We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Surya Shanti Villa
Nearby Hotels
Arta Nadi Villa(Sidemen)(Great Value!)
$29
$21
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cepik Villa(Sidemen)
$116
$49
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Darmada Eco Resort(Sidemen)(Great Value!)
$29
$28
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Teras Bali Sidemen(Sidemen)(Great Value!)
$45
$24
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Shantiasa(Sidemen)(Great Value!)
$26
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lihat Sawah Guest House(Sidemen)(Great Value!)
$23
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Giri Carik(Sidemen)(Great Value!)
$22
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Samanvaya(Sidemen)
$88
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$116
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sawah Indah Villa(Sidemen)(Great Value!)
$70
$65
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (288)
Filter reviews
288 results
Traveler rating
222
40
19
4
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
222
40
19
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscooking classrice fieldssister hotelspa treatmentsspent nightsauthentic balia special placemezzaninepoolsparadisevillaviewsspasyogavolcanopeaceescape
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 288 reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I was first enchanted by Surya Shanti a year ago, and could not wait to return. My recent visit not only did not disappoint, it actually was even more enchanting that the first. Sidemen is a quiet town in the hills, known primarily for its songket weavers. And Surya Shanti's location on one of the hillsides assures that there is always a slight breeze. During the day, the vistas are the bright greens of the rice padis and the deeper greens of the forested hillsides. At night you can see across the sea far below to the lights of Nusa Penida. And you can enjoy all of these things from your private porch or patio, from the infinity pools, or from the lovely dining area. Every room is delightful, the spa is charming and the massage therapists skilled, and the food is delicious. I was ill one day while we were there, and I cannot think of a sweeter place to recuperate or a more solicitous staff always ready to bring more juices or chicken soup. Be sure to ask if the children are rehearsing the evening you are there: they are delightful, and welcoming. One little gentleman came to me, bowed, and invited me to dance!

Room Tip: The Valley View rooms are lovely and the lowest price. Agung Views are also charming, and the Villa Mezzanine is the piece de resistance.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susanruddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We expected this to be a special meal. We felt the pricing was good. Service was excellent. We ordered Tempe Goreng and Peanut Crusted Shrimp for entree. The tempe was very basic in presentation and better suited as a beer snack to share in a group, but the prawns were excellent. We were offered complementary water and some nibbles of nuts, and bread sticks whilst , which was a positive. Mains were disappointing - spare ribs and tofu curry. Ribs were charred and then coated in a tomato based sauce. Prices were reasonable.

I asked if it would be possible to see a room later when I dropped in to make a dinner booking. I mentioned seeing a room before dinner. We were told the hotel was very quiet. After dinner when we asked to see a room, it was suddenly not possible to see a room after checking with the manager. The site is very steep with many steps to get from the car park to the restaurant, The accommodation was above the restaurant with more steps obvious between the restaurant and the accommodation. The site looks well established and rooms appear to have excellent views down the valley.

Room Tip: Unable to even see a room when the place was pretty empty
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We spent three nights at Surya Shanti after a couple of nights in Seminyak - what a peaceful haven. We had a gorgeous room and there were only ever two other couples staying. Food was good but not perfect. Service was pretty good and very individual.
We had a great tour of the local rice paddy farms and awesome massages.
This is a gorgeous setting that we really were pleased to experience this side of Bali and totally recommend it.
FYI this is a steep hotel and would not be suitable for everyone. You have to climb stairs everywhere.
We had fabulous lunch at Warung Ida about 15 mins walk up the road - highly recommended.
Oh the pool is awesome!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Kiwicossie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I booked this place as it was my partners birthday. The location was superb with beautiful panorama views andI quiet set in serene surroundings. When i say quiet we had the whole resort to ourselves! It was magical! The pools are great we were lucky enough to be able to swim in the private villa's pool because we where the only people there. Amazing!

If you are there with your loved one i cannot highly recommend enough you book the lovers package. It was the highlight of our trip great romantic dinner, flowers, cake and the best massage in Bali. We didn't end up leaving this property not once we were very content on doing nothing but swimming, relaxing and watching the sunset. We stayed 3 nights and did not get bored of the scenery.

We stayed in one of the valley view rooms and the outdoor bathroom was just amazing as well as a big stone bath tub filled with rose petals. As for the restaurant breakfasts where big and plentiful lunch and dinner options where good with the seafood being a real standout. We also tried the 'duck buetutu' which was good however we heard our dinner turning into dinner while eating our lunch - at least you can say it was fresh!

All up fantastic stay!

This place does take credit cards.

Room Tip: Sitar room has a big beautiful outdoor shower garden and big enough for 2 stone bathtub, very romantic!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonniemccarthy29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This was definatly a great place to escape from all big touristic places on the Island. Surya Shanti is a wonderfull and peacefull place to stay. I've stayed in the wooden house, this was a great place in the middle of the rice paddies. Great outside bathroom with a big bath and great terrace with a lounge.
Gade is the most warm and really the best host in this area. He helps and advices you wherever he can and he his so kind.
I also can recommend a massage in the spa, very nice and in also in the middle of the rice paddies.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Renske V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews