We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Culinary and Cultural Experience!”

KDongDing Local Culinary Journey - Day Class
Ranked #5 of 17 things to do in Payangan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: K'DongDing Balinese Cooking Class is presented for those people with keen interests in authentic Balinese food and culture. Learn to cook well-known local dishes in a relaxed and friendly environment. Small classes (only 4-12 people) are held in a traditional open kitchen, and led by certified Balinese cooks, making for a highly personalized and rewarding experience.
Useful Information: Stroller parking, Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Reviewed January 21, 2018

We really enjoyed our experience at Kdongding Cooking class, just outside of Ubud! Our class started at 3:00, when we were picked up in Ubud on time. In fact, our ride was waiting for us! We drove to Payangan, which is about a 20 minute drive from "downtown" Ubud. We started with a market tour, although since we were in the afternoon class, many of the produce vendors had already closed for the day. If you are really looking forward to an extensive market tour, opt for the morning class. Being outside of Ubud, the market wasn't overly busy and had a nice vibe to it. Nyoman, our instructor, grew up in this area and is friendly with the people we saw at the market.
After visiting the market, we drove back to Nyoman's house, where the class was held. Nyoman gave us a tour of his compound and shared lots of really cool cultural information. His family was around, and they were all very friendly and welcoming.
Before we started cooking, we sat down for about 40 minutes and talked over tasty hot drinks and snacks, while learning about the local ingredients and some cooking techniques. Then, it was time to cook! We only had three in our group, which made for great hands-on instruction. We made a total of five dishes over the course of two hours or so. The cooking was well organized and we ate all of the food together, as one meal with dessert. Well really, we tried to eat all of it, but we were each stuffed before we could finish everything. Don't worry, the portions you'll make are generous even for the hungriest of cooks! We wrapped up our dinner just before eight, and were back at our villa at about 8:15 PM. I imagine that larger groups would finish closer to 9:00.

To summarize, the service from Nyoman and his family was top notch, the meal was large and delicious, and the teaching both about the food and local culture was very informative and professional I would love to go back some day, and wish Nyoman and his family all the best!

1  Thank mtbrules96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kDongDing, Owner at KDongDing Local Culinary Journey - Day Class, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2018

Dear M/M mtbrules96
We would like to thank you, for your candid comments. We are happy to provide our service to you. we love to share the secrets of the authentic Balinese foods from our culinary experience in Bali, It is our wish that you bringing home a thousand beautiful memories of Bali. Find the inspiration in transforming familiar Balinese dish into works of art.
Thank you for referring us being your cooking class in Bali. It means a great deal to us to know that you’re willing to recommend us. We are appreciating it.

Thank you for your Kindness and your cooperation, We will use your criticism to render better services to my next client,
We do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you again once you are in Bali to trying other recipes.

Best Regards
Kdongding Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"traditional market"
in 3 reviews
"balinese cooking"
in 3 reviews
"vegetables and fruits"
in 2 reviews
"wonderful teacher"
in 2 reviews
"family home"
in 3 reviews
"satay"
in 2 reviews
"balinese compound"
in 2 reviews
"family compound"
in 3 reviews
"pancakes"
in 2 reviews
"picked up from our hotel"
in 2 reviews
"insight"
in 5 reviews
"ingredients"
in 8 reviews
"nyoman"
in 7 reviews
"customs"
in 2 reviews
"culture"
in 3 reviews
"skills"
in 2 reviews
"ubud"
in 8 reviews
Filter

24 - 28 of 53 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2018 via mobile

DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY. Took our money and did not supply us with anything. No transport or lessons. When called refused to discuss our concerns and only said “ you should read terms and conditions” and laughed over the phone. Refund obtained through bank not company. Do not use.

Thank Matthew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2017 via mobile

What a great day! Starting with a market tour of a traditional market with all the different types of foods, how they are grown and brought to market. Lessons about how to choose the right vegetables, what to look for in good vs bad. Then it was back to the families (very old and very traditional) compound for more lessons in Balinese culture, customs, foods and lastly preparation techniques. This was great for me coming from the USA to see how the homesite was arranged into different areas and their purposes. Learning not only what to mix and chop but HOW to mix and chop was key! Timing is everything, and they did a fantastic job of keeping us perfectly on task, and getting everything done correctly, and seamlessly. And the food we made was delicious! Everything came out perfect! It was so much more than a good cooking experience! It was a good Balinese experience!

Thank ent_doc_martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kDongDing, Owner at KDongDing Local Culinary Journey - Day Class, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2017

Dear Martin.

We would like to thank you, for referring our Cooking Class. We are happy to provide our service and experienced to you.
It is our wish that you are bringing home a thousand beautiful memories and the recipe of Balinese food. It gives us true happiness to see your smiling faces.
We wish your experience Bali as an unforgettable journey destination.
We do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you again once you are in Bali.

Regards
Kdongding Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2017 via mobile

We loved it! Niomang our guide was super friendly and approachable and made the so experience really enjoyable.
First we had a tour around the local market where he explained the ins and outs of the ingredients commonly used and gave us a good insight into the daily lives of the Balinese.
Next we were taken back to his house complex where he lives with his extended family. They have an incredible plot of land where they grow many exotic plants and veg and even their own coffee.
We then sat and chatted in a relaxed atmosphere and met some of the family and animals.
The cooking class itself was also great. Very interesting and fun and the food itself was delicious!
Highly recommended :)

Thank Alessandro C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kDongDing, Owner at KDongDing Local Culinary Journey - Day Class, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2017

Dear Alessandro.

We would like to thank you, for referring our Cooking Class. We are happy to provide our service and experienced to you.
It is our wish that you are bringing home a thousand beautiful memories and the recipe of Balinese food. It gives us true happiness to see your smiling faces.
We wish your experience Bali as an unforgettable journey destination.
We do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you again once you are in Bali.
Komang/Nyoman Mahendra Say Hello to you.... :)

Regards
Kdongding Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2017

My girlfriend and I did the cooking class a couple weeks ago and I do not know where to start. The people were amazing! So nice, so helpful and really treated us like family. The food we cooked was fresh and delicious. We were brought to the local fresh market, showed around the family house and learned about Balinese food, culture and history. I can not say enough about this! Was the best overall experience in Bali!

Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kDongDing, Owner at KDongDing Local Culinary Journey - Day Class, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2017

Dear Stephen,

We would like to thank you, for referring our Cooking Class. We are happy to provide our service and experienced to you.
It is our wish that you are bringing home a thousand beautiful memories and the recipe of Balinese food. It gives us true happiness to see your smiling faces.
We wish your experience Bali as an unforgettable journey destination.
We do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you again once you are in Bali.

Regards
Kdongding Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed KDongDing Local Culinary Journey - Day Class also viewed

 

Been to KDongDing Local Culinary Journey - Day Class? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing