We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chakra massage”
Review of Samanvaya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Samanvaya
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sidemen
Certificate of Excellence
Coatepec, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Chakra massage”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

The most beautiful and peaceful location. The rooms and the bathroom are superb. The owner and the staff is great and fun. I really wished I could live there. And the best: Chakra massage!!! Heart smiles forever after!!!
Cristha reyes, Mexico

Room Tip: Every room is nice I bet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cristha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
au-fait-with-bali, Owner at Samanvaya, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
The beauty of Samanvaya is not just about the location and staff, but also guests like yourself. Thank you for sharing Samanvaya with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    66
    20
    9
    7
See reviews for
39
188
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We stayed for five nights at the Samanvaya. The staff was outstanding and the location in the middle of the rice field is breathtaking. The rooms are really nice and very clean. The view from all the rooms is excellent. Samanvaya is truly a boutique hotel with a very family like atmosphere (in a good way!). The food was very good and compared with the food at the local Warungs not over priced. Sideman as a location is really one in a million. If you're looking for a authentic and relaxed destination on Bali with lots of things to see and do and explore, Sideman is definitively the one !
The Samanvaya is perfect for couples! Because of it's laid back atmosphere probably one has to reconsider if travelling with children. The Spa is very good (try the Chakra Massage).
If we return to Sideman we would definitively choose Samanvaya again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Globetrotter_Basel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
au-fait-with-bali, Owner at Samanvaya, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Great comments, we all appreciate them, thank you so much and a warm welcome will be waiting for you when you return home to Samanvaya!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We were delighted with every aspect of our stay at Samanvaya, Our room was really special overlooking the pool and surrounding ricefields, the bed one of the most comfortable ever in 34 years of coming to Bali. If we had realised how lovely our stay at Samanvaya was to be we would have booked longer than 2 nights. The restaurant was superb and the service excellent from the young and enthusiastic staff. It was lovely to chat with the owner Christine about their experiences of building the resort and what they intend to do next on the property. The aspect is glorious and totally unforgettable. The garden is beautifully kept and has a wide variety of outstanding flowering plants as well as colourful tropical shrubs. Our cameras worked overtime . The serene Buddha under the pyramid in the spa is so tranquil and the massage so soothing and relaxing. Thank you Christine and John. PS No need for a fitness centre as this is a totally natural 'well being' experience. Bronwyn & Jeff Neutral Bay NSW Australia

Room Tip: The view from rooms in front of the pool is spectacular and the clever use of sheer privacy screens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BronwynLClarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
au-fait-with-bali, Owner at Samanvaya, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you both for your tremendous review! We reply to all of the comments and we have to admit, it does get harder as we go along to write a fresh reply, but always, the sincere thanks that we send to our guests for sharing their experience is always both heartfelt and appreciated.

You are not so far away, so we hope we can share this perfect little corner of Bali with you once again (and before too long)!

Safe travels....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We stayed for a night here after leaving Ubud. The hotel is set in a beautiful and peaceful location overlooking the rice terraces. The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful, particularly when our hire car had a punctured tyre (they immediately found someone to fix it for us while we waited). Also well worth mentioning was the fantastic (and vigorous!) massage one of us had (Chakra massage) arranged by the hotel. This is administered by Mangku Mastra, the village's holy man who is a yoga master, healer and meditation expert. The combination of ritual prayer, music and massage was very energising, and one of the best massages we had during the whole trip (we had quite a few!). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pedro82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
au-fait-with-bali, Owner at Samanvaya, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
One night definitely isn’t enough so we trust that you will return to Sidemen and Samanvaya! Our new Yoga and Spa centre which is going to be located in the heart of the rice field will be a great addition to Samanvaya and is scheduled to open summer 2014. Mangku Mastra will be continuing and extending his program. As you discovered, his deep spirituality is quite special and really is the epitome of the Sidemen Valley.

Thank you very much for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Samanvaya.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Having recently spent 8 nights at Samanvaya I can only describe my time as 'relaxing' 'stunning' and 'very peaceful'. If you want to experience the real Bali then look no further than this fabulous villa nestled in the heart of Sidemen.

ALL of the staff are warm and very welcoming. The rooms are clean and beautifully appointed and all have breathtaking views of the rice paddy fields in Sidemen Village. Christine and John are the perfect hosts and after coming to Bali myself for many years now I have to say Samanvaya is perfect in every way and I will definitely be visiting again.

The majority of reviews for Samanvaya are excellent, so I do QUESTION any negative reviews posted - keeping in mind this is not a 5 star resort in Kuta, After my 8 nights recently staying at Samanvaya for the first time, I have absolutely no reason to complain - so do not read bad reviews. This place is like a piece of heaven.... and not for the narrow minded who come to Bali only to stay in concrete 5 star hotels in Kuta.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BEST_Bali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
au-fait-with-bali, Owner at Samanvaya, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Our sincere thanks on behalf of our amazing staff who work so hard and care so much for our guests during their stay. Reviews like this are just inspirational for them and us, Thank you very much.

When you return to Bali, please allow us to share Samanvaya with you once again as it was our pleasure to have you, not just a guest, but as part of the Samanvaya family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

this small ressort is charming, enbedded in a stunning landscape. the lodges war very nice designed and well maintained. staff is selfconcious, proud to work there and always ready for a short chat!so we are very happy with our two days "off" from ubud!
so this was really value for money! next time i will book direct, not through a travel portal.akasha

Room Tip: lotus 1 or lotus 2 is a little bit away from restaurant. more privacy at the verandah!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Akasha Brigitte A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
au-fait-with-bali, Owner at Samanvaya, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Thank you very much for your super comments! Please do come back and visit us as a very warm welcome will be waiting for you and don't forget to check out our promotional offers which are available when booking direct on our website.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

This was the worst part of our trip. It was so terrible, in fact, that we left before schedule without a refund and paid extra to stay at another place.

It started with us losing water in our room. It just stopped 3 minutes into my husbands shower, right after he lathered up. Poor guy had to towel off the soap. Not even just no hot water, which the hotel book does sometimes say they run out of, but no water at all. I didn't get to shower at all and I don't know about you, but I'm definitely cranky when I have to go to bed after a hot and sticky day in Bali without a shower!

We tried calling the hotel operator 3 times about the water but with no response. No other numbers provided to dial. If anything goes wrong, you're on your own. The scary thing is, what if it had been a real medical emergency? We would have been stuck in the middle of nowhere with no help, no car, and not even a flashlight.

The terrible saga continues the next day. The manager/owner was extremely condescending when we told her about the water problem. Instead of responding with "I'm so sorry that happened to you," she says, "Oh we never have water problems here. That just doesn't happen." She turns to the obviously uncomfortable desk attendant next to her and says, "we never have any water problems here, do we?" Ummm... We were trying to tell her about a problem that we had and she responds by telling us that it never happened? That's like a customer saying "hey we have a problem," and management responding with "no you don't. We don't have any problems here." Unbelievable. She ended up in a shouting match with my husband which was very shocking and unprofessional.

The place also has a major insect problem. We found a dead moth on our bed when we checked in, which is not what you're expecting when you're on your honeymoon! There were also a ton of other insects in the bedroom, bathroom, everywhere, which we were afraid of crawling into our suitcases.

Because of all this, we decided to check out early. Again, no apology, no offer of doing something to make our experience better. No offer of not charging us for the unused day even though we clearly had a terrible enough time to warrant checking in elsewhere. I guess the owner knew that she could get the money for two full days even though our experience was so bad that we didn't stay the second day.

Maybe this place once had higher standards, but if you get high and mighty and stop caring about customers, they are not going to stick around!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chenj33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
au-fait-with-bali, Owner at Samanvaya, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
NEVER did you mention that your husband is the most foul mouthed person we have had the displeasure of having stay at our beautiful resort. He was extremely abusive shouting f***g this and f**g that and was very aggressive and threatening when he also barged into the back office, Is it any wonder our staff were so uncomfortable and upset?
The only shouting was done by your husband with his paranoid rants and it was therefore difficult to have any sort of conversation with either of you. You had no concern for anyone including other guests, except for yourselves and neither of you seem at all embarrassed by his tirade of abuse. If you had continued, the police would have been called.

It is important for TA viewers to understand, people can write what they wish, truth or lie, and you seem to have done the latter:
We have a full water supply to the resort, but as our information book says, there is a time each morning and night when the mains water is diverted to the village from the valley and it takes just a handful of minutes to switch to our large storage tanks. WE HAVE NEVER RUN OUT OF WATER as you say but at NO time did anyone including myself say what you have written.
The restaurant was busy when you said you left and returned to shower. The staff did not hear the telephone, but you were not bothered enough to walk 25 metres from your lodge to speak to them. By the way, all lodges have a large emergency portable light and we live on site as our guests know.
You sent an email late on the night before you arrived stating that you don’t like insects and you were hysterical about a moth landing on your bed. Why did you come to the tropics?? However, the resort is NOT crawling with insects as you say and we have an incredibly high standard of cleanliness and to tell us we have hygiene issues is ludicrous.

You used our mobile to spend 15 minutes calling a hotel, while you had your phone tucked in your other hand and then you think we are rude to ask if you will be much longer as others could not get through to us, ‘not our problem’ was your reply.

You advised us at 1415 hrs that you had no water the night before and that you had an insect land on your bed. You said you were leaving although you continued to stay at the hotel until 1800 hrs and then left by car. You were due to depart the following morning. Why should you be entitled to any refund, because you threatened us?

It is a pleasure to serve the overwhelming majority of our guests however you are in a category all of your own and were extremely unpleasant to deal with. If you don’t like insects of any kind, perhaps you should have done a little more homework and stayed somewhere more sterile for your holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sidemen
0.3 mi away
Surya Shanti Villa
Surya Shanti Villa
#2 of 4 in Sidemen
254 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sawah Indah Villa
Sawah Indah Villa
#1 of 17 in Sidemen
420 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cepik Villa
Cepik Villa
#2 of 17 in Sidemen
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Embang Homestay
Embang Homestay
#4 of 17 in Sidemen
55 reviews
6.8 mi away
Alila Manggis
Alila Manggis
#1 of 8 in Manggis
1,145 reviews
0.2 mi away
Teras Bali Sidemen
Teras Bali Sidemen
#3 of 23 in Sidemen
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samanvaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samanvaya

Property: Samanvaya
Address: Br. Tabola, Sidemen 80846, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Sidemen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sidemen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Samanvaya 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samanvaya, a small and intimate boutique resort, nestles perfectly on the sweeping rice terraces of the Sidemen Valley on the tropical island of Bali.The word Samanvaya comes from the ancient Hindu language of Sanskrit and translated, means ‘Harmony’, a perfect interpretation of the resorts stunning location and ethos.Only one and a half hours from the international airport and half an hour from the coast, Sidemen represents the true Bali that most people still dream about, the Bali of years gone by. Here, a strong cultural identity and religious beliefs are retained and are reflected throughout the traditional Balinese communities of the Sidemen Valley.At Samanvaya, we would like to warmly welcome you as our guest and invite you to just relax and enjoy the comfort and tranquillity of our resort whilst embracing the natural beauty and simplicity of life in the Sidemen Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Samanvaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samanvaya Sidemen, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing