We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just wonderful!”
Review of Subak Tabola Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Subak Tabola Villa
Ranked #5 of 17 Sidemen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Just wonderful!”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

This was the highlight of our trip to Bali, and probably the most beautiful place I have ever stayed! We stayed in the family villa which just amazing. We were slightly concerned that our children ( aged 7 and 9 ) might not appreciate the this place as much as ourselves, but they also were captivated, and felt like princes and princessess in our wonderful accomodation. One slight word of warning; I ran a bath for the kids in out huge outdoor bath, and put my foot in it to check the temperature and it was boiling hot! Apparently this is quite common in Indonesia, and very hot water is a sign of good quiality accomodation, but I was almost scalded, so just a word of warning to take care.
In terms of getting here, it's slightly off the beaten track, which is part of the attraction, but we got a taxi from Pangdabai for 175K Rp, and an onward taxi to the airport for 300K; I'm not sure if this was a reasonable deal or not, but I thought I would include it as a guide.
Our ( complimentary) guided walk through the paddy fields was truely wonderful, as was our trip up to the local temple ( the name escapes me I'm afraid); mainly beacuse of the beauty of the area and the friendliness of the local people. Rasmini and the other staff are lovely and get just the right balance between being attentive but not over-intrusive. Nothing to do with the villas, but we felt there was not much to see in the town of Sidemen itself but the surrounding rice terraces and villages around here are spectacular.
You really are in the country, which might not suit everyone; the sounds of the jungle will either keep you awake or loll you to a blissful sleep, and we saw a variety of wildlife in the area including giant ghekos, banana spiders, praying mantis and even a snake.
The pool is just lovely, surrounded by beautiful scenery, and I wish I was still there now! Overall, I had the most wonderful time here, and would recommend it to anyone wanting something just a little bit different. I would give it 6 stars if i could!

Room Tip: The family villa is just amazing and worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doctornicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    27
    4
    5
    2
See reviews for
41
75
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grass Valley, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We enjoyed 5 wonderful nights here. It has been our favorite stay in Bali so far! The staff were all so friendly and incredibly helpful. The grounds were wonderfully taken care of and the restaurant was delicious, and the view is stupendous! The room was very comfortable and we loved having an open air bathroom. The King size bed was luxurious!!! We are already thinking about coming back before our trip in Bali is over, and if not this trip, then the next one. We Highly recommend this place to anyone looking for some quiet and rejuvenating relaxation!
Thank you for the wonderful time,
Matthew and Emily

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emily N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We have absolutely loved our stay at Subak Tabola.
We love these unique Balinese style villa's and especially the warm welcoming feeling. The staff is very friendly, you can tell they really like to work here. We slept so well, the silence, the peace and especially the good mattress. We like the eco-friendly touch of this place, they provide water in glass bottles in the room and offer a glass of water with every meal. Lots of vegetables are organic from their own garden. The breakfast was a real feast! A big difference with the usual complimentary small breakfast they offer in Bali. The pool, the stunning rice terrace views , the lotus garden ...make it an unforgettable experience. With a view on Mount Agung in the morning.
We will be back soon:)
Gert

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a nice view:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GertD148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

When you want something else than the Bali beaches, definetely go here. This place truly has breathtaking amazing views. The villa's are surrounded by à beautiful garden. Furthermore there is à good restaurant and à refreshing pool. The Sidemen road area is à region quite far from the busy coastal cities where you wil find the real Bali.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

I stay one night in tabola in June 2012. It is a real Balinese style accomodation with large rooms, nice bed with nice mosquitoe netting.There were beds not chairs outside the main door for us to lay down and enjoy the scenic rice field view. It is newly acquired by the upmarket surya shanti villa and we could take breakfast at either places. The staff at the restaurant in tabola really try to please us. The portion was quite large. Tabola is surrounded by lots of greens and flowing water. The ground is well maintained and the rooms clean .It is a bit further in. But the staff was helpful and assist us in transferring our luggages to the next villa on checking out. We paid US$50 a night including breakfast but i believe it can be obtained at US45.Beside surya shanti in sideman currently this is the only villa with wifi (free)You will not regret staying here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jude2355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sidemen hotels
0.4 mi away
Samanvaya
Samanvaya
#1 of 4 in Sidemen
301 reviews
0.1 mi away
Surya Shanti Villa
Surya Shanti Villa
#2 of 4 in Sidemen
254 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sawah Indah Villa
Sawah Indah Villa
#1 of 17 in Sidemen
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cepik Villa
Cepik Villa
#2 of 17 in Sidemen
199 reviews
0.2 mi away
Teras Bali Sidemen
Teras Bali Sidemen
#3 of 23 in Sidemen
113 reviews
0.3 mi away
Embang Homestay
Embang Homestay
#4 of 17 in Sidemen
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Subak Tabola Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Subak Tabola Villa

Property: Subak Tabola Villa
Address: Br. Tebola, Sidemen, Karangasem, Sidemen 80864, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Sidemen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Sidemen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Subak Tabola Villa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Subak Tabola Villa is located at Sidemen village, east part of Bali. A simple hotel with ricefield and valley view. Consisting of 11 rooms, 1 swimming pool, 1 restaurant. It's a unforgettable site, you will be received as friends and will enjoy an authentic Balinese experience. Subak Tabola Villa is located at Sidemen village, east part of Bali. Simply designed in Balinese architecture surrounded by a marvelous view of ricefield , valley view and Mt. Agung It easy get by car, takes around a one and half hour drive from the airport. Open air restaurant in Balinese style , adjacent to the main swimming pool and offers ricefield and valley views. Lunch and Dinner selections are from the ala carte menu of international, Thai and local favorites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Subak Tabola Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Subak Tabola Villa Sidemen, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing