We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An outstanding holiday at BMR”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bali Mountain Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“An outstanding holiday at BMR”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

I stayed for a week at Bali Mountain Retreat practicing yoga. The yoga space was perfect - I loved the early morning sunrise and mountain views. The rooms were tastefully decorated, comfortable and clean. The food was delicious and fresh, the massages wonderful, and the rural setting very relaxing. The staff were friendly, efficient and professional - the service was outstanding. Over our stay we got to know the staff, and them us. Richard and family were charming hosts. I enjoyed the friendly cats, the chatter of the geckos, roosters and ducks. The temple visit was special. The shop and cooking lesson were fun.

Thank you Richard and team. I hope to return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    49
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
41
131
54
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Spent a week at the BMR with a group from wellington for a yoga retreat.
this is a great venue to bring a group of people. there were plenty of accommodation options to suit everyone. the yoga studio is fantastic. light and airy with a great view!
Food is amazing! the daily specials prepared by the staff were great. the guided activities were great, and fit in nicely between yoga sessions, especially the bike ride through the villages. Staff were delightful.
Really recommend this place to take a group of people to. So peaceful relaxing and great gardens and scenery.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TanJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Bali Mountain Retreat is simple and beautiful, Richard and Rani are extremely good hosts, They really make you feel part of the home, also nice and helpful staff will no doubt make your stay pleasant and easy. The food is excellent.

The bungalows are stunning, cozy, comfortable, wonderful and somewhere between art gallery and an antique.

Thank you,Richard and Rani for making our stay so enjoyable and comfortable

Hope to see u again next year.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henny661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

This place has all the makings of a wonderful retreat. Unfortunately, our time there was disrupted by a lot of children.

Upon arrival we had to almost immediately change rooms due to an absolute riot occurring in the room next us. The staff were both gracious and obliging. Another guest promptly left the retreat early with some drama after having his massage disturbed by screaming kids. Our first morning's peace was then broken as a different family decided to congregate before 7.30am in the yoga room above many of the guest rooms, with children arguing and stomping about. The breakfast room was like a Club Med kids club and the tranquility was simply absent. We left to a separate pagoda area and found another couple and single traveller hiding from the chaos. They bemoaned to us having been woken by the yoga room marauders, the overrun breakfast area and children screaming about the retreat's grounds.

Richard, the owner is incredibly warm and genuine, and we enjoyed his company at mealtimes, but we think he would be well served making this place adults only.

The food was simply excellent. The dinner menu is stellar. The only disappointment was the use of quick instant oats in the breakfast muesli - it may have been instant porridge mix- which was an extra cost so really unacceptable. There were also several communication problems with waitstaff, including our reservation for dinner in the secluded lookout being cancelled because of a double booking. It would have been nice to find this out prior to arriving for our dinner looking forward to a romantic private evening in the lookout- we were told on arrival by the waitress we werent allowed to eat there as someone was having their birthday up there. Instead we ate with several others, who, like us, had been waiting to dine until after the cohort of children had disappeared.

The massage service was outstanding and the sounds of the jungle enhance the experience beautifully. It's reasonably priced.

We could see that Richard has created something wonderful here, and what was really sad for us was we didn't truly get to experience what this place was all about. Most likely we were on the wrong end of an unfortunate combination of events, but when you travel that far, and pay that much, it really needs more polish and a better policy on kids. The experience was not a 'retreat' for us.

Room Tip: Any room without a shared wall with someone below the age of 15.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lachlan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balimountainretreat, General Manager at Bali Mountain Retreat, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Lachlan,
Thank you for your review. Shame you were "on the wrong end of an unfortunate combination of events"
I feel it necessary to address a couple of issues.
This is the first time in many years that we have had a complaint about other guests children at BMR, maybe that is because we do not often have children staying with us as they usually prefer the tourist beach areas of Bali. Unfortunately we can not screen families before they arrive, I will ,however, look more closely at the emails in the future to try and avoid this situation happening again. Concerning your suggestion I make this an adults only guesthouse, I feel it very important to allow families with children to be able to enjoy this special part of Bali and enjoy nature, children should experience nature and develop a love and understanding for it.

We have now made sure the Yoga studio is locked early in the day, normally early morning Yoga is done in the Joglo, away from the rooms.
Concerning the noise of children in the restaurant during meal times.
We do have other areas ( the Cafe ) to have meals, the Birds nest is also available if someone hasn't prebooked this area for a special dinner. It is advisable to prebook the Birds Nest if you particularly want to have a private intimate dinner there. I will endeavour to make sure ALL staff are aware of prebooked arrangements such as this in the future.

Restaurant: " it may have been instant porridge mix- which was an extra cost so really unacceptable. "
We pride ourselves on the food quality and freshness, the Oats we use in the homemade Muesli is Havemont Oats from Australia,( the best available here) combined with freshly grated , dried coconut from the gardens and dried fruit. There is no extra cost for Muesli.

Lachlan, Such a shame you came in peak season, school holidays and encountered a very rare event here at Bali Mountain Retreat.
I hope you choose to come back sometime and experience the peace and tranquility so many of our guests comment on, a true haven from the hot, noisy tourist areas of Bali and where Balinese tradition still reigns.
Thank you
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

This is an amazing place to stay! Like everyone else says, the staff is super friendly. The place is very relaxing and it is great to get away from the hectic touristy spots. We did a cooking class, which I would highly recommend.

Sitting up in the 'Bird's Nest' with a cup of tea and a book, enjoying the view and the sound of birds is the way every holiday should be!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussieminer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Richard's great retreat center was one of the few places we could find which would make a reservation for us during Nyepi, the Balinese New Year. It coulnd't have been better. The Nyepi parade began at the foot of the driveway. With Richard's sarongs we were suitably dressed to follow the parade to the village for the burning of the ochre-ochres. Tea under the rice drier of one of Richard's friends capped the evening. The remainder of the week was one memory after another unfolding effortlessly as Richard and his staff took care of our every need. Overall, a lovely place to get away in the mountains of Bali.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluegrass49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

Wow! What an amazing place to say. I echo all the great feedback that other reviewers have written. This place is amazing. Just what I needed to chill out and relax. The staff are super nice. I came here with a reiki retreat group, and I cannot imagine a more suitable place for meditation. Richard had also organised cultural activities for us - cooking lessons, hike to the local temple, medical/nature walk, dance performances. I stayed in one of the ensuite rooms with a king size bed and a day bed overlooking the beautiful gardens. It was clean, cool, and roomy. The food was AMAZING. Massage is a must. And that clothes shop that Richard's wife runs... I couldn't stop buying the lovely locally made clothes. To top it off, they have 4 friendly cats that chill out around the property. Look for the big cat in the temple hut.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GraceFromSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tabanan
15.1 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bali Eco Stay Bungalows
Bali Eco Stay Bungalows
#1 of 53 in Tabanan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
2.1 mi away
Prana Dewi Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sarinbuana Eco Lodge
Sarinbuana Eco Lodge
#4 of 53 in Tabanan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
8.9 mi away
Aditya Homestay
Aditya Homestay
#1 of 26 in Munduk
5.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
5.1 mi away
Bali Lush
Bali Lush
#3 of 53 in Tabanan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bali Mountain Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bali Mountain Retreat

Property: Bali Mountain Retreat
Address: Br Biyahan | Desa Wanagiri, Tabanan 82113, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Tabanan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Tabanan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bali Mountain Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bali Mountain Retreat is nestled high on the eastern slopes of Mt Batukaru in traditional Bali. An amazing outlook to the coast, a natural setting amongst the food forest and drinking water direct from a spring on the mountain. In one direction you can trek in the last true national park in Bali and in the other stroll through the sculptured rice fields. With comfortable accommodation and delicious meals in a truly traditional setting, Bali Mountain retreat is a unique experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bali Mountain Retreat Hotel Tabanan
Bali Mountain Retreat Tabanan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing