We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Matahari Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Matahari Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Pemuteran
Certificate of Excellence
Netherlands
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Everything about this hotel was fantastic, the bungalow, the outdoor shower, the swimmingpool were absolutely lovely. Also the staff were especially friendly. This is one of the best hotels I have stayed at. I spent 3 days here with my daughter in June, and we were really homesick after moving from here to Nusa Dua where we spent a further 3 days before flying home. Oh what a disappointment to arrive in a huge, unpersonal hotel after just having stayed in Matahari!
I would go back straight away and stay longer next time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    71
    19
    7
    9
See reviews for
83
329
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
91 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

This is a hard review to do. The pool area is great. The rooms are super comfortable. The staff work hard. The breakfast was good.

But, it falls short of the 5 star prices charged. The spa was not a positive experience - we requested 2 rooms and despite this were put in the same room. Lights were on full! and one masseuse was watching what the other did. We can accept trainees at reception etc. but not for a massage.

The hotel could be great. Spend a few nights in casa del mar Langkawi and the management could see what can be done with very little additional expense.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dublin_Honeymooners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

It is a very nice hotel were the staff takes care of every little detail that makes you holiday pleasant

food in the restaurant is overpriced but the quality is top
there is not really a lot to do in the village

The nearby Mosque wakes you up at 5 a.m. and the prayers via loudspeakers continue during the day. Due to the loudness it made it impossible to relax

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank globetrotter4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Very elegant resort in the remote (or as remote as you can get in Bali) northwest, which has also some great diving only a short boat ride away.

Two things that we particularly enjoyed at Matahari were the pool, very large and surrounded by beautiful fragipani trees, and the great bar/restaurant at the beach. The beach itself is fantastic too, carefully maintained with the orange flowers from the trees looking striking against the grey sand. The food was not cheap but very tasty and worth the prices.

One word of advice: if you are staying at Matahari book a dive trip (or if you are not a diver a snorkelling trip) at Menjangan Island. The corals and underwater wildlife are truly unforgettable!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank CatSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

This Resort is just WOW, Matahari is in the list of my top resorts I have ever stayed. You simply cannot understand the beauty of this place without really being there, I mean no Video or Foto can describe its beauty. This place is simply Paradise on Earth and the staff and it’s service to the last detail just adds a Cherry on the cake.
Tip: Just ask the Hotel directly for a better price, you may just have a little more luck than booking it online. Have fun !!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Manas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

It was a long trip from Heathrow to Denpasar and straight over the island to Pemuteran. Within a day, the charms of this hotel had wrapped round us and all hassles were forgotten. We loved the relaxed and luxurious feel of the resort, surrounded by lush vegetation, lots of music and beautiful natural surroundings. The pool was fabulous: I swam surrounded by bougainvillea and mountain views. Our deluxe room was spacious and had great touches like the outdoor balinese shower. The food (especially breakfast) was superb and the service excellent. Room for improvement? Yes, the beds are a bit hard for our taste and the evening meals are slightly formal. For dinner, we mixed the Matahari experience with some local "warung" reached by walking the local beach - torch advisable to avoid the nets and the mooring ropes. The yoga classes were excellent and the spa was magnificent - if a bit pricey. Again, mix and match with the local offers for a bit more fun. We really liked the fact that, in this part of the island, upmarket hotels sit alongside traditional villages and everyone mixes in. I have stayed in places this good before, but none where the sense of peace and sanctuary has stayed with me so well. It was helped by the great snorkelling at Deer Island, but that's another review.....

Room Tip: None of the villas overlook the sea, but we really appreciated the space and layout of the deluxe ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TroakesTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Matahari specifically so we could visit Menjangen island, and it was a lovely place to call home. The grounds are beautifully conceived, filled with statues throughout the lush gardens. The staff is very attentive - we especially liked the head bartender who made an effort to chat on the evenings we got drinks there. The rooms are large with very high beds with ornate carvings. Bathrooms include outdoor shower (dragon statue that spits water). Beach area is so-so, but that wasn't a priority for us. Dive shop got us to Menjangen and its amazing coral reefs. Only complaints were that we spent quite a lot of money to hire hotel's driver to transfer from Nusa Dua, and he said nothing to us for the 4-hour ride and didn't offer to let us stop for photos or anything. It would have added to the trip enormously if the driver had engaged us.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cebhawley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pemuteran
0.4 mi away
Adi Assri Beach Resort & Spa Pemuteran
6.7 mi away
Taman Selini Beach Bungalows
0.9 mi away
Taman Sari Bali Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
The Menjangan
The Menjangan
#1 of 4 in West Bali National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
0.6 mi away
Amertha Bali Villas
Amertha Bali Villas
#5 of 10 in Pemuteran
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kinaara Resort & Spa
Kinaara Resort & Spa
#3 of 10 in Pemuteran
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matahari Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matahari Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Matahari Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Jl. Raya Seririt-Gilimanuk, Pemuteran, Gerokgak, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Gerokgak > Pemuteran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pemuteran
#1 Family Hotel in Pemuteran
#1 Spa Hotel in Pemuteran
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Pemuteran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Matahari Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the northern coast of the island, set amongst fragrant lotus and frangipani flowers, this splendid village consisting of Balinese pavilions overlooks the sea. Each ornate bungalow has hand-carved wooden folding doors, a tropical garden and an outdoor shower with a stone dragon: pure nirvana. Just like the sense of wellbeing imparted from the spa with its massage and other treatments in the best Balinese tradition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Matahari Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matahari Beach Resort And Spa
Matahari Beach Hotel Pemuteran
Matahari Beach Resort & Spa Bali/Pemuteran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing