We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great local guides for good diving at Menjangan”

Ocean Dreams Pemuteran
Ranked #1 of 16 Tours in Pemuteran
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Ocean Dreams (ex Macro Bali Dive Center) is open since 2011. Since that time, we have formed more than 750 open water students, 15 instructors and 30 divemasters and handle more than 6000 certified divers and snorkelers. We, as an Instructor Training Center, aim for quality and best training following the SSI standards. Our main goal is to give you the best diving service of this area in a safe but fun environment.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Great local guides for good diving at Menjangan”
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

We did 2 fun dives with Lempeh last week at Menjangan and he was a great guide who showed us lots underwater, including glass shrimp and pygmy seahorses, which are impossibly to spot unless you know where to look! Throw in some turtles and a black tip reef shark and we had a great time. The diving at Coral Garden and POS 2 was varied and interesting, although visibility was mixed when we were there.

The equipment is good quality, and lunch was very good (have the club sandwich!) but the boats to the island have seen better days. I don't think the dive shops own the boats though as every company was using the same boats. There were short but good briefings before each dive, and safety/buddy checks were left to us, maybe because we have 35 dives. It's not the cheapest diving in Bali as $80 for 2 dives, but Macro are much cheaper than some other companies charging over $100.

Overall, a great experience with a company who know what they're doing, would dive again without a doubt!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Claire T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ren1973, Manager at Ocean Dreams Pemuteran, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear Claire T,

thank you very much for your comment.

we are very happy to hear that you enjoy Lempeh's guiding and finding. He loves it.

you are right by saying that we don't own the boat but we try to use the national park boats to be sure that the drivers from the area get job and are able to leave from it.

we hope to see you again in Pemuteran for some more dives...

best regards

Renaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    423
    33
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Certainly the best diving center at Pemuteran”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

I agreed with e-mail a diving trips to my son (PADI diver), diving trials for my daughter and diving/snorkeling trips for the whole family. When you are only few days at site you definitely want to arrange everything in advance. E-mail correspondence with Renaud was prompt and nice, very convincing about their capabilities. After first two e-mails I choose the Macro Bali. When I met Renaud and his staff I was sure that the Macro Bali is the best diving center at Pemuteran.

Diving instructors must love their job! They seem to have very good chemistry together and that was transferred to guest as well. Instructors only turned serious when preparing for diving. All safety precautions were followed by the book and by the minute. These were first dives for my 15 y old daughter and her instructor really kept a good care of her. He took all concern and make sure that she understood everything he said. As a parent it was nice to follow their safety training underneath the surface before they took the dive. The instructor my son was very experienced (as well) and equally nice person.

The trip to Menjangan island was well organized and we were well looked after all the time. A perfect experience in all.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Markus A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ren1973, Manager at Ocean Dreams Pemuteran, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear Markus A,

Thank you very much for your comment.

I remember how your daughter was happy after her first dive with Putu our instructor.
Your son also was happy to dive alone with his guide Gede.
As you say, all the staff in Macro Bali love their job and give the best that they have to make everybody feel safe and enjoy their day.

we hope to see you again in Bali.

best regards

Renaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“They did it ! Thanks.”
Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

A nice place in Bali to stay, with a professional and friendly team ready to bring you to the best dive spots. Great thanks to Reno for his warm welcome and his clear explanations and kudos to Putu who did it !
My wife was struggling for 3 years with the exercise of the mask in the pool, but because she felt in a secure environment and very confident with the the team, she finally passed the OW!
Hope to see you soon.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Emeric312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ren1973, Manager at Ocean Dreams Pemuteran, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear Emeric312,
thanks for your comment and we are very happy that your wife is now a certified diver. Small groups and number of students with a divemaster or an instructor help everyone to archive their goals. At the end of the day, the job was done by your wife and she is the one who need to be congratulate. See you again soon and enjoy diving with her. best regards

Renaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly, professional & caring”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Just came back from diving in Menjangan Island with Macro Bali Dive center.
It had been a while since my wife and I dove so I was particular about the company i wanted to go with.
Quick meeting with the owner made us feel very confident and comfortable with our decision to go with them. Renaud was very experienced about the dive sites & conditions and paired us with an experienced dive master.
The next morning we picked our equipment at the center and took a short car ride to the harbor where we got on a local boat.
The boat ride was comfortable & crew was helpful and professional.
Next came the actual dive portion.
The company picked a safe place for our first dive site from our boat.
Shallow entry followed by a drift wall dive where even the bottom of the wall was not too deep.
After a good safety review we got in the water with a dive master assigned to just the two of us.
The dive master was very experienced, caring and safety conscious. He spend time with us to make sure we got in the water safely, and adjusted to the underwater conditions well.
My wife had issues with clearing her ears almost to the point of giving up. However, our dive master spend time, helped her with good tips and after multiple efforts she was able to dive safely.
Our second dive was even better.
Summary: If you are uncertain about your experience level this is definitely the company to go with.
They were friendly, caring, and did all within their power to enable a fantastic dive for us.
I am sure we could not have done it without them.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mustafa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ren1973, Manager at Ocean Dreams Pemuteran, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Mustafa V,

thanks for your comment and very happy that you have enjoyed diving again. Don't forget to find a diveclub close to your living place to be able to keep diving and practice diving skills before you next holidays. We hope to see you again in the future. Best regards and thanks again. Renaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“very good dive shop in Pemuteran”
Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

Frecn speaking Renaud owns and manages the dive shop. A bit less professional than other dives we did (no real security refresh as announced, dive brief a bit too quick), but still great dives with good equipment and very nice people

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank matthieu_paname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ren1973, Manager at Ocean Dreams Pemuteran, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Dear Matthieu,

thanks for your comment and happy to hear that you have great dives.Regarding the briefing,sorry to hear that you don't feel it not enough on safety.It needed to be not too long but have everything inside, like safety rules, signs, explanation of the site, animals etc...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Dreams Pemuteran also viewed

 
Pemuteran, Gerokgak
 

Been to Ocean Dreams Pemuteran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing