We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility in paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lihat Sawah Guest House
Ranked #8 of 18 Sidemen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Traditional Balinese accomadation, comfortable and clean. The setting is priceless. Outstanding staff with excellent massage given by the chef. We were thoroughly spoiled. No Internet available.
The guided walks in the rice field was a highlight in our Bali trip

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 129 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

Unfortunately, we booked unseen two nights at the LS(1) at an outrageous cost of $US 50 per night. Although the accommodation is vintage and authentic Balinese, it is very run down, lacks basics, and we couldn't help feeling totally ripped off.

We were given the bottom floor of the guest house which gave us no security from upstairs guests (we had to request locks for the doors), no protection from the creepy crawlies (open to the elements), holey and inadequate misquito net around the bed, open air bathroom and tempremental shower.

Following our very restless night (we shared our room with the spiders) we asked to have our room changed. We spoke to other couples who were occupying the villas and found them to be superior and far cheaper than our quoted rate. After one night we decided to move out and the receptionist did not charge us for the second night. Owing to the highly inflated price of the sub-standard room, we felt we paid for the second night.

On the positive side, the villas and guest house are well situated and overlook the rice paddy fields, and the view to Mt Agus was spectacular. The staff were lovely and willing to assist us in every way. Meals were delicious, and they could accommodate my special dietary request. A qualifed masseur is available. The swimming pool was clean and refreshingly modern.

My advice is to avoid the Lihat Sawah (1) as there is far better accomodation around the corner and down the road.

Room Tip: Avoid the Lihat Sawah (1) and book elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wearytraveller148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

We had the misfortune to book the 'deluxe' room which was more expensive than other nicer villas. This ground floor villa was not separate from the one upstairs, no locks on any doors therefore no security. The staff are lovely but the room was poor value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Somerferg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Fantastic little place to unwind, sublime views from the glorious infinity pool. The chalets are nice, though the bathrooms could do with some tlc. Food is fine, nothing special but perfectly nice. We had the chalet directly by the pool which had fantastic views from our little balcony.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rena77uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2012

We stayed here after a few years ago. It has definately changed with a more trendy 'zen' feel to it where before it was much more unaffected and peaceful. The rooms are still tired and plumbing sub standard, but thats Asia for you. You cant beat the humidity for erosion and rot on buildings and the plumbing is aways bad in most of Asia. The new pool is lovely and has a two way advantage.. watch for the owners wandering eye if you are planning on wandering around or sunbathing in your bikini. Prices have also rising steeply in this place due to the overheads of 3 pools in this and other properties run by this place.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Taj81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

Lihat Sawah guesthouse is set on a hillside in Sidemen with beautiful views of the terraced rice fields and Mount Agung. The accommodation is varied and you can be in an individual single-storey villa, two-storey villas or in a small concrete block. All rooms have a balcony or terrace, some with better views than others. My favourite was the big villa right opposite the entrance, at the other end. The upstairs unit had a huge balcony and the room had floor to ceiling windows. Sadly we didn't stay in this room as there were gaps above the windows (part of the design) and the bathroom wasn't completely sealed. I have an irrational fear of insects and even the beautiful view couldn't change my mind. There is a mosquito net above the bed. On the subject of bathrooms, some are open-air - great if you love showering under the stars and aren't a scaredy-cat like me! Our Balinese-style villa was large, with a bath, fan and spacious terrace with a little sofa and table and chairs from which to admire the view. Needless to say, the bathroom was totally enclosed.
There is an infinity pool, where I spent too much time just staring into the distance. My only small complaint there is that there aren't enough sunbeds for all the guests.
You can either pay for bed and breakfast or dinner, bed and breakfast. We chose the latter because it seemed like there was nowhere else to go for dinner. Not a lot happens in Sidemen at nightime. Breakfast was the usual eggs and toast and tea or coffee. Dinner was two courses and might consist of spring rolls, onion rings (delicious), curry and a stir-fry (for 2 people). Or if you prefer dessert, there were pancakes or ice-cream. Your dinner order is taken at about 5pm and you are asked when you'd like it. The food itself is alright - nothing special, but I feel that about Indonesian food in general. There is also a Thai section and I did try one dish but it wasn't very Thai. Not bad, but not Thai either.
A number of activities can be arranged at Lihat Sawah - paddy-field walks, trekking up Mt. Agung, yoga in your villa, cookery courses, massages, to name a few. I only had a massage, which was lovely.
Finally, the staff - they are all delightful and helped to make our stay even better. They really are a credit to this place.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank makeminealargeone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2011

wonderful hotel surrounded by lush rice fields and spectacular views. This brand new addition to the Lihat Sawah Guest Houses was not quite finished yet, but we felt very fortunate to find it. I stayed in a beautifully appointed, large room with very comfortable bed and wonderful outdoor rock-garden shower. It was the perfect place to chill on the verandah, looking out over the infinity pool at the magnificent views and watch the sunset. The staff was friendly and helpful and the breakfast was perfect.

Room Tip: Room 2 was quiet, beautifully appointed and at pool level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wordancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kadek J, partner at Lihat Sawah Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Thank you for your good comment on Tripadvisor.now the name of Lihat Sawah 3 has changed
to be Abian Ayu Villa.now we have restaurant free wi-fi conection.spa and great rice terrace view
and mount Agung view from the villa.you will feel like at home with friendly staff.we hope you come back and stay at abian ayu villa next your holiday in Bali

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sidemen hotels
0.5 mi away
Samanvaya
Samanvaya
#1 of 4 in Sidemen
326 reviews
0.8 mi away
Surya Shanti Villa
Surya Shanti Villa
#2 of 4 in Sidemen
262 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sawah Indah Villa
Sawah Indah Villa
#2 of 18 in Sidemen
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cepik Villa
Cepik Villa
#1 of 18 in Sidemen
217 reviews
0.5 mi away
Embang Homestay
Embang Homestay
#3 of 18 in Sidemen
65 reviews
0.4 mi away
Giri Carik
Giri Carik
#4 of 18 in Sidemen
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lihat Sawah Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lihat Sawah Guest House

Address: Banjar Tebola | Sidemen Karangasem, Sidemen, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Sidemen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Sidemen
Price Range: $27 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lihat Sawah Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Lihat Sawah Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lihat Sawah Guest House Hotel Sidemen
Lihat Sawah Guest House Sidemen, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing