We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't think of better choice”
Review of Sawah Indah Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sawah Indah Villa
Ranked #1 of 17 Sidemen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Prague
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Can't think of better choice”
Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from Bali and without a doubt can say that Sawah Indah was the best experience in all Bali. If any spirit of "Eat, Pray, Love" still exist in Bali - that would be there (we did not found it anywhere else).
We stayed in family room which was perfect - lot of space, stunning views.
Service was excellent. Our daughter (6 years old) was constantly engaged with staff in doing something, perhaps even annoying. :) No single complain from them and always welcome. Smiles all the time.

The only reason that we did not gave 5 points is food. While breakfast was very good, rest of food is not so good. We found easy solution walking 200m up hill to warung, but if SH would have better lunch/dinner - would be absolutely perfect.
BTW - they are building new restaurant house (looked like about to finish). Maybe they will get good chef then. In that case 5 points would go without a doubt.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tomas_Kvedaravicius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    120
    22
    11
    4
See reviews for
82
241
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

The villa is a two-hour drive from the airport. We stayed one night at this villa after a day tour of Ubud.
The accommodations were simple but comfortable and charming. The villa, set amid terraces, is amazing. There were lots of mosquitoes at night but we brought anti-mozzie lotion. You can hear the frogs croak and the crickets chirp while gazing at the moon.
We thoroughly enjoyed our very short stay and wished we stayed longer.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank openlancelot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

I intended to stay 2 nights but extended my stay to 4 before moving to a cheaper hotel a little further along the road. I loved my room and spent most of the day on the balcony just looking at the view. Staff were friendly and helpful without being intrusive. The restaurant serves good simple meals; I'm vegetarian and particularly loved their tempe curry. When I stayed the pool was still being built so it was a little noisy; there seems to be a lot of development happening in sidemen so you can hear construction noise in the distance all around which is a pity.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank perryale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Sidemen is the most beautiful place I've been in Bali, and my little cottage at Sawah Indah was easily the nicest room I stayed in this trip, decorated with antiques but also a safe, modern bathroom, great fan, and fridge. Big comfortable bed and mosquito net.

The only downside was construction next door on the next office, but construction is a problem virtually everywhere in Bali.

There is almost nothing to do in Sidemen, especially when it rains. I had a massage (at higher prices than elsewhere in Bali, but still only 120,000 for an hour) and sat on my porch and read. Fortunately wifi is fast, and you are somewhere truly stunning in every direction.

Staff is sweet as can be. A shuttle (even for a few dollars extra) would be helpful or any rainy day activities. I walked to town twice, once to try to use an ATM (which didn't work with my card). The walk isn't all that scenic, though it does give you a feel for the town and a chance to talk to local kids.

Food quality varies; I ate a lot of meals at the hotel because of the rain, though there are other options within 1/4 mile walk. I liked the Thai food better than Indonesian food; fresh bread with breakfast is very good.

Truly a lovely place.

Room Tip: Ask for the joglo for one or two people. It's tiny, mostly bed with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itsWindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

We spent two nights in sawah Indah!The view and the swimming pool are stunning! We didn't like the massage though; the food was ok ( don't expect too much, this is not a big restaurant).But apart from this episode, all the rest was great! We wish we could stay longer!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank C-Smiley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Stunning views from our second storey deluxe rooms from volcanos,mountains to the lushpaddy fields and life ambling gently around. The chakra massage by the local priest/ healer was particulary memorable and beneficial and to be highly recommended. The gardens and pool superb. A reception, new kitchen and dining area are under construction and will add to the wonderful experience

Room Tip: Room number 2 deluxe overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Sawah Indah is set in the most beautifully green rice terraces, with the lovely sounds of water flowing, roosters, crickets, frogs and geckos. The two standard rooms were fairly basic so it may be worth upgrading to a deluxe room. There was inadequate lighting to read in bed and only one electrical outlet that was taken up by fan and fridge. The restaurant is mediocre at best - the chicken curry was not hot (temperature-wise) when it arrived at the table, tough piece of breast that wasn't cooked through. The fish in banana leaves was super-fishy tasting and not very appetizing, and we waited over an hour for our two meals when we were the only table filled. Thankfully, the sounds of the night were soothing enough to muffle the sounds of our rumbling tummies. The photos of the food on the website are NOT representative of how the actual food looks when it arrives on the table. There is no reception area, and seemingly no-one in charge so it is hard to know who to ask for help. The hour-long massage was in the lovely open-air hut with nothing but the rice terraces for walls. Unfortunately, the massage was awful - the young woman talked on her cell phone and checked text messages during my session, her technique when she was actually massaging was very rough and rushed, and the second it was over, I was unceremoniously hustled out of the hut so she could make room for the next customer. I wasn't even given the chance to get dressed so had to dash back to my room wrapped in the massage sheet. We appreciated being able to rent scooters cor about $7 per day, although one of them ran out of gas within a couple kms as the gas gauges don't work. It was fun to explore the rice terrace landscape, stopping along the way at some weaving shops, the Sanut tile factory and a silversmith in the area. Overall, a beautiful setting but the accompanying amenities need some serious upgrades.

Room Tip: The standard room in the big main building was nicer than the one in the smaller building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wandernotlost1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sidemen hotels
0.0 mi away
Samanvaya
Samanvaya
#1 of 4 in Sidemen
301 reviews
0.3 mi away
Surya Shanti Villa
Surya Shanti Villa
#2 of 4 in Sidemen
254 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cepik Villa
Cepik Villa
#2 of 17 in Sidemen
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Giri Carik
Giri Carik
#3 of 17 in Sidemen
181 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lihat Sawah Guest House
Lihat Sawah Guest House
#6 of 17 in Sidemen
125 reviews
0.1 mi away
Teras Bali Sidemen
Teras Bali Sidemen
#3 of 23 in Sidemen
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sawah Indah Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sawah Indah Villa

Property: Sawah Indah Villa
Address: Br.Tebola, Sidemen, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Sidemen
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Sidemen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sawah Indah Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sawah Indah Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sawah Indah Villa Sidemen, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing