We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I cannot rave enough about this place!”
Review of Taruna Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Taruna Homestay
Ranked #1 of 50 Pemuteran B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I cannot rave enough about this place!”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

From the drivers, to the receptionists, to the waitstaff, to the masseuse, to the housekeepers, and to the owner the level of service and attentiveness was impeccable. They go above and beyond to make sure you have the best experience possible.

The homestay is ideally located close to the beach and within walking distance to both excellent snorkelling areas, and trekking paths. Furthermore, it is within driving and/or boating distance to many cultural and/or natural sites, and the staff will gladly provide transport.

The facilities were very well looked after. The gardens were gorgeous! The room was lovely: spacious, and very clean. The outdoor shower was luxurious.

The restaurant has, by far, the best food I had in Bali! Traditional Balinese cuisine cooked with fresh ingredients, the food was delicious and beautifully presented.

I hope this review conveys the conviction with which I would recommend Taruna Homestay!

Room Tip: A/C is a necessity!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellenmargaretm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taruna J, Owner at Taruna Homestay, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Hi..Ellen,

Warm greeting from Taruna family.
We thank you very much for your kind review for our team and accommodations and restaurant.
We were glad to be of your service.
And also we are happy to know that you like our food very much.
It's will be better when our new kitchen is completely finish so my wife able to teach you and other customer for cooking class starting visiting our traditional market near by our village and choose our fresh ingredients and cooking in our kitchen and testing at our garden.

Well Ellen.. we wish you have a good time,,take care.

Looking forward to welcome you back at Taruna home stay.

Sincerely yours,

Taruna and all team and family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    50
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
76
218
30
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We stayed 6 nights at this wonderful place and I can't say enough good things about it. Mr. Taruna and his family were simply amazing. Their hospitality, warmth, humor and generosity are incredible and I can't wait to go back. Everyone was made to feel like family there. Our room was large, comfortable and beautifully decorated with local art. The outdoor (but still very private) shower made me feel I was living in this gorgeous tropical idyll. The food in their cute little restaurant was tasty, fresh and really well prepared. The Taruna family went out of their way to help arrange scuba diving, sightseeing and other fun excursions in the area. Taruna Homestay was one of the top highlights from my trip around the world.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dalec02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taruna J, Owner at Taruna Homestay, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear our lovely guest,

Sunny greeting from Pemuteran -Bali.
Hope this mail find you very well.

We thank you very much for your time to write a review for our hospitality.
All of this is a good spirit for us to do the same or more in the future.

I am really want to finish our new kitchen and New restaurant and new Spa , so our guest will be more and more comfortable to stay longer like you did.

Finally I am ending this e-mail with our best regard to you.
Have a good time and looking forward to welcoming you back at our family.

Sincerely yours,

Kadek Taruna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holbox Island, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Arriving late at night with a reservation after an extremely uncomfortable ride from the airport the staff of Taruna Homestay made getting to bed so very easy. Their customer service is great. The location has some issues. If you don't mind sitting within 15 metres of full on traffic during b/fast and dinner times, barely able to clearly hear what your partner is saying, then this is the place for you. It is NOISY! Typical Balinese traffic is to say the least something to be recognized. An early b/fast or late dinner might be OK but this location might be something to consider if you prefer "peace and quiet". The food, room and pool were great to be fair. The noise prompted us to leave early to a more quieter place with virtually no street noise and right on the beach, something Taruna is not.

Room Tip: Room at rear near pool might be an idea......less noise too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taruna J, Owner at Taruna Homestay, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Dear our Customer,

We thank you very much for your time to write a review for our accommodation. All positive and negative review are very important for us. I am agree that our restaurant is to close from main road. It was big changed when we built our restaurant 3,5 years ago. But Pemuteran is growing..more people coming to pemuteran and property business also growing ,that 's make main road is more and more busy . But as you know that we are doing a new restaurant setting on our garden and facing to the garden, it will be finish next two month. And also we still building a new kitchen in front line and soon we build a parking area with high wall. I am sure when we finish them all,,, it will be the answer " silencer . And we will get the situation back like 3,5 years ago.Our guest will get a quite place to eat and drink.
And next our big planning is built three more room after swimming pool. This will be our suit room which is has a romantic hill view and also facing to garden. We are guaranty that this room will be the most quite one. So we will have three different type of room based on the area: Standard room ( low buget) is located near restaurant and kitchen,. Super deluxe room ( higher price) facing to Garden ,and family room facing to swimming pool and Suit room the most quite facing to hill and garden also. So our suit room will be open in 2015. Again we thank you very much for your review and looking forward to welcome you back for our suit room in 2015.

best regard

Taruna and family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevran, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Many thanks to Mr Kadek Taruna , his family and team for the help they so kindly provided .I had the unfortunate experience of being seriously ill during my stay in Bali ,They did all they could to help me find and contact a good doctor and make me feel at home and comfortable . This hotel is first class, with remarkable food and all comfort facilities as well as snorkelling equipment ,transport and such a smiling service!. I am very grateful to them all and will come back as soon as possible.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claude et Moniq... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taruna J, Owner at Taruna Homestay, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Hi Claude and Moniq,

Warm regard from our family of Taruna family.
Hope your health is prefect now.
We would like to say thank you again for your stay and top review for our home stay.

Looking forward to welcome you back at Taruna home stay and we always ready to of your service.

Kindly regard,

Taruna and family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goettingen, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We were staying for 3 nights in a standard room of this charming bungalow-complex.
There is nothing we could think of that isnt avaiable or cant get managed by the taruna family whos head is the friendly and always opened for a little talk, Mr. Taruna himself.
The room we stayed in was totaly worth its money (300.000), as it is in a good condition. So is the outdoor bathroom. We took part in a snorkeling trip to the nearby island Menjangan (which is definatetly a must see) and related to that a couple of sunburn treatments at Tarunas which are also very good.
In addition to that we have to mention the excellent food which is always fresh and glutein free (try the green beans with coconut).
We would definetly come back and can highly recommend this homestay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malib00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taruna J, Owner at Taruna Homestay, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Mali,

Sunny greeting from Taruna family.

Hope our e-mail find you very well,
We would like to say thank you for everything.
We wish to welcome you back in the future after all of our new facilities are finish, I am sure our new restaurant and new Spa will be finish in two month.

Kindly regard

Taruna family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

I could not have been happier with this place. Taruna is a warm and kind host and he runs a tight ship with English speaking, attentive staff. From the good reviews I was expecting a clean, well-appointed homestay/boutique hotel and Taruna is certainly that. But it is all the little extra touches that make this place truly special. Exceptional housekeeping left messages spelled out in flowers on the bed and wonderful smelling frangipani scattered about. Occasional turn down service. Lighting mosquito coils outside your door as dusk settles.

Rooms are cute yet roomy bungalows. I would recommend trying to get one at the back of the property as they are farther from the road and closer to the pool. We stayed in #2 and it was great. I would spring for air con as it is very hot and humid in the area but the hot water turned out to be unnecessary. Even the "cold" water is rather tepid and very comfortable considering the hot climate.

One thing to keep in mind is that there was some construction happening at the front of the property when we were visiting which you have to walk through to get to the bungalows. It didn't bother us as all the workers were very nice and stopped work to let us by. Taruna offered us vouchers toward food, massage etc as an apology for the disruption which really was no disruption at all.

Food was great. When we were there it was rated the #1 restaurant in Pemuteran on tripadvisor.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Morleycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taruna J, Owner at Taruna Homestay, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear our Lovely guest,

We thank you very much for your stay with us and write a very nice review for our accommodation ,
We are really glad that you were enjoy our home stay and our food as well.

Please keep in contact and hope we still have chance to serve you at Taruna family in the future.

All our best regard to you,

Taruna and all the family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

In total, we spent 4 nights with Taruna and his family, and we can't give them enough praise. Their attention to detail and genuine interest truly made our stay magical. Taruna's wife prepares the most delicious meals and the fresh fruit juices are the perfect treat to beat the heat. The set breakfast menu is quite large, but as vegans, we were limited to the fried rice each morning. Knowing our food restrictions, the staff happily adjusted menu items when possible (substituting brown sugar for the honey in the welcome drinks at each meal and making the sweet corn croquettes without egg).
The rooms are spacious and clean, and the bed is extremely comfortable. The outdoor bathroom is amazing! There's nothing quite like showering under the stars and a full moon. The gardens are impeccable and gorgeous, and the pool is like your own private oasis. The public beach, with its fantastic snorkeling, is a short 10-minute walk away.
Staying a few days at Taruna Homestay is a must if you're planning a trip to Bali! It's definitely worth a visit to Pemuteran.

Room Tip: Splurge a bit more for the deluxe rooms. They are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bounding_Steps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taruna J, Owner at Taruna Homestay, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dearest Made and Niluh,

Warm regard from Taruna family.

We would like to thank you again for your stay and review our home stay.
We wish you enjoy your time and looking forward to see your friend at Taruna home stay.

Sincerely yours

Taruna and family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pemuteran hotels
0.3 mi away
Adi Assri Beach Resort & Spa Pemuteran
0.7 mi away
Taman Selini Beach Bungalows
0.1 mi away
Matahari Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Taman Sari Bali Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Kinaara Resort & Spa
Kinaara Resort & Spa
#3 of 10 in Pemuteran
248 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tirta Sari Bungalows
Tirta Sari Bungalows
#4 of 50 in Pemuteran
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taruna Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taruna Homestay

Property: Taruna Homestay
Address: Jl. Seririt - Gilimanuk | Taruna home Stay , Jln.seririt-gilimanuk ,desa Pemuteran, gerokgak81155. Singaraja Bali Indonesia, Pemuteran, Gerokgak 81155, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Gerokgak > Pemuteran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Pemuteran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Taruna Homestay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homestay Taruna is located in a tranquil Balinese village, a 3.5-hour drive from Ngurah Rai International Airport. The homestay has a tour desk and provides free Wi-Fi in the entire property and massage services.The rooms are simple and fitted with freshly laundered beddings. They all have an en suite bathroom, a fan or air conditioning and a desk. Views of the garden can be enjoyed from all rooms.Gilimanuk Bus Station is a 30-minute drive from the homestay, while Lovina Beach is about an hour’s drive away. Bicycle rental services are provided by the homestay for guests who wish to explore the region on their own.Taruna Homestay has a restaurant on site which serves Indonesian dishes and local specialities. Room service is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Taruna Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taruna Homestay Bali/Pemuteran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing