We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice calm place in the hidden corner of Bali”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bali Mountain Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Nice place in the montain of Bali, calm and quiet, with good opportunity for trekking in the surroundings, all the good word said previously are true, but there;s couple issues that don't give me right to rate it 5 - first is overpriced and monotonous food and no options to eat somewhere else becouse it far from other restaurants or even local shops and second is thin walls between rooms so I heard our neighbors snoring at nihght and bathroom can be kept in better condition. Otherwise it's great place to stay !

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chapaev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (305)
There are newer reviews for Bali Mountain Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 305 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2012

My partner and I absolutely fell in love with this place. Even the drive to it was amazing, I couldn't get my head out of the window!!

Once there we fell into a easy routine of relaxation, eating and recuperating.

Food is magnificent, as are the juices! Staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. My partner and I hiked Mt Batakaru (definitely felt a bit of pain after that one...) and our guide Putu was excellent.

We really adored our stay here and will certainly be back.

Thanks Richard for the amazing retreat!!

Room Tip: Even the cheapy budget teak house room is spectacular!!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meegs9393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

How amazing and spiritual this place is..high in the mountains, peace and solitude. Comfortable accomodation, magnificent food and the most wonderful staff. Thank you for the experience Richard and staff.

Room Tip: Depends on your budget but all gorgeous rooms
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Never been in a place as genuine before. Great venue up in the remote Balinese mountains, true people, beautiful surroundings. Have not mentioned the extraordinary staff - friendly, personal and professional - not to mention Richard, who really makes the whole experience extra special with his very own personal approach. Food is beyond good! The whole venue is truly inspirational, I'll probably regret advertising this gem as there might just not be availability in this 10 room guest house, next time we book!

Room Tip: Greatest choice if you want to experience the real Bali!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erikaterborch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Lovely place, arranged with TASTE. Some kind of a mountain lodge, in the middle of cacao and coffee plantations. Great view from the restaurant, the garden is a delight.
A place that everyone shoud include in a "Bali trip schedule" !
Bonus : you will meet nice persons... Richard And Rani, your hosts.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Annaick_Tidas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Never have I felt the need to write a review of a place before I even completed my stay! Bali Mountain Retreat is simply fantastic, from the subtle nuances of excellent background music to the intricate designs of each and every dwelling. I am endlessly fascinated by the pathways and stepping stones between abodes, and seem to have a hard time straying far as there always seem to be couches or lounges yawning empty and patiently awaiting my presence. Richard has created something softly spectacular here and I am excited to see what the future holds as far as music-focused gatherings and the mountain retreat becoming a mecca for music lovers worldwide. The food is delectable and the staff, other travellers, and even the felines who wander about are all divine company. And if one happens to catch the invisible scent of something even more more effervescent, lingering in the damp midst around the mountain or in the rich leaves of the forest of trees...I suspect this is the true magic of the mountain, just waiting to be beheld...

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danielle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

we stayed here 3 nights lately and despite the awful weather all around bali we had a great time.
the service is great, the premises look fantastic and the location is magical.
on the couple of outings we made, we saw NO other tourists. Unspoilt Bali still exists.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank emmuel k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tabanan
12.9 mi away
Soori Bali
Soori Bali
#2 of 13 in Tabanan
690 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bali Eco Stay Bungalows
Bali Eco Stay Bungalows
#1 of 56 in Tabanan
484 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alassari Plantation
Alassari Plantation
#1 of 6 in Selemadeg
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sarinbuana Eco Lodge
Sarinbuana Eco Lodge
#4 of 56 in Tabanan
301 reviews
2.1 mi away
Prana Dewi Mountain Resort
5.1 mi away
Bali Lush
Bali Lush
#2 of 56 in Tabanan
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bali Mountain Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bali Mountain Retreat

Address: Br Biyahan | Desa Wanagiri, Tabanan 82113, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Tabanan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Tabanan
Price Range: $25 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bali Mountain Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bali Mountain Retreat is nestled high on the eastern slopes of Mt Batukaru in traditional Bali. An amazing outlook to the coast, a natural setting amongst the food forest and drinking water direct from a spring on the mountain. In one direction you can trek in the last true national park in Bali and in the other stroll through the sculptured rice fields. With comfortable accommodation and delicious meals in a truly traditional setting, Bali Mountain retreat is a unique experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bali Mountain Retreat Hotel Tabanan
Bali Mountain Retreat Tabanan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing