We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely bungalows with a view!”
Review of Giri Carik

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Giri Carik
Ranked #4 of 18 Sidemen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Sidemen for three nights. The bungalows offer a great view on the rice fields and the Gunung Agung. The bungalows are neat with a shower in the open air. But above all, the girl running the place with her mother shows great hospitality. We would absolutely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimVerw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (188)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 188 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2013

This place is so cute and charming. When we stayed they had just 2 bungalows overlooking beautiful rice paddies.

Its family owned and they are lovely people. The volcano is right in front of you too. What views. Walks in amazing scenery. The rooms are clean, spacious and light. Breakfasts are great too. Just stay!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulFarrugia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

There are good places to stay, there are excellent places to stay, and then there's Giri Carik. My partner and I had initially planned to stay a few nights in Padang Bai but booked here for two nights instead off the back of the excellent trip advisor reviews and ended up staying and extra night because it was so great we didn't want to leave.

Komang and her family, who live in the village a two minute walk away, were the perfect hosts and we were made to feel like VIPs from the minute we arrived. The bungalows are all really new, immaculately clean and beautifully decorated with views of the rice paddies and the impressive Agung volcano on the horizon. There is no air con because at that altitude you don't need it, and the roofless bathroom had a brilliant both shower and was a lovely touch.

It's wonderfully peaceful and there were lots of lovely things to do. We took a guided stroll through the rice fields with Made, who pointed out all the different crops and was an excellent source of information, since like most of the people we met there his family has some rice fields. He also took us up the volcano, which although not as easy as we had anticipated, was a brilliant experience and made us appreciate the view even more on our return!

Komang is the perfect host, very attentive, welcoming and open, and extremely thoughtful. She is a great cook and makes excellent papaya and lime jam! We ate at Giri Carik each night and loved every dish. She organised every activity for us through her many connections, at a good rate. Most of the people who helped make our stay so lovely were members of her family and extended family - her brother booked our boat to the Gili Islands, her uncle and cousin drove us around, her mum made us a special black rice pudding and her aunt invited us to her home to show us traditional weaving. When we needed to do some washing and the local laundrette was closed, Komang did it herself for us.

We had a wonderful stay and will remember it as one of the highlights of our ten week trip. We are even hoping to to return next week on our way back through Bali. We honestly could not recommend this place enough but unfortunately ten points is the maximum we can give it!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maggie_Bobbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Sleeping with the doors wide open and a cool breeze wafting in with the sounds of crickets, geckos and wildlife? Waking to a full frontal view of Mt Agung across brilliant green rice paddies and jungle? Eating delicious food prepared by Mama in the tiny Warung? Going for long rambling walks through the most beautiful scenery and meeting beautiful people along the way? It simply doesn't get any better than this.

Thanks to Komang and her family for a wonderful stay, people will tell you 'there's nothing to do in Sidemen', and they're right - but it is a completely seductive and charming 'nothing'. It's also a joy to stay with a local family in a Balinese owned guest house.

I can't recommend Giri Carik highly enough - we'll be back as soon as we can!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank km1Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

GiriCarik is just awesome! Breath-taking great view of the rice fields and the amazing mount Agung smack right before your eyes. We were mesmerize by the view and peacefulness of the surroundings. The room is spacious, neat and comfortable with attached clean toilet. Komang prepared delicious banana pancakes for breakfast. Great hospitality too. Would definitely come back here!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rosm33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

This "guest house" in the rice fields of Sidemen is a perfect place to relax and soak in the beautiful surroundings. There are 3 standalone rooms, which all face out towards the rice fields and the volcano (when it's not hidden by the clouds). The furnishing are basic but comfortable. Komang is an excellent host who will make you a great breakfast, organise local activities (like walking through the rice fields or trekking up the volcano), and will also prepare dinner for you. I'd highly recommend staying here if you have the chance. It's a side of Bali that so few people make an effort to see and they are certainly missing out!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scarletmelete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We traveled in Bali end of September 2012 and discover this little accommodation surrounding rice fields. Accommodation are simple and great, with a wonderful view. You do not need anything else, just tranquility.

Komang take care of you every days with warm attentions and also very good dishes!
You wan't more? Go there and you will meet awesome persons and have a lot of good informations to enjoy your trip in Bali.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2NiG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sidemen hotels
0.1 mi away
Samanvaya
Samanvaya
#1 of 4 in Sidemen
326 reviews
0.4 mi away
Surya Shanti Villa
Surya Shanti Villa
#2 of 4 in Sidemen
264 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sawah Indah Villa
Sawah Indah Villa
#2 of 18 in Sidemen
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Teras Bali Sidemen
Teras Bali Sidemen
#4 of 26 in Sidemen
123 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cepik Villa
Cepik Villa
#1 of 18 in Sidemen
223 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Pelangi Sidemen
Villa Pelangi Sidemen
#17 of 26 in Sidemen
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Giri Carik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giri Carik

Address: Sidemen, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Sidemen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Sidemen
Price Range: $22 - $34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Giri Carik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giri Carik Sidemen, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing