 54 in Tabanan
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bali Mountain Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bali Mountain Retreat

Property: Bali Mountain Retreat
Address: Br Biyahan | Desa Wanagiri, Tabanan 82113, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Tabanan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Tabanan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bali Mountain Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bali Mountain Retreat is nestled high on the eastern slopes of Mt Batukaru in traditional Bali. An amazing outlook to the coast, a natural setting amongst the food forest and drinking water direct from a spring on the mountain. In one direction you can trek in the last true national park in Bali and in the other stroll through the sculptured rice fields. With comfortable accommodation and delicious meals in a truly traditional setting, Bali Mountain retreat is a unique experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bali Mountain Retreat Hotel Tabanan
Bali Mountain Retreat Tabanan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing