We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and Relaxing Culinary and Cultural Adventure”

KDongDing Local Culinary Journey - Day Class
Ranked #5 of 17 things to do in Payangan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: K'DongDing Balinese Cooking Class is presented for those people with keen interests in authentic Balinese food and culture. Learn to cook well-known local dishes in a relaxed and friendly environment. Small classes (only 4-12 people) are held in a traditional open kitchen, and led by certified Balinese cooks, making for a highly personalized and rewarding experience.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Stroller parking, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed February 8, 2018

Booking was made directly online with the class with prompt responses.
We chose this class because participants cooked each of the 5 courses by themselves. We were taken by the class' driver to the local market where we were met by Chef Nyoman Mahendra. As expected, the market was a far cry from the farmers' markets at home but it provided insight into the daily Balinese living. Nyoman pointed out the fruits, vegetables, and spices used in Balinese cooking and their healthy aspects.
We were then driven to the class which was held in the family's compound. It houses 43 family members and has hosted wedding guests numbering in the hundreds and a thousand. At the back were fields where the family grows rice, coffee, fruits, and vegetables. We met smiling, gracious family members.
Over tea and snacks, Nyomon spoke of his island's culture, customs, and Hinduism. He was informative, interesting, and entertaining. Having worked on cruise ships, his command of English is excellent.
Nylon's class emphasized easy and healthy Balinese cooking. The 4 of us were the only students. We made a salad, soup, Chicken satay, and curry tofu (all made with the basic spice mixture-all tasting different and delicious) and palm sugar and coconut crepes. We chopped, diced, and cooked at our individual stations which were clean and well organized. We seasoned to our taste.
The resulting lunch was more than we could eat.
We left with a booklet of receipes and instructions on replacement ingredients that we can find at home.
It was a fun and relaxing time even for the non-cook among us.

1  Thank rosely88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kDongDing, Owner at KDongDing Local Culinary Journey - Day Class, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2018

Dear Rosely88,
We would like to thank you, for your candid comments. We are happy to provide our service to you. It is our wish that you bringing home a thousand beautiful memories of Bali. It gives us true happiness to see your smiling faces.

Thank you for referring us being your cooking class in Bali. It means a great deal to us to know that you’re willing to recommend us. We are appreciating it.

Thank you for your Kindness and your cooperation, We will use your criticism to render better services to my next client,
We do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you again once you are in Bali.

Best Regards
Kdongding Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"traditional market"
in 3 reviews
"balinese cooking"
in 3 reviews
"vegetables and fruits"
in 2 reviews
"wonderful teacher"
in 2 reviews
"family home"
in 3 reviews
"satay"
in 2 reviews
"balinese compound"
in 2 reviews
"family compound"
in 3 reviews
"pancakes"
in 2 reviews
"picked up from our hotel"
in 2 reviews
"insight"
in 5 reviews
"ingredients"
in 8 reviews
"nyoman"
in 7 reviews
"customs"
in 2 reviews
"culture"
in 3 reviews
"skills"
in 2 reviews
"ubud"
in 8 reviews
Filter

22 - 26 of 53 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2018 via mobile

KDongDing cooking class is amazing! They are professional and treat you to the real Balinese experience. From the market to the compound to the class every moment was amazing! I would definitely do this again! You don't only learn about how to cook Balinese food, you learn about the traditions, cultures and about the food itself!

Thank Cayy_Jorgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kDongDing, Owner at KDongDing Local Culinary Journey - Day Class, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2018

Dear M/M Cayy_Jorgy
We would like to thank you, for your candid comments. We are happy to provide our service to you. we love to share the secrets of the authentic Balinese foods from our culinary experience in Bali, It is our wish that you bringing home a thousand beautiful memories of Bali. Find the inspiration in transforming familiar Balinese dish into works of art.
Thank you for referring us being your cooking class in Bali. It means a great deal to us to know that you’re willing to recommend us. We are appreciating it.

Thank you for your Kindness and your cooperation, We will use your criticism to render better services to my next client,
We do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you again once you are in Bali to trying other recipes.

Best Regards
Kdongding Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2018

We really enjoyed our experience at Kdongding Cooking class, just outside of Ubud! Our class started at 3:00, when we were picked up in Ubud on time. In fact, our ride was waiting for us! We drove to Payangan, which is about a 20 minute drive from "downtown" Ubud. We started with a market tour, although since we were in the afternoon class, many of the produce vendors had already closed for the day. If you are really looking forward to an extensive market tour, opt for the morning class. Being outside of Ubud, the market wasn't overly busy and had a nice vibe to it. Nyoman, our instructor, grew up in this area and is friendly with the people we saw at the market.
After visiting the market, we drove back to Nyoman's house, where the class was held. Nyoman gave us a tour of his compound and shared lots of really cool cultural information. His family was around, and they were all very friendly and welcoming.
Before we started cooking, we sat down for about 40 minutes and talked over tasty hot drinks and snacks, while learning about the local ingredients and some cooking techniques. Then, it was time to cook! We only had three in our group, which made for great hands-on instruction. We made a total of five dishes over the course of two hours or so. The cooking was well organized and we ate all of the food together, as one meal with dessert. Well really, we tried to eat all of it, but we were each stuffed before we could finish everything. Don't worry, the portions you'll make are generous even for the hungriest of cooks! We wrapped up our dinner just before eight, and were back at our villa at about 8:15 PM. I imagine that larger groups would finish closer to 9:00.

To summarize, the service from Nyoman and his family was top notch, the meal was large and delicious, and the teaching both about the food and local culture was very informative and professional I would love to go back some day, and wish Nyoman and his family all the best!

1  Thank mtbrules96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kDongDing, Owner at KDongDing Local Culinary Journey - Day Class, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2018

Dear M/M mtbrules96
We would like to thank you, for your candid comments. We are happy to provide our service to you. we love to share the secrets of the authentic Balinese foods from our culinary experience in Bali, It is our wish that you bringing home a thousand beautiful memories of Bali. Find the inspiration in transforming familiar Balinese dish into works of art.
Thank you for referring us being your cooking class in Bali. It means a great deal to us to know that you’re willing to recommend us. We are appreciating it.

Thank you for your Kindness and your cooperation, We will use your criticism to render better services to my next client,
We do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you again once you are in Bali to trying other recipes.

Best Regards
Kdongding Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2018 via mobile

DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY. Took our money and did not supply us with anything. No transport or lessons. When called refused to discuss our concerns and only said “ you should read terms and conditions” and laughed over the phone. Refund obtained through bank not company. Do not use.

Thank Matthew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2017 via mobile

What a great day! Starting with a market tour of a traditional market with all the different types of foods, how they are grown and brought to market. Lessons about how to choose the right vegetables, what to look for in good vs bad. Then it was back to the families (very old and very traditional) compound for more lessons in Balinese culture, customs, foods and lastly preparation techniques. This was great for me coming from the USA to see how the homesite was arranged into different areas and their purposes. Learning not only what to mix and chop but HOW to mix and chop was key! Timing is everything, and they did a fantastic job of keeping us perfectly on task, and getting everything done correctly, and seamlessly. And the food we made was delicious! Everything came out perfect! It was so much more than a good cooking experience! It was a good Balinese experience!

Thank ent_doc_martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kDongDing, Owner at KDongDing Local Culinary Journey - Day Class, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2017

Dear Martin.

We would like to thank you, for referring our Cooking Class. We are happy to provide our service and experienced to you.
It is our wish that you are bringing home a thousand beautiful memories and the recipe of Balinese food. It gives us true happiness to see your smiling faces.
We wish your experience Bali as an unforgettable journey destination.
We do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you again once you are in Bali.

Regards
Kdongding Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed KDongDing Local Culinary Journey - Day Class also viewed

 

Been to KDongDing Local Culinary Journey - Day Class? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing