We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review for restaurant only.”
Review of Samanvaya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Samanvaya
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sidemen
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Review for restaurant only.”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

As frequent visitors to Sideman, my husband and I recently ate dinner at Samanvaya with 2 friends. It is obvious that the owners are trying very hard and I commend them for that. But, we found the long menu to be too much. We all agreed that it would have been so much nicer just to have a few specials each day to choose from instead of laboring over an extensive menu. Especially when 2 of the entrees we ordered were not available (we were only told this after our menus were taken and the waitperson returned 10 minutes later). I could have told you that this would happen. One of our friends ordered the potatoes au gratin and said that they had ice chunks in them. Hmmm. The menu was also very heavy with meat items - no salads or light meals of any kind. The lightest thing one person in our party could find was bruschetta. But the bread was not toasted and the tomato topping was very bland. I've seen this so many times before... lots and lots of choices.. but none executed very well. I'd love to try this restaurant again as the setting is lovely. But, not with the current menu they offer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dangerkitty18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
au-fait-with-bali, Owner at Samanvaya, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you for your comments as that is where we learn how we are developing, but it is disappointing to hear about this some three months afterwards and at this stage, we do not recall your visit. We are horrified to read that your potato dish was partially frozen. If you had spoken about it at the time, it would have allowed us to resolve the issue immediately.

Since we have opened, we have reviewed our day and evening menu several times and for the moment we are happy with its balance. It is always difficult to provide a constant supply of some items on the menu purely because Sidemen has such few numbers of visitors and there are no deliveries available. We may be in the fields but it is a minimum of a 2 hr drive to buy lettuce and other such products, so there are often times when we run out of a particular item although the staff should have advised you in the first instance.

We are trying to do something different in Sidemen rather than the usual Thai or Indonesian food, and from your comments, we don’t always get it perfect. We trust that the rest of your meal was to a good standard, which is what we strive for.

As frequent travelers, do come back and see how we have progressed as you will be most welcomed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    66
    20
    9
    7
See reviews for
39
188
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Samanvaya is a beautiful blend of the best of Balinese and Western cultures. Set overlooking magnificent scenery, this is the pick of accommodation in the area.
We recently spent 4 nights there and after 8 visits to Bali, we would say Samanvaya is one of the best, small hotels we have come across in Bali. It is well priced, very clean and very comfortable
There are many activities on offer but if your thing is to have lazy days by the pool and and enjoy glorious views this is the place for you.
Trips out are organised with reliable and careful drivers, and are well priced.
There is a selection of food and drinks available for purchase in the rooms, which is great when you are a little off the beaten track.
The hosts, (Christine and John) and staff ensure your stay meets your needs and more, without being intrusive.
The restaurant offers a wide variety of Balinese and Western food, which is delicious and beautifully presented.
We would go back to Bali just to stay here once again. Thanks to all at Samanvaya for making our stay the 'Best of Bali'.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the Lotus rooms, and it is a well proportioned room, with a lovely bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelrulesAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
au-fait-with-bali, Owner at Samanvaya, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Samanvaya has been receiving guests for 6 months now and in that time it has been a huge learning curve for everyone here. The staff (all local and without previous formal training) have been fantastic and to receive such comments from guests is truly inspirational and rewarding for them.

We are a 'work in progress' and will continue to explore ways to enhance our guest experience.

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about Samanvaya and it was our great pleasure to welcome you here and hope that we can do so again in the not too distant future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Very nice and quite hotel, located between beautiful rice paddies.
The rooms are very clean, staff is very friendly and helpful.
The restaurant is also very good!
The views in the area are amazing, an excellent place to walk.


Maybe a small point of critisism are the prices of the activities suggested in the hotel brochure.
Also, if you book the trek on mount Agung, be sure to be prepared and fit for a hard climb.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at Samanvaya very much!

Room Tip: dont book the room closest to reception, as it is a little more noisier then the others
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
au-fait-with-bali, Owner at Samanvaya, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Many thanks for such positive comments and we are always delighted to receive feedback from our guests and to know their stay at Samanvaya was memorable .

We take all comments received and review them carefully. We agree, transport here in the valley tends to be a little more expensive than in the south of the island or Ubud, maybe because there are far fewer clients in the area and therefore drivers have to charge more to earn a modest income.

We have our regular drivers, (one of which has been with us 18 years!) all are very reliable, professional and trustworthy. Importantly, many visitors to Bali don't realise, that without a small metal plate on a car registration, passengers are not insured. Here at Samanvaya all of our guests are insured when travelling in our vehicles.

We hope that this explanation gives visitors to Sidemen a better understanding of your valid comments.

Once again, thank you and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crans-Montana, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Very nice property and amenities in the room. View is also gorgeous overlooking the valley. Food is just average and breakfast is quite simple.
We have asked for a later check out time than 11 A.M. and the receptionist said we have to leave then because the housekeeping staff are quite busy with the other rooms. There were only 3 rooms occupied during our stay.
Hope that service can be improved considering they are a new hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rswiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
au-fait-with-bali, Owner at Samanvaya, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our resort and are pleased to learn that you were delighted about Samanvaya's stunning location and its high quality lodge accommodation.

We are however, sorry that the restaurant did not exceed your expectations although we feel that breakfast is quite substantial, ie, juice, fresh fruit, cereal, toast, freshly baked french bread and jams, all of which guests are able to help themselves from the buffet. In addition, an American or Indonesian breakfast or pancakes is also cooked on demand.

If a guest requests a late check out, we can arrange this, but only if their particular lodge is not booked later that day (as it would be unfair for us to delay entry for an incoming guest). If this is the case, our departing guests are welcome to use the facilities of the resort for as long as they wish, including a private shower.

It is sometimes difficult to accommodate a late check out request as we only have 2 lodges of each style and apologize if this information was not conveyed properly at the time.

Once again, our thanks for both your negative and positive comments which, ultimately helps our Management and staff to get everything 'right' for future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vejen
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

This is a paradise place!!!New boutique hotel with amazing style.Perfect location if you want to know more about a real balinesian life.Recommend to book trekking around a the valley-incredible landskape!!!All lodges has a view over the valley.The restaurant make a very good food -a good mix between indonesian and european kitchen .The owners take care for me from the begining to the end -they make come true all my wishes.They will help you with everything-just ask.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kasabov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
au-fait-with-bali, Owner at Samanvaya, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
It is our third month since opening Samanvaya. All of the staff are dedicated to making it a memorable experience for our guests so when we get such positive feedback it is very much appreciated, thank you and we hope you will one day return to Bali, and to Samanvaya!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Samanvaya nestled in the rice fields in Sidemen, Bali, is the perfect place to relax and to explore from. The owner's Christine and John, with their staff extend their service beyond the norm by making you feel very much at home. Rooms over-looking the infinity pool and rice terraces are tastefully furnished - attention to detail has been well thought out. Highly recommended for those after a touch of pizzazz!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LPho2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
au-fait-with-bali, Owner at Samanvaya, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you so very much for you great comments and hope that we will be able to welcome you back to this little corner of paradise in the not too distant future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent uk
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

This hotel has recently opened and you can see that the owners have a very fine eye for detail which gave the wow factor on arrival. The food was very authentic and well presented and the service was very good. No rush here ! a lovely relaxed atmosphere and a great pool and you have to test out the spa..... overall a very good value for money stay and we will be back.....Give it a try you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ackerKentUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
au-fait-with-bali, Owner at Samanvaya, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Many thanks for your positive review and we hope that you will be able to join us again at Samanvaya in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sidemen hotels
0.3 mi away
Surya Shanti Villa
Surya Shanti Villa
#2 of 4 in Sidemen
253 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sawah Indah Villa
Sawah Indah Villa
#1 of 17 in Sidemen
419 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cepik Villa
Cepik Villa
#2 of 17 in Sidemen
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Giri Carik
Giri Carik
#3 of 17 in Sidemen
181 reviews
0.1 mi away
Embang Homestay
Embang Homestay
#4 of 17 in Sidemen
55 reviews
0.2 mi away
Teras Bali Sidemen
Teras Bali Sidemen
#3 of 23 in Sidemen
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samanvaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samanvaya

Property: Samanvaya
Address: Br. Tabola, Sidemen 80846, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Sidemen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sidemen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Samanvaya 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samanvaya, a small and intimate boutique resort, nestles perfectly on the sweeping rice terraces of the Sidemen Valley on the tropical island of Bali.The word Samanvaya comes from the ancient Hindu language of Sanskrit and translated, means ‘Harmony’, a perfect interpretation of the resorts stunning location and ethos.Only one and a half hours from the international airport and half an hour from the coast, Sidemen represents the true Bali that most people still dream about, the Bali of years gone by. Here, a strong cultural identity and religious beliefs are retained and are reflected throughout the traditional Balinese communities of the Sidemen Valley.At Samanvaya, we would like to warmly welcome you as our guest and invite you to just relax and enjoy the comfort and tranquillity of our resort whilst embracing the natural beauty and simplicity of life in the Sidemen Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Samanvaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samanvaya Sidemen, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing