We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An Oasis but surrounded by garbage!!”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
26 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Pemuteran, Gerokgak, Bali

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
5huizen
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice villa, lazy staff.”
Reviewed March 30, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

The villa was beautiful but the staff was only seen once or twice a day. A bit pushy when the ask what you want for breakfast the evening before, when breakfast was served it was not what we ordered . No Wifi during most of the day. Airco in the living room was broken. Outdoor showers nice but not well maintained.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: garden
Liked least: staff
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Nee.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 3, 2016
I am glad you liked the villa, but sorry to hear the staff did not meet your expectations. Most guests we have are very fond and positive of our staff and the service they provide. As many people like privacy they usually adjust to the clients wishes. Apparently communication was not clear in this case. also their aim is to take your dayplan into consideration when they ask you what time you would like to have breakfast or dinner, in order to make sure it is ready on time. Some guests woud like breakfast at 7 and some at 10. This way they can attend to the guests wishes and also organize their own schedule for cleaning. I am sorry the Wifi was not good during your stay. The standard in Bali is different from what we are used to in Europe. However we have an alternative available, that our manager can give you if needed. I believe he supplied that the moment you mentioned the problem. In the meantime we are working on a better option for the wifi. Sometimes things break down, but as I understand from our manager the airconditiong was fixed as soon as you mentioned the problem.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti5720...
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“An Oasis but surrounded by garbage!!”
Reviewed March 16, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Upon arriving at the Denpasar Airport, our arranged driver was not there. We were harassed to a great degree by the locals wanting to drive us. We waited 1/2 hr. before he arrived and had what I would consider a rather harrowing and long (4 hours) drive. Upon arriving at the villa, we were met with an absolute oasis in what i would consider a northern Bali fishing town. We were more than well taken care of by Buspa (the manager) and the staff. The accommodations were clean, the lawns well tended, the pool sparkling and the beach, well just okay. On day 2 we wandered down the beach and once off the Villa property, the beaches are littered with garbage! This certainly saddened us as we love to stroll the beach and that was literally impossible. Every day with the exception of 1 dinner, we ate in and the food was excellent…..why go anywhere else? There was a terrific variety, it was fresh and always on time. We snorkelled several times and the reef is absolutely gorgeous if you can get around the garbage. So, I guess I state that the Villa was amazing but Permuteran both the village and the beaches were extremely dirty. Would I go back? Probably not, but Villa Semadhi was in exceptional condition!!

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 25, 2016
We are happy you enjoyed villa Semadhi, but so sorry the driver was to late. We work with this company for 9 years now and something like this has never happened before. Garbage in the ocean is indeed a problem during the rainy season. All the plastic is then washed out into the sea. We keep our part of the beach clean and also the village organized regular beach clean activities, but not on a daily basis. Awareness on garbage control is certainly growing, but it will take some time before it is up to standard. After March when the dry season starts, the situation is much better.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
480MeMe
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Absolute Perfection!”
Reviewed June 23, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Villa Semadhi treated our family of 7 (ages 3-55 yrs.) to the most fabulous 18 day vacation (May 13 to 31). A big thank you to Jane and Bernard who ensured all our requests were fulfilled and a bigger thank you for having this great villa available for people like us to experience.

The villa is truly gorgeous with stunning property. Everything just slips onto a stretch of coastline that will take your breath away. Our beach was clean and reflected the breathtaking sunrises and sunsets we saw each day while laying on our beach chairs or floating in the refreshing pool.

What made this vacation so fantastic was the service and assistance of the villa staff. The manager Puspa, was always available and made everything we asked for so special (love boat and poolside dinner). He really did go over and above our expectations. Even to locate mint leaves for us. Thank you! The villa's driver/guide was very knowledgeable and incredible at knowing just when to arrive at various destinations. Every time we arrived somewhere there were no crowds. This talent of his was greatly appreciated especially when visiting the temples and snorkeling at Menjangan Island.

Everything offered was exactly the experience we were looking for. We barley lifted a finger other than to open our drinks and move from the house to the pool. We were pampered by all the staff. The pool and grounds were maintained to perfection, while the cleaning staff picked up and cleaned after all 7 of us and we made some messes.

The food was so good! Jero is the cook who made sure we were fed on time, 3 times a day and it was magnificent! With every bite, you can tell the quality of the produce and ingredients used were always fresh. I read many reviews about this villa before making my choice and it was said many times that Jero produces the best food in Bali, well I don’t want to repeat a review, but she does. I just wish I took one of her cooking classes to get to know how to make her Red Balinese sauce. Yum!

Incredible memories were made at Villa Semadhi that will last a lifetime for me and my family and I thank you all for that!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Singapore
Reviewed March 26, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Weymouth
Reviewed November 14, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sussanne5...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Paradise found”
Reviewed April 9, 2012 for a stay in March 2012

We stayed at Villa Semadhi for 7 nights from 20-27 th March 2012. WOW! absolutely loved every minute of our stay,
Beds: all comfortable, private and spacious. Our 12 year old slept on a roll away on the floor in the master suite, plenty of room.
Food: we spent most days lazing by the pool, and we ate at the villa most days /nights. All the food was prepared on site and was fresh, well priced . we even had a 3.5 kg crayfish banquet one night. Our welcome BBQ was divine and well received after our trip from Ubud.
The drive to the villa(approx 3.5 hours and up a huge mountain) takes you past traditional villages where we witnessed alot of ceremonies, We stayed at the villa on Nyepi Day. The day prior to Nypei day we were involved in the village ceremony, see photos. It was a great day.
Our 12 YO daughter visited the local school across the road and enjoyed some time with children her age.
Putra could not be more accomodating, orgnising everything from: car hire, motorbike hire, fishing rod hire, guitar hire, massages, snorkelling trip, restaurant bookings etc.
If you want a relaxing holiday , in a comfortable villa , cleaned daily and linen changed every 2nd day.Stay at Vlla Semadhi. the layout is great, always plenty of places to retreat and get some privacy if needed. I loved the gazebo by the spa( peaceful and comfotable place to rest and sleep)
Another highlight was releasing turtles at Reefseen. You need to be there between 8am and 10am, and the cost is currently $10 per turtle. Frangipani restaurant offer free pick up and return.
Nypei day , the day of silence ,was spent lazing around the pool , food was still cooked for us, although we did offer to cook our own breakfast and lunch,
The villa is the second last villa in Pemuteran, and for me (having severe arthritis) was a little far to walk into the town . I would have liked to be able to walk outside the villa and to Biorock for a snorkel every day.
biorock is worth visiting, spectacular snorkelling right off the beach . However that said, a driver into town is only $5.00 one way. The traditional boat proved a highlight for my husband and son, who sent time fishing and sailing.
Our driver Ada was remarkable , picked us up form the airport, drove us to Ubud, took us to elepaphant park and white water rafting, drove us to the villa and then reutrned us to kuta, amazing and helpful Overall we all loved our stay at Villa Semadhi , and will definately return with friends .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing