We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic balcony! Excellent food. Room so-so.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lihat Sawah Guest House
Ranked #6 of 18 Sidemen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fantastic balcony! Excellent food. Room so-so.”
Reviewed April 5, 2010

Lihat Sawah sits just on the outskirts withink easy walking distance of the town. We stayed 3 nights here to take in quiet and rural Bali. Views from the balcony were gorgeous, but you do get alot of early morning road noise as motorbikes and lorries come up the hill heading to the market. The room could have been cleaner, but was comfortable enough for our needs. The shower was awkward because you had to hold the spray nozzle while standing/sitting in the bath tub. The restaurant served absolutely brilliant food! If you stay here, do walk the roads around the neighboring villages. It's the most picturesque area of Bali that we visited. The accommodations all seem to have been built in different stages and some are owned by foreigners but rented out by the property owner.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TayDa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    46
    21
    10
    6
See reviews for
36
50
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
184 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2010

but because there are not many places to stay - choice is limited. Lihat Sawah is in a very picturesqe setting and we were lucky enough to get a glimpse of Agung early one morning which was a treat. Unfortunately it rained heavily for most of our stay which meant we only had a morning to explore the heavenly little village of Sideman . We went on a long walk and enjoyed the most breathtaking views from the hills. The local children were intrigued by our 3 tall sons and were friendly and cheeky - very cute :)
We had the two storied bungalow and it was comfortable with 2 big decks to sit out on. The beds were not particularly clean or comfortable and we were without water in both bathrooms all night. The food was ok but they had a very smelly black dogs sitting on the chairs which was a bit off putting and a couple of days later I had ringworm which I highly suspect came from the dog !
Staff were friendly enough but we checked out a few days early because of the less than wonderful bedding and bad weather.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MickiAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2010

An absolutely fantastic position looking over the rice terraces up to Agung volcano. We had the suite room (make sure you get upstairs as if you are downstairs the upstairs people have to cut across your balciony to get to their room) but the other grades of room also looked fine. Amazing balcony, quite a classy / colonial looking room for the price, very basic bathroom. Restaurant was OK (only option around) although the first night for about an hour it got invaded by some kind of moth or flying ant which made eating unpleasant for us but heaven for all the geckos on the ceiling. Would definitely recommed this place for your countryside stay in Bali.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joaozinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New South Wales, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2009

WE have stayed here for a few years now and how the place has changed. It used to be a typical Balinese home stay but unfortunately Australian investors are trying to make it a big bucks earner and it has become more mainstream. The food was once very traditional but now is more ubiquitous to suit "western tastes". Tour groups are also a big part of this place now so it can become noisy. There are however 2 new cafes open up the road where you can recieve very traditional and fresh ( they cut our greens straight out of the garden!) Balinese food and ice cold beer while you look at the volcano and rice terraces. The staff and family are very friendly but the cottages ( owned by foreigners) are begining to show the wear and tear of the tropics and the showers do have some blockages and hot water problems at times. The owner does have other places to stay but they are more isolated and you have to rely on self cooking or pay have transport to come into the small village to eat or buy food at the market.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taj81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sidemen hotels
0.5 mi away
Samanvaya
Samanvaya
#1 of 4 in Sidemen
307 reviews
0.8 mi away
Surya Shanti Villa
Surya Shanti Villa
#2 of 4 in Sidemen
256 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sawah Indah Villa
Sawah Indah Villa
#2 of 18 in Sidemen
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Darmada Eco Resort
Darmada Eco Resort
#2 of 23 in Sidemen
115 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Sing Ken Ken
Villa Sing Ken Ken
#4 of 23 in Sidemen
44 reviews
0.6 mi away
Teras Bali Sidemen
Teras Bali Sidemen
#3 of 23 in Sidemen
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lihat Sawah Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lihat Sawah Guest House

Property: Lihat Sawah Guest House
Address: Banjar Tebola | Sidemen Karangasem, Sidemen, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Sidemen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Sidemen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lihat Sawah Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lihat Sawah Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lihat Sawah Guest House Hotel Sidemen
Lihat Sawah Guest House Sidemen, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing