We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Menjangan Island
from $100.00
More Info
from $34.22
More Info
Reviews (1,912)
Filter reviews
1,912 results
Traveler rating
1,208
514
130
36
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,208
514
130
36
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish snorkeling spot beautiful corals deer boat diving banyuwangi temple
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
366 - 371 of 1,912 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2016

We were on vacation in Banyuwangi, East Java when our teens decided they wanted some "active" fun. We were not sure about going to this place since only four out of thirteen family members interested in snorkeling. Yet we went anyway when we found out that it only take less than an hour to get there from Banyuwangi and we got to two places (plus Tabuhan island) in the package.

It was unexpectedly fun that we don't necessarily have to snorkel as the beaches are clean, the view is beautiful and the water is clean. The rest of family enjoyed walking by the clear water so much that we didn't mind waiting for the boys snorkeling. As we had our packed lunch, we were thrilled to get to see a shy deer (we assumed there were more) that made our trip official (Menjangan is deer in Indonesian). All and all everybody was happy at the Menjangan (Deer) Island with our own things :)

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2016 via mobile

Even if coral reef is dying in some areas. We have been there with Bali Academy Diving and the experience was good!!

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank PeterA4791
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2016

We have snorkelled and dived in many locations around the world since 1971 and by far the best was Menjangen Island in 1999 when we were there in the only boat that day. We snorkelled along a vertical wall a few metres off the beach filled with amazing corals & fish

We wish we savoured the memory and not returned in 2016 to bring friends to share the experience.

Instead of 1 boat there were probably about 30-50 boats each laden with about 10-12 snorkelers or divers.

Imagine a busy city with bus loads of tourists, each following their leader holding a paddle.....

Now transpose that image to the sea at Menjangen island . Lines and lines of snorkelers in groups following their leader along the wall drop off, fins everywhere as far as you can see are snorkelers following the leader on the surface.

Meanwhile, down below are masses of bubbles rising from the many divers below.

And after all that, the corals and fish are greatly depleted since when we first came here in 1999.

Time to locate another paradise .....

Date of experience: August 2016
2  Thank AtkinsonJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2016 via mobile

heaven on earth in Northwestern of Bali. Approachable by local boats, which can be booked via one of the many snorkling and diving school. A must do whenever you visit this part of Bali.

Date of experience: August 2016
1  Thank NicoS202
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2016

We went here with Funtastic Dive for a snorkel trip. Beautiful snorkel reef. Relaxed island for a walk and bring your own lunch. Toilet could be cleaner / use maintenance

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank Nico K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews