We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally overrated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amertha Bali Villas
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Pemuteran
Certificate of Excellence
florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Totally overrated”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We decided on the Amertha because of the great online reviews and for the first time ever were disappointed and confused as to why this hotel is so highly rated. We decided to splurge, spending more than double on this stay as any other in Bali and do not feel it was worth it at all.

I think the biggest problem was our room placement. We were given a two bedroom villa (Saraswati), with access to only one bedroom. The villa itself was situated furthest from the beach toward the front of the property. We could not see the main road because of the fence, but we were in close proximity and the noise from the honking and motorbikes kept us awake all night. Furthermore, we were right next to the guard stand, who were chatting loudly during 5am shift change. Keep in mind this property is a stones-throw away from the local mosque, who blares their prayers at all hours of the night and day. The room itself seemed as if had not had occupancy in a while, as there was dust/cob webs in the corners and dead mosquitoes on the bed! It is nice to have a full sized kitchen, but no pots/pans to make your own meals. Furthermore, the AC is only in the bedroom and the living area/kitchen is unbearably hot during the day. Being so far from the water, no breeze at all. We had to spend our time in the bedroom. The outdoor bathroom is true Balinese fashion and would have been nice, however it was dirty with leaves and dirt fallen in the shower. So many in fact, that it blocked the drain. Lying in bed, you can see holes in the thatched roof.

I went to complain and another guest was complaining about not having any privacy in the outdoor bathroom because workers were fixing the roof! Not to mention the noise! The hotel appeared desolate (with only 10 guests) so I asked to be moved to another room away from the road/guard shack. The manager was dealing with the other guest and I was running late for a dive, so the bellboy said he would get back to me in the afternoon after he spoke with the manager. I never heard back, and should have pushed a little harder but was tired after the dive and didn't feel like moving rooms.

The grounds to the hotel are truly beautiful, just a little tired looking. We enjoyed the beachfront restaurant and spa. Great staff in those areas.

At check in we were assured we could pay with a Visa or Mastercard for 3% fee, but at check out, the two receptionists were being coy and swiping our card backwards, upside down or too slow and saying that we had a bad card. We tired 3 credit cards, all of which we had used in Bali and not one worked. I swear it was deliberate operator error. Fed up with the entire situation, we gave them the last of our cash and got the heck out of there.

The only redeeming qualities are the pretty view, cold AC in bedroom and expansive grounds. Overall, I would have expected to pay less than half to have an experience like this and feel ripped off for the first time in Bali.

Room Tip: Don't let them put you in Saraswati!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meghanb904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    106
    27
    12
    4
See reviews for
115
213
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kortenberg, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed at Amertha Bali for 3 nights as a part of our honeymoon. The villas look very nice and clean, with a private pool and kitchen area (usually shared with 3 other villas) but the service is a bit disappointing. Upon arrival we noticed that the staff was less enthusiastic then in the other hotels we stayed at, in our first hotel they went the extra mile because they knew we were on our honeymoon but here they didn't.

The hotel location is very nice, right upon the beach with their restaurant and main pool right next to it and a nice coral reef in front (also very close to the Biorock project).

The rooms were clean, only the bathroom had ants (it had windows with no glass) and the toilet wasn't working properly. The aircon was not sufficient for sleeping and the minibar prices were quite steep for Balinese standards. In the rooms there was no TV or radio, we missed this a bit. You could certainly use it to drown out the sound of a very nearby mosque which was pretty disturbing at times.

Breakfast was OK, served at the beach or in the restaurant which was very nice. We also had dinner here, the food was OK but the service was lacking. My husband reserved the special tent on the beach to have a romantic dinner, they told him it was OK but when we arrived in the evening there were other people having dinner there and we were moved to another table without explanation or apology. After the appetizer we expected new cutlery, which is normal even for simple roadside warungs but here we had to reuse our knife and fork.

You could book diving/snorkeling tours at the hotel but they were ridiculously expensive, if you go next door to MacroBali dive center it's only half the price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MajaV18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri City, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Stayed two nights at the Amertha Villas, while in Pemuteran to snorkel. These villas have all the potential for greatness, but lack attention to detail. The setting is idyllic - oceanfront, mountains behind, with lots of real estate. Stayed in a one bedroom villa. Because the other adjoining villa was not rented (only 20% occupancy at time of stay), the private pool and outdoor living space was all ours. The room could have been cleaner (cobwebs in the reading nook), and grounds could have been better maintained. Perhaps because this was low season, staff were off and not attentive to maintenance. The onsite restaurant was adequate, and not overpriced. The restaurant staff were attentive and friendly. When asked to fill our the review of the villas at checkout, both the manager and reception staff watched, not allowing for honest feedback. This place could be amazing with more attention to detail. Would I go back? No. I must also temper my review, that this is the dry side of the island, which is not my favorite. I prefer green. The snorkeling trip was phenomenal, and well worth it. The 'sunset cruise' was in an outrigger canoe with no seat padding, and filthy water at the bottom. The 'captain' drives you out to look at the mountains, and you sit and wait for the sunset. Definitely not worth the $50 USD paid for the trip. If you only want to venture to Pemuteran for snorkeling, I suggest staying in Sanur or Kuta, and taking a long boat trip from there to snorkel Menjangan Island. Overall, Amertha has all the potential, but lack in execution.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beccaboo67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Extended family of 4 adults and 5 children had a fantastic 3 nights in Villa 12. Everything about Amertha was wonderful - villa, pools, restaurant, staff, spa. Just the place to escape and relax and snorkel. Trip to the island through Reef Seen next door was amazing and so easy. Kids loved snorkelling, playing in the pools and were fascinated when we are able to release a turtle. Just loved Permuteran and the warungs along the road. Wi fi everywhere we went. So worth the trip over the mountains - which is amazing - make sure you stop at the restaurant at the top of the mountain - what a view! Brilliant!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed for a few days at one of the villas. All within a spacious garden and lots of privacy. The villas are large and even larger. Most with private terrace and swimming pool. Prices are low concerning all the offer. At the bar and restaurant is a common pool. A private beach, very near the Coral and beautiful fish.
The restaurant provides great comfort with beach side private dinner spots. Great meals and wines are served. All with a friendly comment.
Luxurious with a relaxed "holiday" twist.
We sure want to go back!

Room Tip: Not all villas have their own swimming pool. For only a little extra and well within margin you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calumis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leidschendam
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

If your primary motive for visiting Northern Bali consists of pure leisure, the beach, a swim and snorkelling or diving, Amertha Bali Villas is the perfect choice. It offers very attractive villas and suites and staff that always stands at the ready with a smile The food is of good quality and varied that can be enjoyed inside and also outside under a parasol on the border of the beach. Straight ahead is access to some coral that can be admired with snorkelling equipment and after a swim there are adaptable beds in the shade to read a book or to take a nap. For guests who long for more adventure, the Bali Diving Academy is next doors, which offers a 20 minutes boot trip to Menjangan island and the necessary equipment for an unforgettable snorkelling or diving experience.

Room Tip: see its website and double click Villas & Suites. I like those facing the beach best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joop_koopman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at Amertha Bali Villas which are excellent located in Pemuteran. The service is perfect and not overdone. We felt very comfortable at this place. The exceptional oceanfront with great landscaping and specious, offered us an idyllic and unforgettable vacation experience. Rates are very fair and attractive for Bali. The whole place is very clean. We can highly recommend this place. We would stay again. Thank you for this great experience at your lovely place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joachim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pemuteran
0.6 mi away
Matahari Beach Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Adi Assri Beach Resort & Spa Pemuteran
0.2 mi away
Taman Selini Beach Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Menjangan Dynasty Resort
Menjangan Dynasty Resort
#1 of 3 in Banyuwedang
82 reviews
0.2 mi away
Taman Sari Bali Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Kinaara Resort & Spa
Kinaara Resort & Spa
#3 of 10 in Pemuteran
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amertha Bali Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amertha Bali Villas

Property: Amertha Bali Villas
Address: Denpasar-Seririt Village | Singaraja, Pemuteran, Gerokgak, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Gerokgak > Pemuteran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pemuteran
#4 Family Hotel in Pemuteran
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Pemuteran
#5 Spa Hotel in Pemuteran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Amertha Bali Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amertha Bali Villas is located in Pemuteran in the northwest corner of Bali. The exceptional oceanfront setting with lush tropical landscaping and spacious, private surroundings offers an idyllic and unforgettable vacation experience.The resort is near the holy Pulaki Agung Temple and many other ancient holy temples. Amertha Bali Villas is also just a short boat ride from Menjangan Island, world renowned for diving and snorkeling.Getting to Amertha Bali Villas is about a 3-hour drive from Ngurah Rai International Airport. If you wish, one of our English-speaking drivers can pick you up and drive you to Amertha in the air-conditioned comfort of our vehicles. This service is also available for group travelers. Along the way, your driver will give you a mini-tour as you drive by villages, pass sacred temples, and observe the ancient customs of Bali. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amertha Bali Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amertha Bali Villas Hotel Pemuteran
Amertha Bali Hotel
Amertha Bali Boutique Hotel
Amertha Bali Villas Pemuteran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing