We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (479)
Filter reviews
479 results
Traveler rating
413
56
7
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
413
56
7
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshome staythe ownerlittle touchesmenjangan islandmangotouristic areawonderful familylovely poolswimming pooloutdoor bathroomcooking classstayed nightsstandard roomhot waterboutique hotelbeautiful placethe main road
Filter
Updating list...
190 - 195 of 479 reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed in a deluxe room (rm 9 of 9 rooms). This is a Lovely home stay. All staff are from the same family and they could not be friendlier or more helpful. We were welcomed with open arms and after 4 nights left there as friends. The meals we took there were very nice and very reasonably priced. I would highly recommend this place, especially if you are looking for a quiet, smaller place to stay. Oh, yes, we also took a snorkeling tour for one day, which was also organized via the staff. To sum it up: LOVED IT.

Room Tip: Rooms 8 and 9 are the latest additions, so fairly new. Room 9 is at the end of the path and has only room 8 as neighbors. So very private.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NiniP47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taruna J, Owner at Taruna Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Dear Our valued client,

Sunny greeting from Pemuteran north west Bali.
Hope everything is fine with you.

We thank you very much for your time to review our home stay and just some thing new from us that next year we have a new restaurant at the garden which is more quit and relaxing.

Hope we can serve you in the future.

Kind regard,

Taruna and family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We only stayed for one night, in a deluxe room. I only wish we could have stayed longer. The room is spacious and clean, mosquito net on rails. Outdoor bathroom. Nice swimmingpool. Disadvantage for me is that breakfast and dinner are served on tables right beside the main road. Lucky for is, we got one of the two tables in the gazebo behind the spa. Quiet and romantic! The grilled mahimahi is greatly recommended. Food is perfect, breakfast as well as dinner. Staff is very friendly and welcoming. They watched our luggage when we were out diving and arranged transport afterwards to Lovina. The only minor detail is is that that same transport was overpriced in hindview. But for us, that was forgivable because we got such great service during our short stay. Also please do go diving with Firman from across the street. Best divemaster I've had so far, professional and fun.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HelB1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taruna J, Owner at Taruna Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear Our valued guest,

Greeting from Taruna family.
We feel very happy to know that you were satisfied stay with us.
Again we thank you so much for your review and stay with us.

Hope we can serve you longer in the future.
We always be ready to serve you any time.

Sincerely yours,

Taruna and Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

This homestay in the north of Bali (Pemuteran) is run by the Taruna family. They put a lot of energy in the wellbeing of their guests. Very good food in the restaurant, try the Rijsttafel! Rooms are spacious with a lovely terrace. Bathroom needs a small makeover. There is also a swimmingpool. The nearby road is quitte noisy. Good value for money!

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the swimmingpool so you won't hear the noisy traffic
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank castroholland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taruna J, Owner at Taruna Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear valued guest,

We thank you very much for your stay with us and review also for the restaurant.
It's good to know all of the guest comment , so we can plan and do some thing in the future.
Especially how to minimize noisy from main road.

We wish you have a good time.

Sincerely yours,

Taruna and family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We spent two wonderful nights at the Taruna Homestay. Snorkling was our primary reason for being in Pemuteran, but the village and homestay far exceeded our expecations. Our spacious bungalow had AC, comfortable bed, nice decorations and a beautiful outside shower. The shower had hot water coming out of a statue and was one of the prettiest outside baths we had in Bali. There was a personalized note written on a leaf on our bed when we arrived. Everything was very clean. The pool was lovely and very inviting. We had a nice seat on the patio for morning coffee which the staff graciously delivered to us. Food was good, fresh and reasonable. We requested a driver from the homestay, and he picked us up on time in Munduk. Price was very reasonable.

We made our arrangements for snorkling through the homestay, and everything worked beautifully--an awesome excursion. The brightly colored fish and coral were breathtakingly gorgeous. It was like swimming in an aquarian.

My daughter and I had very cheap massages in the homestay's outside massage room. My massage was excellent, but my daughter did not care for her masseuse. We also had a cucumber and papaya body mask which was icy cold--we could only handle it on one side of the body! Much too cold to enjoy.

Staff was warm, friendly and very responsive. First night at dinner, the owner came up to welcome us. Highly recommend Taruna and the snorkling.

Room Tip: Choose a bungalow in the back because of street noise. We couldn't have done without AC.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OnTheGoSunnyvale_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taruna J, Owner at Taruna Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear Our valued guest,

Best greeting from north coast of Bali.

Serving with happiness and heart is coming out from our family,,, thank you if you are satisfied with all of it.

Spa and dive shop are our hotel's facilities and great to know if you are also enjoy and get fun to joint that.

We hope we can serve you in the future and get wet again for snorkeling.

Sincerely yours,

Taruna and family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I would like to say that the experience that my wife and myself where treated to was so much more than we expected.The room and service at Taruna Home Stay exceeded our first thoughts of a few nights in Pemuteran. The staff are sooo friendly and the service and attention they give is second to none, this was truly a shining star in our travel through Bali and her surrounding islands its a fantastic example of how its supposed to be!!.
The cost of our stay was about average to the other home stays but as i stated above the quality of stay is second to none.
The last thing i have to comment on is the Balinese rice tafel the restaurant offers the only problem with this is the simple fact that they dont advertise it well enough this would put a smile on any travelers face as its served magnificently with great care and attention given to every dish of which there are about eight all at once on one giant serving plate on there private two table terrace behind the main restaurant area(totally private).
My wife joked that they should change their name to Taruna rice tafel home stay.her other advice was to try the Balinese wine with it of which the grapes are grown just a few km away from the home stay.
All in all a fantastic place to rest, recharge and get ready for what the surrounding area has to offer.
Excellent!!

Room Tip: Ask at the reception as the advice you will receive will be honest.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taruna J, Owner at Taruna Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear Our Lovely Guest,

Best greeting from Bali family.
Hope this e-mail find you very well and happiness.

We thank you very much for very high recommended at trip advisor .
All the cook and me say thank you very much for your time to write very nice review for our rice tafel and all of great idea.

It's our aim to give best of our attention and service to all of our guest.
We ... always be ready to serve you and other at our home stay at any time.

Best regard

Taruna and family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews