We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil resort in North West Bali”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Matahari Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Pemuteran
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2012

My Husband and I stayed at Matahari in early October 2012. The reason we chose North Bali is for the fantastic diving we read about at Menjangan Island, just off the North West coast of Bali.
Matahari had excellent reviews and was therefore our choice to stay at - and we're sure glad we did!

Our room (the setup is 2 adjacent chalets) was stunning, and looks exactly like it does on the Matahari website! surrounded by lush gardens, the wooden Balinese furniture just adds that extra feel of luxury. Almost everything is hand carved in Bali, you would seldom find a plain old door! from the moment we stepped onto the porch, I was thrilled to be there.

The outdoor shower was so refreshing, listening to the birds, the sun shining down - like out of a story book! Just be careful there are plenty mosquitoes. The rooms have mosquito coils which can be used during the evenings especially.

The resort is on the beach and a short walk from the room takes u down to the shore. The sand is a very dark brown, fine like powder and extremely hot!

The resort has its own dive centre which was convenient. The dive instructor did a refresher course with me off the shore, which I requested. They are extremely patient and helpful. The next day we did a trip to Menjangan (meaning Deer) Island. This was my fist time to dive in the ocean and the best experience of my holiday! the water was warm, and I went up to 18 metres on my 1st dive. It was like swimming in an aquarium, so many colourful fish, coral. We even saw an ell garden which was amazing. There was an underwater current which assisted since I didn't have to fin very hard. Just be careful on ascent, the dive sites around Menjangan are 'walls' and therefore the current could send you up quite fast.

Breakfast at Matahari was very interesting - I tried a tasty Asian reddish rice. The fruit is fresh and juicy (oh and you get a fruit bowl in you room on a daily basis). For supper, we ate twice at Warung Taruna, about 100m from Matahari (turn right when exiting the Matahari driveway) - they were extremely reasonable with prices. Matahari meals seemed to be over priced and hence we did not have lunch/dinner at the resort.

We had free use of bicycles, which was quite a challenge cycling on Bali roads - cycle in daylight and stay off the road as far as possible!

The Matahari spa is 1 of the most beautiful spas I have seen - the outdoor carved sculptures make it seem out of this world. We had a full body massage in the beach pavilion, just off the shore where you can hear the waves. Absolutely relaxing!

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Matahari. I booked our 3 nights via Bali Tours & Travel info@balitours-travel.com since they quoted the cheapest rate compared to all other booking sites (Agoda, hotels.com etc) - almost a 50% saving to the hotel rate!

Thanks all at Matahari for a truly memorable experience!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Latisha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (600)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 600 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2012

The Matahari is one of the most relaxing hotels I have ever been to. The remoteness (3,5 hours by car across the mountains from the airport) only adds to this experience, and so does the lack of any major must-see sights in the area. It allows for pure relaxation in a stylish, but not over-styled and very authentic environment. All you could ever ask for is there, including an excellent diving center with equally excellent dive sites. My only minor concern is with the food, which is neither truly and authentically Indonesian nor overly good in the European sense, and also steeply priced. But I guess it is hard to please the palates of a wide variety of guests.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 10179k79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

This hotel si really good: the villas are particularly nice: large, very well décorated with a gorgeous inside-outside . The garden , swimmingpool and beach allow to enjoy long hours.
Excellent breakfast, but one small remark: for lunch/diner it's a little bit standard.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Soraya L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We had a lovely cottage which sat in truly delightful gardens. The staff are great. It is not the cheapest place on Bali but keeping such high standards cannot come cheap. This place is beautifully manicured.
The dinner show with the kids from the local orphanage is great. To be honest the beach is not fab: it is dark volcanic sand but the beach set-up with loungers and attentive staff and bags of shade is very pleasant.
The Dive centre is good too. The only problem is that Pemuteran is not much of a resort, so outside the Matahari , there are a few temples, some diving and err...that's all folks.
However the Matahari gets the thumbs up from the Grumpys.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MisterGrumpyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We had an excellent stay at Matahari Beach Resort & Spa. We came to this side of the island for scuba diving and it's quite worth the long travel from the airport. The staff is extremely attentive and friendly, although we have experienced that Balinese people in general are always smiling and very pleasant, the staff here stood out. The villas are adorable and decorated in a typical Balinese style with an outside and inside shower and a beautiful bed. We loved it, though I have to say that I had a small accident with the bed. As it is very high, the rooms are equipped with small steps to get in and out easier. The bed is surrounded with mosquito netting to keep the occasional insect away, and when I got out of the bed in the morning the netting was laying on the step, which caused me to slip on the stair and fall. Maybe they could think of a better solution for this?
The food is excellent, but after a week, though the beach restaurant and main restaurant have different menus, it gets a little boring. They have different dinner events though, with a Balinese buffet at the beachfront example. This was fantastic, as was the dinner entertainment. Every second night or so they had live music, Balinese dances and artists on the outside stage, they were amazing! Especially a group of children from an orphanage that has started the group to earn a little extra money. The group is supported by the hotel and especially by its manager. What we were ashamed of we're some of our fellow guests. If kids as young as 7 or 8 are brave enough to go on a stage and then play exquisite music in a very professional fashion you can at least spend the effort of giving them a little clap afterwards.
The pool is very spacious, the beach is nice, though the sand is pretty hot in the afternoon as it is dark volcanic sand.
The dive base was acceptable. We are pretty experienced divers, and so we didn't have a problem with the way they manage the dives, but if you are just got your brevet, maybe you should pick another place. The briefings were poor, there were no debriefings, the guide was just someone else in the water, not leading the group or at least checking if everyone was there. The buddy teams would regularly split of on their own, surfacing on their own, and no one cared. If you have experience, that's fine, if not, I would have felt lost. Menjangan Island is a prestige place to dive though, especially the macro life is beautiful.
We took a couple of treatments at the spa, which were very good in general, just the facial I took was a little disappointing, as it should have included a face, neck and decolté massage, which it didn't really. The gym is poorly stocked, it has two treadmills, a stepper and one tower, no possibilities to train your lower back, legs, there were dumbbells missing, etc.
All in all, we had an amazing time at Matahari, and for what they offer, the price is really fair. We loved the place!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank UrlaubimSueden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

The Matahari is incredibly beautiful and grand, with fantastic features everywhere, but the price is a bit shocking all the same. In particular, I was very disappointed with the beach and think people should be warned that this is not a nice beach to lie on, as those that come for the beach would be unimpressed. It is black sand, which isn't ideal but the sand itself is very soft and nice. The problem is the huge number of rocks and pebbles covering it. It never ceases to amaze me how many hotels neglect to care for their local resources like the beachfront. Often expensive hotels fail to pick up rubbish from their beach. In this case, picking up the rocks would be a very good idea as they make the beach impossible to sit or walk on. It would take a few people a few days, but that doesn't cost much in Bali and it would make a huge difference. But until they do this, and who knows if they ever will, don't come here expecting to get any pleasure from the beach - you will probably just retire to the pool in which case you could have been somewhere much cheaper!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Droogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatahariBeachResort, Manager at Matahari Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Dear “Droogi”,

Thank you for your comments which we have read in Tripadvisor .

The North of Bali is known for its black volcanic beaches and theses pebbles. However the condition of the beach with regards to these pebbles is changing according to the seasons, the currents and the moon. I mean that the beach looks differently from month to month, sometimes with and sometimes without.

We are further wondering whether you have stayed in our resort, otherwise you would have seen that every day, mornings and afternoons, three persons of our neighbors paid by Matahari Beach Resort & Spa are responsible for the cleanness of our beach. We cannot imagine that you could find any garbage on the beach.

We therefore feel upset by your unfounded and biased conclusions. These could have been cleared if you would have taken the time to approach me during “your stay”.

Yours sincerely

Jany-Michel Fourre
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

This is a very nice, but overpriced, beach resort in North Bali. There is much to like here. The restaurant staff was incredibly warm and friendly. The spa is beautiful and our spa treatments were wonderful. The room was adequate but we had much better rooms in other parts of Bali at a fraction of the cost. What soured us on this place was the incredible rudeness, aloofness, and inflexibility of the front desk staff. I had hurt my foot before arriving at Matahari. We had been scheduled for a trek in the nearby National Park so we called ahead to let them know that I wouldn't be able to trek and to inquire about substituting another activity. They were unwilling to even discuss it. No concern for my injury, no willingness to negotiate. Their response was that the trek was already booked and couldn't be changed - end of discussion. We tried to have this conversation again when we arrived and once again found an absolute unwillingness to even discuss it. The result was that we were picked up the next morning and transported to the national park where we had to have a discussion with a park ranger about alternative plans. This should never have happened. If that wasn't enough, the same front desk staff botched our booking for a snorkeling trip and we ended up double booked and paying a non-refundable deposit for a trip we never used. A very sweet bellboy offered to refund the deposit out of his own pocket (we refused, of course) but the management of the hotel never tried to correct the mistake. We felt that we were imposing every time we approached the front desk and simple requests (such as for an ATM) were treated as if we were imposing. Again, the behavior of the management at the front desk was quite different from the rest of the staff who were friendly and helpful. Nevertheless, the rigidity and rudeness of the front desk and management ruined our stay and we will not return, nor can we recommend this resort.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank birchdreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pemuteran
0.4 mi away
Adi Assri Beach Resort & Spa Pemuteran
0.8 mi away
Taman Selini Beach Bungalows
7.1 mi away
Menjangan Dynasty Resort, Beach Camp & Dive Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Taman Sari Bali Resort & Spa
7.4 mi away
The Menjangan
The Menjangan
#1 of 4 in West Bali National Park
726 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kinaara Resort & Spa
Kinaara Resort & Spa
#3 of 9 in Pemuteran
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matahari Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matahari Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Jl. Raya Seririt-Gilimanuk, Pemuteran, Gerokgak 81155, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Gerokgak > Pemuteran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pemuteran
#1 Family Hotel in Pemuteran
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Pemuteran
#2 Spa Hotel in Pemuteran
Price Range: $175 - $425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Matahari Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the northern coast of the island, set amongst fragrant lotus and frangipani flowers, this splendid village consisting of Balinese pavilions overlooks the sea. Each ornate bungalow has hand-carved wooden folding doors, a tropical garden and an outdoor shower with a stone dragon: pure nirvana. Just like the sense of wellbeing imparted from the spa with its massage and other treatments in the best Balinese tradition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Matahari Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matahari Beach Hotel Pemuteran
Matahari Beach Resort And Spa
Matahari Beach Resort & Spa Bali/Pemuteran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing