We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warning: the beach is likely to disappoint. It is covered in stones.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Matahari Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Pemuteran
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Warning: the beach is likely to disappoint. It is covered in stones.”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

The Matahari is incredibly beautiful and grand, with fantastic features everywhere, but the price is a bit shocking all the same. In particular, I was very disappointed with the beach and think people should be warned that this is not a nice beach to lie on, as those that come for the beach would be unimpressed. It is black sand, which isn't ideal but the sand itself is very soft and nice. The problem is the huge number of rocks and pebbles covering it. It never ceases to amaze me how many hotels neglect to care for their local resources like the beachfront. Often expensive hotels fail to pick up rubbish from their beach. In this case, picking up the rocks would be a very good idea as they make the beach impossible to sit or walk on. It would take a few people a few days, but that doesn't cost much in Bali and it would make a huge difference. But until they do this, and who knows if they ever will, don't come here expecting to get any pleasure from the beach - you will probably just retire to the pool in which case you could have been somewhere much cheaper!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Droogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatahariBeachResort, Manager at Matahari Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear “Droogi”,

Thank you for your comments which we have read in Tripadvisor .

The North of Bali is known for its black volcanic beaches and theses pebbles. However the condition of the beach with regards to these pebbles is changing according to the seasons, the currents and the moon. I mean that the beach looks differently from month to month, sometimes with and sometimes without.

We are further wondering whether you have stayed in our resort, otherwise you would have seen that every day, mornings and afternoons, three persons of our neighbors paid by Matahari Beach Resort & Spa are responsible for the cleanness of our beach. We cannot imagine that you could find any garbage on the beach.

We therefore feel upset by your unfounded and biased conclusions. These could have been cleared if you would have taken the time to approach me during “your stay”.

Yours sincerely

Jany-Michel Fourre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    75
    21
    7
    9
See reviews for
85
342
21
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

This is a very nice, but overpriced, beach resort in North Bali. There is much to like here. The restaurant staff was incredibly warm and friendly. The spa is beautiful and our spa treatments were wonderful. The room was adequate but we had much better rooms in other parts of Bali at a fraction of the cost. What soured us on this place was the incredible rudeness, aloofness, and inflexibility of the front desk staff. I had hurt my foot before arriving at Matahari. We had been scheduled for a trek in the nearby National Park so we called ahead to let them know that I wouldn't be able to trek and to inquire about substituting another activity. They were unwilling to even discuss it. No concern for my injury, no willingness to negotiate. Their response was that the trek was already booked and couldn't be changed - end of discussion. We tried to have this conversation again when we arrived and once again found an absolute unwillingness to even discuss it. The result was that we were picked up the next morning and transported to the national park where we had to have a discussion with a park ranger about alternative plans. This should never have happened. If that wasn't enough, the same front desk staff botched our booking for a snorkeling trip and we ended up double booked and paying a non-refundable deposit for a trip we never used. A very sweet bellboy offered to refund the deposit out of his own pocket (we refused, of course) but the management of the hotel never tried to correct the mistake. We felt that we were imposing every time we approached the front desk and simple requests (such as for an ATM) were treated as if we were imposing. Again, the behavior of the management at the front desk was quite different from the rest of the staff who were friendly and helpful. Nevertheless, the rigidity and rudeness of the front desk and management ruined our stay and we will not return, nor can we recommend this resort.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank birchdreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

Don't go there. I have to second some of the very negative comments I have seen on the site. A rip off considering prices in Bali and even prices in Europe (sorry but for 300€ a night I get more than this). Rooms look almost cheap comparing to other much lower priced hotels in Bali. Staff at moments very nice and other times very unfriendly (had to come back the day after for the spa because it was full when we were there and were treated like we had never been there - had to fetch myself my car to a parking in the middle of nowhere after paying 135€ 2 person massage which is very expensive for Bali). Also some 18 year old German trainee at the reception. I mean, really ?

Good food at dinner and nice spa, but you'll get both in Bali for half these prices

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ramon92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatahariBeachResort, Manager at Matahari Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Dear Ramon92,

Thank you for your comments which we have read in Tripadvisor and which we definitely will take in consideration.

I am therefore not happy to read that you recommend the readers not to go to Matahari Beach Resort & Spa.

Allow me to draw your attention of our points of view to your concerns.

Our bungalows and their interiors are built in a traditional Balinese architecture, handmade by local artisans, using materials of highest quality. The room price includes not only the building and the interior but also the surrounding, our 4 hectares tropical garden.

The one hour 2 hand Bali Massage which you have ordered on 30th August is US$ 51,00 per person subject to 21% government tax and service charge (Euro 97,00 for 2 persons) , compared with other 5* hotels in Bali, our rate is more than reasonable.

However I’m very disappointed to learn that nobody assisted you with your car which should have never happened.

We are proud to welcome trainees from abroad and see as part of our policy. By the way the young man who assisted our receptionist is 21 years old and studies hotel management in Germany.

Please, accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you felt during your holidays.

We do hope that we can welcome you again one day to Matahari Beach Resort & Spa.

Yours sincerely

Jany-Michel Fourré
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Haag
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

To celebrate our silver wedding anniversary we spent our holidays at Bali in four excellent 5-star hotels : Hanging Gardens (Ubud), Matahari Beach Resort, the Royal Pita Maha (Ubud again), and the Four Seasons (Jimbaran).
All of them are great, each of them in their own, special way, but when we have to judge the overall concept (rooms, garden, atmosphere, breakfast, dinner, service, management, pricelevel, etc.) there is only one winner, and that is the Matahari Beach Resort !
The decorated rooms, especially the wood-carving, are unbeatable.
Our room 19, close to the swimming pool (don't worry about noisy guests, because there won't be any) was very nice and light.
The garden is like the Garden of Eden, the swimming pool is fantastic and beautifully decorated and surrounded with all kinds of plants and trees.
Showers are found everywhere at the resort, but in this case the water pours out of different kinds of women-sculptures.
Take a look at the wellness-centre and be amazed; you will never find anything like it, anywhere !
The same goes for the bar : we have never seen, and you will never see, a more beautifully decorated bar in the world. All of these things are so impressive.
However, what stroke us most, compared to the other hotels we stayed, is their level of high-cuisine. The quality and choice of their dishes, at the (beach)restaurant (babi guling !), but especially at private dinners is really superb ! And we have had many of them in the past....
Moreover, compared to the other hotels we stayed, the pricelevel is very good.
Beside of this all, the General Manager of the resort (Mr. Jany-Michel Fourré) has done everything possible to make our stay unforgettable.
The effort and hours of time that he and his entire staff has spent to prepare, arrange, and decorate our special dinners are out of this world...
If you would like to surprise your beloved one with a special dinner, at a special place, just contact him, and your dream will come true !
Mine did in any case....
Aren't there any drawbacks ?
Hmmmmm.....we really tried to find anything, but did not succeed
Sure, compared to the other hotels it's not the largest accomodation, and you don't get a detached villa or bungalow with your private pool, but this is shown at the pricelevel.
So our sincere advice to everybody looking for a wnderful place to stay at this part of the island is : just go there and enjoy your best vacation ever !!!

Bert & Monique Haring
The Netherlands

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder
Level Contributor
265 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

With so many great reviews there is little else to say other than it was all we expected and more. It is a true five star resort and our only regret was we only stayed for two nights. My wife did manage to fit in a massage in the spa and morning yoga session near the beach - both very enjoyable. The manager is always around greeting guests at dinner and possibly his presence insures the high standards are maintained. It was one of the most beautiful resorts we've stayed at with exceptional service throughout our stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monty1424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

It was the place to be to relax and re energize yourself after a 1 week tour on the Java island. Warm welcome by the GM and his fantastic team. We have been accommodated in a premium garden view room offering all the facilities you would expect from this hotel category. You have two restaurants, one on the beach and another close to the swimming pool. Former member of the relays et chateaux group ( no more the case today), you will experience a very good relax dinner with a beautiful food and wine list with a very attentive/efficacious service. I will come back here without any doubt and recommend this hotel to all those who want to relax in a quite and luxury environment.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank titi02051971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herrliberg, Switzerland
Level Contributor
122 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Coming from Java, our first stop on Bali was the Mata Hari. We very much loved the tranquility of this boutique hotel away from mainstream Bali with its amply spaced and amply furnished traditional style villas decorated with much taste. We (the four of us) occupied two adjoining rooms forming one of the larger villas, as close to the beach as the villas get. And the beach, being a black sands beach, is special. The palms bordering it invite you to relax endlessly (which is what we did). The food is good and the atmosphere of the beach restaurant truly lovely. The main restaurant is a bit drab, while the food is good there, too. The staff is very friendly. Definitely a "recommend"!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uhu55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pemuteran
0.4 mi away
Adi Assri Beach Resort & Spa Pemuteran
0.8 mi away
Taman Selini Beach Bungalows
7.1 mi away
Menjangan Dynasty Resort
Menjangan Dynasty Resort
#1 of 3 in Banyuwedang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Taman Sari Bali Resort & Spa
7.4 mi away
The Menjangan
The Menjangan
#1 of 4 in West Bali National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kinaara Resort & Spa
Kinaara Resort & Spa
#3 of 10 in Pemuteran
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matahari Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matahari Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Matahari Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Jl. Raya Seririt-Gilimanuk, Pemuteran, Gerokgak, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Gerokgak > Pemuteran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Pemuteran
#1 Family Hotel in Pemuteran
#1 Spa Hotel in Pemuteran
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pemuteran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Matahari Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the northern coast of the island, set amongst fragrant lotus and frangipani flowers, this splendid village consisting of Balinese pavilions overlooks the sea. Each ornate bungalow has hand-carved wooden folding doors, a tropical garden and an outdoor shower with a stone dragon: pure nirvana. Just like the sense of wellbeing imparted from the spa with its massage and other treatments in the best Balinese tradition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Matahari Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matahari Beach Resort And Spa
Matahari Beach Hotel Pemuteran
Matahari Beach Resort & Spa Bali/Pemuteran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing