We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An absolute gem! ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taruna Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Taruna Homestay
Ranked #1 of 47 Pemuteran B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wollongong
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“An absolute gem! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

We were amazed from the minute we arrived. The service is without fault and they go above and beyond to make your trip perfect. The rooms are beautiful and the shower is the best. The spa and restaurant are new and were the best and reasonable. J

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jayman976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taruna J, Owner at Taruna Homestay, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Our Customer,

Hello from Taruna family.
We were surprised to read your nice review for our home stay.
We were glad to be of your service.

have a good time.

Best regard,

Taruna and family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    50
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
72
208
29
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

What a place, what a community. Away from the hustle and bustle we got to experience the true Bali.
The Taruna family which include the staff that are treated like family, could not have been more accommodating, fun and genuinely gorgeous to spend time with. Our room was divine, immaculately clean and the morning and night fresh frangipanis were such a lovely touch. The food and massage was the best I experienced in Bali. As for the views from the pool to the mountain, it made it very hard to want to do anything else but lay poolside! Thank you all so much, memories for a lifetime.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Portarlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taruna J, Owner at Taruna Homestay, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Our Valued guest,

Warm greeting from Taruna family.
Hope we find you very well.

Again thank you very much for your time to write a very nice comment, and We glad to read it and we show it to our team.

Hope we have a chance to serve you again next time.

Have a good time...

All our best regard

Taruna and family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

Well maintained grounds, lovely pool, close to the beach and nice views toward the mountains. The room presentation was excellent, very clean and private. In room safe.

Restaurant serves really tasty great food and the staff are extremely friendly and helpful.

Options for currency exchange, tours to snorkelling and diving sites, hotel pick-up and drop-off.

Loved the outside bathroom; despite other reviews which complain about the mosquitoes I didn't really have a problem with them. With a liberal covering of lotion I was protected against bites and the coils at the front door added further protection. They weren't that invasive or common anyway.

One down side to this property is that I found the walls between rooms had no sound-proofing whatsoever. I could clearly hear conversations in the adjacent room to the point where I could have participated easily. I would request a room with no neighbours if possible - particularly if your stay here is 'romance orientated'.

Traffic noise in the restaurant was truly horrendous, although to be fair a new restaurant away from the main road is almost complete and will go a long way to addressing this so not really an issue.

If it were not for the wafer thin wall in my room without any hesitation I'd have given this home-stay five stars.

Will I stay again? With the wealth of home-stays in Permuteran it's difficult to say, maybe.

Room Tip: Ask for a room without neighbours!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taruna J, Owner at Taruna Homestay, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Carl,

Good morning..
Sunny greeting from Pemuteran.

We thank you very much for your kind to write a review and again thank you very much for your stay with us.
Both positive and negative review are very important for us cause those will bring us better in the future.
Sure we will built 2 more room next year withsingle room concept. So we have more quite room.

We wish you have a good time and for sure July 2015 our two new quite room guaranty will be finish.

Sincerely yours

Taruna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grans, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

The Taruna Homestay will provide you with a great and welcoming place to stay. Room was really nice and comfortable and we received a lot of attentions during all our stay.
Food at the restaurant is excellent.
There you have the opportunity to spend some time with an authentic Balinese family.
We will stay here again in the future for sure.

Room Tip: Stayed in the super deluxe room with AC, outside shower (great experience) and hot water. Simply pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael_b_and_anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taruna J, Owner at Taruna Homestay, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Michael,
Hello from Bali.
It was great to read your review at trip Advisor and we all glad to know if you were satisfied stay with us.
Now our project almost finish and we need a couple of week to finish it.

Looking forward to welcoming you back at our family in the future and when everything is ready.

Best regard from Pemuteran,

Taruna and family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
218 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

This was booked for me by the dive operator I used as part of Diving/Hotel/Transportation package. Not knowing what to really expect since I didn't do any research on this "1-night accommodation", and from the name "Homestay" I imagined that I would be staying at someone's spare bedroom or a guest house in the back.

What a pleasant surprise! It turned out that Taruna Homestay is a charming villa with private bungalows, front desk and a restaurant in a lovely garden setting.
Ladies at Front Desk & Restaurant are genuinly kind, helpful, inviting and accommodating...I couldn't be more impressed.

On my bed were flower petals carefully placed in the shape of "heart" and a big leaf with personal welcome messeage hand-written right on it! I was blown away...Wow is an understatement.

Simple cozy room has a king-size bed and a closet, which is like a little treasure chest as you'll find a pretty lounging robe, a pair of flip-flops and a casual beach bag inside. What more do you want?

When you open the bathroom door and step in -OUT actually- the large bathroom is 'al fresco'.
I am not used to "open-air bathroom concept", but this was private, beautiful and even spiritual.

I would absolutely recommend Taruna Homestay to anyone visiting the area. I can assure you that they will make you feel so special and welcomed with true Balinese hospitality from the heart.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sydneytheturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taruna J, Owner at Taruna Homestay, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear our lovely customer,

Sunny greeting from Pemuteran north west Bali.
Hope this mail find you very well.

We thank you very much for your your stay with us and thanks also for kind to write a wonderful review. Our family and me really glad to know if you were satisfied at our accommodation.
We wish we can be of your service in the future.

All of our best regard to you.

Taruna and family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

I just come back home in Sanur but it was difficult to leave Taruna Homestay after 2 wonderful days there. The owner and the staff are very friendly. the rooms are located in a nice garden with swimming pool. The food at the restaurant is really delicious for a good price.

I just can recommand you to stay there, you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FabrizioBali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taruna J, Owner at Taruna Homestay, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Dear Bapak Fabrizio,

Salam bahagia dari Taruna family.

We thank you very much for your stay and very nice review for our hotel and restaurant.
We are glad if you are satisfied to stay at Taruna family home stay.
Hope we can serve you and your friend next time.

All my best regard to you,

Sincerely yours,

Kadek Taruna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tirana, Albania
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

From the very first moment you arrive, every staff member greets you with a warm smile and let you know that you're now a part of the Taruna Homestay family. Whilst you sip on your fresh watermelon juice (or whatever other welcome drinks you choose) and wipe your face with your fresh towels, one of the staff members explains to you everything you need to know about the hotel and Pemuteran, including providing useful maps to the area.
Taruna runs an excellent homestay, with a gorgeous pool area with sunlounges, luxurious outdoor bathrooms and a restaurant with the freshest Balinese dishes that are just delicious. I especially enjoyed their fresh seafood (this is a fishing village, afterall!) such as the grilled whole baby snapper with three local sauces served on the side.
Breakfast is included in the room price and, as all meals offered at the restaurant, can be served as room service on your patio facing the garden or pool area. There are a few choices, inluding eggs cooked to your liking with toast, nasi/mie goreng and pancakes. You'll also receive fresh fruit, a fresh juice and tea/coffee.
With rooms for AUD$20-$25 per night (200-250,000 IDR), Taruna's homestay is absolutely incredible value, especially nestled amongst the beachside resorts of Pemuteran. It's location is on the eastern starting point on the stretch of the main Seririt-Gilimanuk Rd/Desa Pemuteran that is the closest thing the a town centre that Pemuteran gets.
You can easily book diving and snorkeling tours to Menjangan Island, book tours to other parts of Bali, rent a motorcycle, buy gifts and souvenirs and exhange money at all the hotel reception. ATMs are a short 2 minute walk from the hotel in front of the Adi Assri hotel.
Overall, I highly recommend anyone in the Pemuteran area to stay here!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mslexxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taruna J, Owner at Taruna Homestay, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Dear our Lovely Client,

Good day ...
Hope our mail find you very well.
We thank you very much for your time to write very nice review to our hotel.
And we thank you as well for staying with us and hope we can serve you again in the future.
We will inform every body when our new kitchen and new restaurant and new Spa finish.
We wish you have a good time and best regard to you.

Sincerely yours,

Kadek Taruna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pemuteran hotels
0.3 mi away
Adi Assri Beach Resort & Spa Pemuteran
0.1 mi away
Matahari Beach Resort & Spa
6.8 mi away
Taman Selini Beach Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Taman Sari Bali Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Tirta Sari Bungalows
Tirta Sari Bungalows
#4 of 47 in Pemuteran
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kubuku Ecolodge and Resto
Kubuku Ecolodge and Resto
#2 of 47 in Pemuteran
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taruna Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taruna Homestay

Property: Taruna Homestay
Address: Jl. Seririt - Gilimanuk | Taruna home Stay , Jln.seririt-gilimanuk ,desa Pemuteran, gerokgak81155. Singaraja Bali Indonesia, Pemuteran, Gerokgak 81155, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Gerokgak > Pemuteran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Pemuteran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Taruna Homestay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homestay Taruna is located in a tranquil Balinese village, a 3.5-hour drive from Ngurah Rai International Airport. The homestay has a tour desk and provides free Wi-Fi in the entire property and massage services.The rooms are simple and fitted with freshly laundered beddings. They all have an en suite bathroom, a fan or air conditioning and a desk. Views of the garden can be enjoyed from all rooms.Gilimanuk Bus Station is a 30-minute drive from the homestay, while Lovina Beach is about an hour’s drive away. Bicycle rental services are provided by the homestay for guests who wish to explore the region on their own.Taruna Homestay has a restaurant on site which serves Indonesian dishes and local specialities. Room service is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Taruna Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taruna Homestay Bali/Pemuteran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing