We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not just a great restaurant in gorgeous riverside location”
Review of Darmada Eco Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Darmada Eco Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Lilydale, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not just a great restaurant in gorgeous riverside location”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Darmada is the most exciting place I've experienced in many Bali trips. It is the first step in a local sustainability and social development project. The owners want to assist local farmers to farm sustainably to grow their community, rather than selling their land to developers. This is but one of their plans. They are embracing permaculture principles in their organic vegetable gardens, which supply some of the produce for their riverside restaurant, also used for after school programmes for local school kids.
We loved the very reasonably priced food, and became return customers. The black rice pudding was the best I've had and I was able to get a lesson! Not just after school education.
Darmada's evolution will be enriching to watch and I'll certainly be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    29
    5
    0
    5
See reviews for
25
51
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

For me Darmada is the most impressive place we stayed during our visites to Bali so far.
Not only is the location very beautiful and pure, the rooms cozy & clean, the food amazing and the staff very helpful, but it's the philosophy and thoughts of why Darmada is created.
3 days a week Darmada is a afterschool teaching facility for local children and we as tourists help them finance this project by staying over. To me this is the best way to experience the real Bali and give something in return to the locals.
I'm sure I will go back. Can't wait.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

A wonderful place to go in Sidemen. The rooms are beautiful and very clean. The garden and the swimming pool are lovely and the food is amazing. All staff is also very nice.
More over, this bed and breakfast has also a wonderful project for the children of sidemen, to give them after school classes!
In conclusion, I just recommand this place!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nonoche92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

I visited Darmada with my family in June and they had just opened since 3 weeks. When we visited there was still some minor construction going on (frontdesk) but that didn't bother us really. The staff were all very nice and we felt like being at home almost immediately. The owners were excellent hosts and always ready to assist.

I would definitely recommed Darmada to anyone who wants to get away from the hustle and bustle. The nature is beautiful and the way they have integrated the guesthouse with the local environment is stunning. We had a big river running alongside the property and a smaller river through the property. All rooms look over the smaller river and the bathroom is semi-outside.

There is no airconditioning in the rooms which was ok. Maybe they should consider having fans (maybe they do but I didn't ask or need it as it was cool in the night).

There are bugs flying around so better to turn of the lights at night. The beds have mosquito nets and the bugs didn't bother us really (we had a firefly in our room at night which was cool).

They have delicious homemade jam and all food is fresh and well prepared. We had to wait sometimes a long time to get our dish (I think because they are new at it) which didn't really bother us as we had all the time in the world.

I hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bori0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sidemen hotels
0.3 mi away
Samanvaya
Samanvaya
#1 of 4 in Sidemen
297 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sawah Indah Villa
Sawah Indah Villa
#1 of 17 in Sidemen
413 reviews
0.3 mi away
Giri Carik
Giri Carik
#3 of 17 in Sidemen
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Villa Sing Ken Ken
Villa Sing Ken Ken
#4 of 22 in Sidemen
41 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Shantiasa
Villa Shantiasa
#1 of 22 in Sidemen
70 reviews
0.5 mi away
Teras Bali Sidemen
Teras Bali Sidemen
#3 of 22 in Sidemen
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Darmada Eco Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Darmada Eco Resort

Property: Darmada Eco Resort
Address: Jl. Raya Darmada Banjar Tabola | Banjar Tabola, Sidemen 80864, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Sidemen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Sidemen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Darmada Eco Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Darmada. Situated on the ridge of the river Unda, in Sidemen Valley. Darmada was created to preserve nature and a holy spring. Darmada is an unique Eco resort offering 7 bungalows on one and half hectare of gorgeous, natural land. We have a spring fed swimming pool and an open air dinning space with spectacular views of the river and mountains.The design of the rooms brings together,old Dutch and Balinese elements. Each room has either a king size or 2 single beds with mosquito nets. The bathroom is half open and has a hot water shower. All rooms have gorgeous handmade cement tiles.Relax and enjoy the stunning views from both the front and the back terrace. Warung Melita is our outdoor dining area. We serve local and some western food with a local touch. Here you can enjoy your breakfast,lunch,dinner or just a snack with the sound and views of the river Unda. It is also possible to order take away lunches or snacks. Come in for a cup of coffee or tea with a muffin or some Balinese offering cakes. Let us make you a picnic basket and be surprised. We buy our organcic ingredients locally. We use local grown coffee, cocoa, pineapple, vanilla, eggs, coconuts, vegetables and meat. We have also started our own organic garden and will serve this, when available.There is also free natural spring water available for refilling your drinking bottle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Darmada Eco Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Darmada Eco Resort Sidemen, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing