We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Matahari Beach Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Matahari Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Pemuteran
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Matahari Beach Resort”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Matahari Beach Resort for 6 nights in December. It was a quiet time of the year, right before Christmas, so there were very few guests. The Bali style rooms are clean, comfortable and well maintained. We paid for full board which I was very happy we did. They packed us lunches when we took day trips and we never had to worry about where or when we would eat. All the food was excellent and there was a good variety. My only complaint was the beach in front of the hotel while comfortable was not a good beach for snorkeling. A ten minute down the beach is a reef restoration project and good snorkeling. We chose to take a boat to Menjangan Island which the hotel helped us arrange. The staff is very friendly and speak English but when needed we got help from the manager. Warning, it was warm but poured every afternoon.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RubyGlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatahariBeachResort, General Manager at Matahari Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear. RubyGlass,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay at Matahari Beach Resort & Spa

We were truly delighted to read how much you enjoyed our resort

You are correct that our beach is not ideal for snorkeling: a better part of the coral reef is situated in front of our dive center. Of course the best place for snorkeling and diving is the island of Menjangan, 40 minutes away from our resort.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in a not too distant future.

Warmest regards from the North West of Bali,

Jany-Michel Fourre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    82
    21
    7
    10
See reviews for
94
365
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We arrived a Matahari Beach resort, and have been welcomed in the best way you can expect.
The first impression is overwhelming. You more or less see only a beautiful garden with plants grown over many years and very well maintained. Statues with Hindu symbols nicely spread and placed within all this plants
Hidden in those plants you find a huge swimming pool. But for the beach lover there is also a very nice sandy beach that is second to none. Whatever you prefer.
There are 18 double Bungalow in beautiful Balinese Style with a nice little veranda. They are not too big but very cosy.
Outside shower inside bathtub whatever you want.
Bed, Room, Floor wherever you look nice and clean.
No TV. To me and advantage. Internet is available but this could be improved, you constantly have to login new. Air Condition has a bit problem to reach less than 23°C, which is actually cool enough
Rooms are cleaned while you enjoy breakfast, so no disturbance during your stay in the room
Fresh fruits in the room daily.
The service is excellent. People are helpful and friendly.
A huge breakfast buffet is waiting for you, even if you get up late, it’s still complete.
Dinner is served in a terrific Balinese atmosphere. Food is always with a touch Balinese, a matter of taste. I missed a good piece of meat.
But one thing we really appreciated. They have a good selection of wine for a reasonable price.
Soft drinks etc. are also fair priced.

We enjoyed our stay in Matahari Beach Resort very much and congratulate the Management to this superb service.

Room Tip: does not matter at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WBa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatahariBeachResort, General Manager at Matahari Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear WBa1

Thank you very much for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor this very nice feedback about your recent stay at Matahari Beach Resort & Spa.

We are truly delighted to read how much you enjoyed the charm of our resort.

Your appreciation means a lot to us and we will share this with all the members of the team.

We sincerely hope that the memories of your holiday with us will remain unforgettable and that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again.

Warmest regards from the North West of Bali.

Jany-Michel Fourre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

We didn't stay at this place, lucky for us. We went to this beach and want to rent a bed, because there were no guests at all. But it was not possible to rent, so we put our towel in the shade. My mother of 70 years old had to sit on the ground! Then after half an hour they said we have to leave the beach at front of Mata Hari Inn! There were no guests and it was already noon, so I think there wouldn't come a lot of guests that day. We want to eat at the Leon Beach bar, for lunch and dinner, but now we decided to leave and never come back again. What a unfriendly service and no flexibility at all. If there were a lot of guests we would understand, but now, to send us away with no guest at all.....unbelievable! Good to stay at the friendly family of Taruna Homestay!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
18 Thank Bregje G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Stayed at Matahari Beach Resort & Spa in October 2013. Nice large villas with a smalle terrace space in the front. Enjoy the autentic Bali style decoration and park with volcano view in the back. Magnificent scene! All staff was very friendly and good food selection in the restaurant. I would recommend the hotel not only to have beach dinner service in the weekend, but on all days. Simply awsome to have dinner right on the beach.The resort is very quiet and private. The remote location also does that there are no "normal" tourist rush around. Note that the beach has black lava sand. Something different to experiance and we just loved to have seen it. SPA also highy reccomendable. We also used the Dive Center and got great service there as well. All in all a great private resort away from the masses.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TH100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

A wonderful place to swim, relax, eat, sleep, play. The most beautiful pool, brilliant staff, great food with lovely scroll menus, a good enough gym, nice spa. A really great place to recharge and relax. And some truly excellent xylophoney.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Patrick_the_Wise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Just like heaven. We enjoyed every second. Snorkeling was very exciting. The spa was relaxing and the massage just gorgeous. Breakfast, lunch at the beach, romantic dinner with candlelight and you get an exellent service.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Petra1352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

What a wonderful resort with beautiful private villas set in tropical gardens. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here as the rooms and service were wonderful; the bed was a bit hard and high but that didn't keep us from loving this hotel. The grounds are well maintained and quite beautiful as are the spa and very large pool area. The black sand beach is underwhelming but very private with a lovely restaurant so a good place to relax and read. If you want a true beach resort this may not be the best place. We really enjoyed walking around some very small 'villages' to the left of the hotel along the beach and biking to nearby temples that were largely void of western tourists. Food at the hotel was good but a bit pricey for the locale. We ate at Frangipani Bar in town (they picked us up) and it might have been the best meal of the trip so we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jasper25rocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pemuteran
0.4 mi away
Adi Assri Beach Resort & Spa Pemuteran
0.7 mi away
Taman Selini Beach Bungalows
7.1 mi away
Menjangan Dynasty Resort
Menjangan Dynasty Resort
#1 of 3 in Banyuwedang
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Taman Sari Bali Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Kinaara Resort & Spa
Kinaara Resort & Spa
#3 of 10 in Pemuteran
259 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Menjangan
The Menjangan
#1 of 4 in West Bali National Park
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matahari Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matahari Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Matahari Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Jl. Raya Seririt-Gilimanuk, Pemuteran, Gerokgak, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Gerokgak > Pemuteran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pemuteran
#1 Family Hotel in Pemuteran
#1 Spa Hotel in Pemuteran
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Pemuteran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Matahari Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the northern coast of the island, set amongst fragrant lotus and frangipani flowers, this splendid village consisting of Balinese pavilions overlooks the sea. Each ornate bungalow has hand-carved wooden folding doors, a tropical garden and an outdoor shower with a stone dragon: pure nirvana. Just like the sense of wellbeing imparted from the spa with its massage and other treatments in the best Balinese tradition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Matahari Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matahari Beach Resort And Spa
Matahari Beach Hotel Pemuteran
Matahari Beach Resort & Spa Bali/Pemuteran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing