We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely wonderful, highly recommend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bali Mountain Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bali Mountain Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful, highly recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed at the Bali Mountain Retreat (BMR) for five nights in early August 2013 and absolutely loved it! We arranged a transfer from Ubud through the BMR. The drive took about two and a half hours but was very enjoyable. The car was comfortable with air-conditioning and the driver was very friendly. We were welcomed on arrival by Richard and Rani – owners and hosts. They went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable, comfortable and relaxing, as did all of their wonderful staff. The location is beautiful in the mountains of Bali away from villages, tourists and major towns – a wonderful place to get away and really enjoy peace and serenity, a bit of the ‘old Bali’. As we booked only a week before we travelled to Bali we stayed in two different rooms during our stay. First was one night in a superior teak house room – traditional style, hand built and beautifully crafted accommodation. The room was beautifully decorated, clean, comfortable and well appointed. It had a comfortable king size bed and separate bathroom with shower, toilet and sink. Be aware the teak house is a circular configuration where you will share walls with other rooms so you will hear other guests going about their business. Most guests are aware of this though and make the effort to be considerate with noise levels. We then moved to the Lotus House which is a private bungalow. Also built in traditional style it was clean, comfortable and well appointed. The Lotus House had a separate bedroom, lounge area with day bed, TV and bar fridge. The toilet and shower (separate areas) were under the main roof but outside the lounge/bedroom area. It was absolutely beautiful and novel to enjoy showering in a private bathroom where, if you choose, you can leave the door open and look out over the amazing views across the mountain and trees. The food at the BMR is incredible – we enjoyed every meal, particularly the traditional dishes. They also offer a choice of western style dishes if you prefer. We also highly recommend having a massage (or three) during your stay at the BMR. There is a good selection of massages and other beauty treatments to choose from. All are very reasonably priced and the spa staff are well trained and friendly. The BMR offers a good range of hikes and activities though we chose to stay on the property and relax instead. We can’t speak highly enough of the BMR - our stay was just divine and we loved every minute of it. The accommodation, location, food, staff and hosts - it was all fabulous. It was the highlight of our Bali holiday and we look forward to staying again in 2014. Thank you Richard, Rani and the team. [Reviewed by an Australian couple aged 35-45].

Room Tip: For added serenity book the Lotus House (private villa style room).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    48
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
40
131
54
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

We spent 5 nights and 6 days at this place. Didn't feel like leaving... I will definitely visit again and recommend it if you want to experience real Bali away from the touristy places like kuta and Ubud...Unlike hot and humid places in Denpasar, weather here is pleasant during the day and cool at night. Everything positive I read on the trip advisor site for this retreat could be experienced..worth mentioning is their masseurs at the SPA are excellent. Most of us were vegetarians and the restaurant staff made sure we had enough options. They customized dishes for us and kids.
The entire BMR team makes sure our stay is comfortable.
Richard is such a great host..we use to have discussions every night after dinner..I didn't read about this before in other reviews, You can access excellent collection of Balinese music recorded by Richard at BMR.

Room Tip: If you want attached toilets Superior rooms are good. For other options the toilets are not attached...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vishal911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shanghai
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

My wife and I spent 5 nights at the BMR in October. After spending 2 days in busy Ubud which is well on its way to becoming another Kuta, we were stunned to find this little gem of a resort, tucked away in the 'jungle'. Richard and his staff were helpful and friendly and made us feel at home immediately. The food in the restaurant was amazing, our room was spotless, the bathroom impeccably clean with hot water and a new shower. We had a little terrace with a view on the surrounding hills where we spent many hours reading and watching the panorama.
The massage there was excellent and we also enjoyed the walks in the surrounding area, taking us through rice terraces, cocoa and coffee plantations and the many temples in the area. The only thing I will not recommend is the day trip in the car to the lake temple, which was crowded and more reminiscent of disney land than a place of worship.
We left feeling relaxed and rejuvenated and wishing we could have stayed longer!

Room Tip: ask for the new rooms to the east of the resort with terrace and a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravisTheTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

This was my third trip to Bali, the first was 35 years ago, don't remember much from that experience, second was 2 years ago and I figured there has to be more to Bali than Aussies behaving badly. This time we came for 5 nights as a mature couple seeking the natural Bali and got fairly close. Richard and Rani arranged for us to be picked up from Kuta and driven to the resort, we would not have found it by ourselves. We chose an ensuite room with double bed which was very comfortable, the walls were a bit thin though. Guides on tours, although expensive, added value to each hike that you would not normally experience. 5 days was enough for an energetic couple as we had done all the activities on offer.
If you are coming for the yoga be warned that it is self managed as there is no resident yoga instructor.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balimountainretreat, General Manager at Bali Mountain Retreat, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you Bruce for your visit to the mountain and for your review.
Just to be clear to those reading this, we are a small retreat center and at times host different types of retreats, we do not advertise having a in house Yoga instructor on our website. We do have a Yoga / dance studio with mats etc which our guests are welcome to use anytime for practice.
All trek prices are on our website, the guides are paid very well which helps the local community. There is a payment made to the banjar as well for trekking.
I hope you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again one day.
Thank you
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Had an excellent 4-day break in Bali Mountain Retreat. Richard and Rani are great hosts! Friendly, customer focused and with a beautiful place to recharge in nature!

Cool days (around 24/5'C) and cooler nights 22'C with lush vegetation and peace and quiet. Only hear mainly birds and crickets. Nice rooms and excellent meals. Great for easy 1-3 hr walks where my partner and I recharged ourselves from city living.

Richard and Rani were very responsive to requests and join in for short chats during our meals to make sure that we are enjoying ourselves. Richard kinda look like a gentle Balinese Willie Nelson (he sings and has CDs of his songs!) as he walks around in his sarong!

Great place to bring partner or family to relax. Don't expect hectic excitement and you will have a great time!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Loh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

I returned to the Bali Mountain Retreat for a second time and I know there will a third! It feelsso far away from the madness one can experience along the Bali coast yet only takes a couple of hours to get there from the airport.
BMR's tranquility and gentle atmosphere with the very welcoming host Richard and his staff, are unsurpassed in my Bali holiday experiences.
The room i had was clean and very comfortable, the interior design beautiful.
I chose to do nothing at all but enjoy the massages offered, do some yoga in the available stunning yoga hall, eat the traditional food in the restaurant and stare at the stunning views. Maybe next time i'll visit the ancient temple and walk the trails up the holy mountain!

Room Tip: I find the Lotus Villa is the most private accommodation on offer. Would also be very suitable for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

The 3 days we spent there were a marking point of our trip in Bali.
Tank so much Richard and the whole team for your hospitality and kindness. Particular thanks to Ferdi for the nice walks in the tropical forest and the temples ( with a ceremony just for the 2 of us: we still have the 3 gods'bracelets!)
A very authentic place far away from the hustle and bustle of the coast, in a luxurious garden, a very comfortable and nicely decorated room, a delicious home-made cuisine, excellent massages; retreat is the right word!
We strongly recommend this place for a real and relaxing break

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Axandre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tabanan
15.0 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bali Eco Stay Bungalows
Bali Eco Stay Bungalows
#1 of 52 in Tabanan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sarinbuana Eco Lodge
Sarinbuana Eco Lodge
#4 of 52 in Tabanan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Bali Lush
Bali Lush
#3 of 52 in Tabanan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
4.1 mi away
Ti Amo Bali
Ti Amo Bali
#1 of 2 in Penebel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sang Giri Tent Resort
Sang Giri Tent Resort
#16 of 52 in Tabanan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bali Mountain Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bali Mountain Retreat

Property: Bali Mountain Retreat
Address: Br Biyahan | Desa Wanagiri, Tabanan 82113, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Tabanan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Tabanan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bali Mountain Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bali Mountain Retreat is nestled high on the eastern slopes of Mt Batukaru in traditional Bali. An amazing outlook to the coast, a natural setting amongst the food forest and drinking water direct from a spring on the mountain. In one direction you can trek in the last true national park in Bali and in the other stroll through the sculptured rice fields. With comfortable accommodation and delicious meals in a truly traditional setting, Bali Mountain retreat is a unique experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Bali Mountain Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bali Mountain Retreat Hotel Tabanan
Bali Mountain Retreat Tabanan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing