We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, great breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bagus Home Stay Pemuteran
Ranked #42 of 51 Pemuteran B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I stayed here three days. It was comfortable and practical. I slept really well. The pools are really nice - they have two. My room was huge with a fan. They cleaned it daily. Breakfast was really nice - especially the filtered coffee. The guys werent always around but could be easily called if you needed them. Negotiate on everything here.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellingSuky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 48 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2012

We moto'ed into Pemuteran hoping for a high season range of about 150 to 250,000 rupiah at most. Being categorized as a mid rangey type beach town as compared to Lovina we thought most places would fall into the 200,000 rupiah category. I don't know if everyone just talks to each other and decides on a price hike but everywhere we went that fell into a budgety category was 300. Granted there were quite a few tourists and travelers looking around at the same time, running from spot to spot, so competition was higher meaning our negotiating position was pretty low meaning we were shelling out regardless.

Some of the places we looked at were really not worth 33 USD/night- no hot water or amenities or bfast. I asked around and some locals admitted that spots that are basic (no hot water, no ac, etc) should be around 150. Maybe 200 during high season. We knew we had to move quick since others were on the prowl so we went with Bagus Homestay despite the fact that it was slightly out of our price range.

It was very clear that for that price, this was the best option. It is clean and the rooms are big. They definitely clean the rooms everyday (they will come in and make the bed and sweep and empty the trash) and clean/change the sheets between guests. I have found that not every place will meet this basic requirement of changing sheets after someone vacates. Hot water. Nice view of mts and garden. The fan was a bit noisy on high setting. The room got stuffy at night with the windows closed. Each double room has a cute little porch. You get a wifi ticket for 1 hr everyday you stay. Lots of places out here don't have wifi.

The breakfast is good. They bring you big pots of coffee and tea and fruit and toast and egg and pancake. They let me fill up my water bottle in the kitchen for free everyday (really trying not to buy plastic water bottles ever.) The staff is EXCELLENT! Mr Gusti is the manager and he and his staff are implacably professional and polite. He helped us book a snorkeling tour to Manjangan at a great price. Clearly he sets a high standard and it shows. On a side note: I had left some money on the bed for the person making the bed everyday but they put it on the bedside table. In the US it's typical to leave a dollar a day for the crew who makes up the room. Anyways, I thought that was super honest despite the fact that it was for them.

They also have higher priced rooms that looked swank and would be good options for little (quiet) families or ppl on a slightly higher budget. IT doesn't really have privacy like a resort might but it seemed nice. There are two private pools for the 4 suites. You can't swim there if you're in the back rooms unless no one is staying there but you can just go to the free for everyone pool called the sea.

We stayed for 3 nights. Def more than we wanted to pay and definitely isn't a homestay but was happy to given the great service and cleanliness of the place.

PS. IF you're looking for a great, more homey homestay place at a fairer price with the most amazing family in Bali, I would highly highly recommend Eka's Homestay on the main road near the east gate of Pemuteran. There's a fancy resort across the street and the homestay is next to the resort's tennis court and parking area. There's a cell phone type shelter there on the road and a small little dirt road and cobblestone path that leads to the back to their carport.

Anyways, Mr Eka is awesome. His family is beautiful. He has two cozy rooms in the courtyard of his home. I don't usually get all "love and light-y" but if you want to meet someone who lights up from the inside and whose eyes sparkle with smiles then you should go stay with him. We stayed in Pemuteran an extra 3 days just bc we felt so comfortable in his place.

Have fun out here... the NW is a beautiful, unspoilt part of Bali and very laidback. The people are some of the loveliest and most generous and fun. Snorkeling is great: you can go to Lalang and charter a boat for a little more than it would cost for a over-crowded tour... they charge fixed price for boat and guide and park fees and insurance and gear so if you have a few people or are a family or have your own snorkel gear and moto you could do it reasonable. And you avoid that whole scene of white vans and dazed tourists, etc. Mai Malou is a nice restaurant owned by a lovely man and his wife. The Moeslim resto out by the east gate are good for cheap, vegetarian campur or urap sayur.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Erinkimsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Don't be afraid when you go over the bumpy road that will bring you to the complex, fifty meters away from the mainroad since it will bring you to an oasis of peace, nature and nice houses and pools! The rooms are quite basic, good bed and reasonable shower however the service is superb! Everyday nice breakfast at your own little terrace among the sounds of nature! The only flaw is that there is no Wifi or any internet at the complex itself..

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quarada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Videodanti f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank magali C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank massyfrederique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank carole d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pemuteran hotels
1.2 mi away
Taman Sari Bali Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Taruna Homestay
Taruna Homestay
#1 of 51 in Pemuteran
445 reviews
0.8 mi away
Adi Assri Beach Resort & Spa Pemuteran
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Amertha Bali Villas
Amertha Bali Villas
#4 of 9 in Pemuteran
438 reviews
1.5 mi away
TriJaya Guest House
TriJaya Guest House
#11 of 51 in Pemuteran
141 reviews
0.4 mi away
Matahari Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bagus Home Stay Pemuteran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bagus Home Stay Pemuteran

Address: Jl. Raya Gilimanuk - Seririt, Pemuteran, Gerokgak 81155, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Gerokgak > Pemuteran
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Pemuteran
Price Range: $12 - $29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bagus Home Stay Pemuteran 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BAGUS HOME STAY is located in the heart of a traditional village north-west coast of Bali called ”PEMUTERAN”. very close to the Menjangan Island and Bali National Park. Both site are the most interesting places in North Bali.Our home are built in 2 villas full front glass door ( each villa has 2 rooms ) and 6 standard rooms close to each other . Bagus home stay is a perfect place for you to relax while you are exploring north-west coast of Bali.Enjoy your browsing times and have a beautiful day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Bagus Home Stay Pemuteran reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bagus Home Stay Pemuteran Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing